The past is the present for future generations who do not know their history

Tennessee

Felix Grundy was a very popular given name for many…

here is a short biography of Felix Grundy Norman, Sr., 1808-1885

F & AM Square and CompassFELIX GRUNDY NORMAN, lawyer, was born January 4, 1808, near Smyrna, Rutherford County, Tenn. and died August 5, 1885 at Tuscumbia [Alabama]; son of John and Margaret [Stockird] Norman who lived at Smyrna. He was denied early educational advantages, but was taught in the rudiments by an older brother. He began life as a merchant but later taught school for several years. He studied under William Casper, was admitted to the bar in Tuscumbia in the early thirties, and practiced at that point and the surrounding country until his death. He was mayor of Tuscumbia for many years, and represented his county in the legislature for sessions of 1841, 1842, 1844, 1845 and 1847-8, inclusive. Although he supported the Confederacy with his means and influence, he was debarred from active participation on account of his age. He was a Democrat; a Presbyterian; and a Mason. Married: August 17, 1848 at Dickson, to Jane Lavina, daughter of Henry and Jane [Shelton] Cook of Spotsylvania County, Va., residents for some years of Huntsville, later locating in Tuscumbia where they spent the remaining years of their lives, the former for some time government agent for the disposition of Indian lands. Children: 1. John Henry; 2. Felix Grundy, m. Della Phares, Salinas, Calif.; 3. Mary Barton, m. John R. Charlton, La Verge, Tenn.; 4. Kate Cook, m. Hall S. Kirkpatrick; 5. Thomas Edgar, m. Lee Ellis, Memphis; 6. James Beverly, last residence: Tuscumbia.

Bibliography
Source: History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography, Vol. IV. by Thomas McAdory Owen, Chicago: S. J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1921.

 

Felix Grundy Norman, Sr.

Biography of Felix Grundy Norman, Sr., 1808-1885

FELIX G. NORMAN, of Franklin [County Alabama], was born and educated in Tennessee. He represented Franklin for the first time at the session of 1841, and by continuous elections, he served in the House until the close of the session of 1847-8, since which time he has been in private life, engaged in the practice of law. While in the Legislature, Col. Norman was a very efficient member, both in debate and in Committees. He was a Democrat from honest conviction, and never departed from that faith, but always kept himself in the path of duty according to the best of his judgment. Acting on principle, he opposed at every step the resolutions of the General Assembly accepting Alabama’s portion of the proceeds of the public lands. In the same manner, he opposed what he considered the improper identity in the same resolution, on the Constitutional amendment providing for biennial sessions of the Legislature, and for the removal of the Seat of Government at the session of 1845. In all this, he only yielded to a sense of duty, to prevent injustice, or an unsafe precedent. However laudable his purpose, he course on the question of removal resulted to his injury, through influences subsequently brought to bear against him, in a political sense.
For many years, Col. Norman was Grand High Priest and Grand Master of the Masonic fraternity of Alabama, who presented him, on his retirement, appropriate medals, commemorating his services to the craft.
From his bearing in the Legislature, the courtesy he always exhibited in debate, the intelligence with which he handled questions, and the ease and graceful elocution which seemed natural to him, Col. Norman was unquestionably cast in a large intellectual mould, capable of expansion beyond the limits within which it was his fortune to be confined as a political aspirant. Although rigid in the tenets of his party, and at times somewhat acrimonious under provocation, he was not blind to the merits of a measure because it may have originated with his opponents. He was bold and fearless, often displaying the gallantry of ancient knighthood in the legislative arena, shivering a lance with friend or foe without personal malice. His face was luminous with good feeling, and his whole deportment was that of a gentleman sensible of the rights of others, and careful of his own, in all that relates to the substantial etiquette of life. Had his lot permitted a more congenial opening for the development of his character after the inward model, there is no doubt that Col. Norman would have filled a large space before the public, and achieved a reputation as proudly National as that which he now enjoys is, in local view, distinguished for ability and honor. Perhaps the greatest obstacle to his advancement to higher places has been a certain measure of self-respect and honorable sensibility, which made intrigue and management the usual medium of success repugnant to his nature. He has abundant reason, however to be satisfied with the result, in his own high and unimpeachable character. He is still in the meridian of life, and he resides in Tuscumbia.

Bibliography
Source: Reminiscences of Public Men in Alabama, by William Garrett, Atlanta, GA: Plantation Publishing Press, 1872.

Feather Pen

Masonic Plaque. Washington Lodge No. 36. Tuscumbia, Alabama. Felix G. Norman, Worshipful Master. William Harvey, Senior Warden. Lewis G. Garrett, Junior Warden. July 3 1847. A. L. 5847. American Independence 71. Felix Grundy Norman. Most Worshipful Grand Master

 

Bibliography Source: Two Hundred Years at Muscle Shoals, by Nina Leftwich, Tuscumbia, Alabama, 1935: When the cornerstone of the new 1847 Tuscumbia Masonic building was put down, a engraved cooper plaque was placed inside the stone. Text of plaque in graphic above.

The Norman home in Tuscumbia, Colbert County, Alabama:

Norman home in Tuscumbia, Alabama

The Norman house is an historic residence in Tuscumbia, Alabbama. The house was built in 1851 by Felix Grundy Norman, a lawyer who also served as mayor of Tuscumbia and in the Alabama Legislature from 1841to 1845 and again in 1847–48. Norman’s father-in-law was the land agent for the sale of the Chickasaw and his brother-in-law, Armistead Barton, built Barton Hall in nearby Cherokee, Alabama.

The house sits on the corner of Main and Second Street, and has two identical facades facing each street. Each face has a central pedimented portico supported by four tuscan columns. Each portico is flanked by three part windows consisting a nine-over-nine sash window which is bordered by narrow three-over-three sashes. The interior retains its Greek Revival woodwork and mantels.

Feather Pen

JOHN NORMAN, brother of Felix Grundy Norman,  was born in Rutherford County December 5, 1804, son of John and Mary Margaret (Stockard) Norman. Extent of schooling not determined. Married in Rutherford County Tennessee September 13, 1867, to Nancy Neal; children-Cynthia Jane, Margaret Rebecca, Mary A., Harriett E., Martha E., John B., Josephine B., and Sarah F. Norman. Removed to Carroll County Tennessee, c.1828, to engage in farming and clearing landholdings in 8th civil district. Appointed a trustee of Huntingdon Academy, Carroll County, in 1845 but resigned in 1848. Elected constable, 1832; sheriff, 1838-44; clerk of circuit court, 1854-56; county judge, 1856; one of committee to plan for repair of courthouse and building jail. Served in the Tennessee House, 33rd and 34th (Reconstruction) General Assemblies, 1859-61; 1865-67; representing Carroll County; served in the Tennessee Senate, 35th General Assembly, 1867-69; representing Carroll, Dyer, and Gibson counties; member Opposition Party in 33rd Assembly; Unionist in 34th and 35th. Mason; member of Zion Presbyterian Church. Died in Madison County October 5, 1874.

Bibliography
Sources: Prepared Roster, House, 33rd General Assembly; Goodspeed, History of Carroll County, 802, 803; Rutherford County records: “Marriage Records, Vol. 1, 1804-37,” p. 155; “Wills, Settlements and Inventories, Vol. 6, 1824-27,” pp. 194-95; Carroll County records: “Minutes, County Court, 1826-33, Pt. 2,” p. 532; “1838-42, Book 3, Pt. 2,” p. 223, 390; “1843-50, Pt. I,” p. 144, “Pt. 2,” p. 390; “1850-55,” pp. 25, 30; “1855-59,” pp. 59, 213-214; ‘Marriages, 1838-60,’ pp. 235, 274, 412; Jackson Whig and Tribune, October 31, 1874; infomation supplied by greatgrandaughters, Mrs. Julian Devault and Mrs. Allen Holliday, McKenzie.


Crackerjacks, anyone?

roy acuff
roy acuff

Roy Claxton Acuff

As a country music singer, he is best remembered as the “King of Country Music” and is often credited with moving the genre from its early string band and “hoedown” format to the star singer-based format that helped make it internationally renowned. He was a prolific songwriter and established Acuff-Rose Publishing that held the rights to a multitude of songs which were hits. Acuff-Rose signed acts such as Hank Williams, the Louvin Brothers, Don Gibson, John D Loudermilk, Boudleaux & Felice Bryant, Redd Stewart, Roy Orbison, and the Everly Brothers and Pee Wee King’s “Tennessee Waltz.”. In 1952 Hank Williams told Ralph Gleason this about Roy Acuff, “He’s the biggest singer this music ever knew. You booked him and you didn’t worry about crowds. For drawing power in the South, it was Roy Acuff, then God.”

His parents are Simon E Neill Acuff who was born 1877 and died in 1943 and Ida Carr Acuff who was born 1879 and died in 1969. His siblings included Paul Briscoe Acuff 1900-1984 and Claude Acuff 1909-1971.

He was born Roy Claxton Acuff, the third of five children, into a musical family. His father was a Baptist preacher and accomplished fiddle player and his mother played the piano. During his early years, the Acuff house was a popular place for local gatherings and at these events, he would often amuse people by balancing farm tools on his chin. He also learned to play harmonica and jaw harp at a young age. The Acuffs were a fairly prominent Union County, Tennessee family. Roy’s paternal grandfather, Coram Acuff, had been a Tennessee state senator, and Roy’s maternal grandfather was a local physician. The talent was passed through to Roy’s father and mother, and himself.

In 1919 his family relocated to Fountain City (now a suburb of Knoxville), Tennessee, where he attended Central High School and sang in the school chapel’s choir as well as performing in school plays. His primary passion was athletics and he was a three-sport standout at Central, and after graduating in 1925, he was offered a scholarship to Carson-Newman University in Jefferson City, Tennessee, but turned it down.

He played with several small baseball clubs around Knoxville, worked at odd jobs, and occasionally boxed. In 1929 he tried out for the Knoxville Smokies, a minor-league baseball team then affiliated with the New York (now San Francisco) Giants. After a series of collapses in spring training following a sunstroke, ended his baseball career prematurely and the effects left him ill for several years to the point where he suffered a nervous breakdown in 1930. Not only was he attracted to the sport of baseball, he had a penchant for fighting – after his family moved to Knoxville, he was frequently arrested for fighting.

While recovering, he took up the fiddle, often playing on the family’s front porch in late afternoons after the sun went down. His father gave him several records of regionally-renowned fiddlers, such as ‘Fiddlin’ John Carson and Gid Tanner, which were important influences on his early style. In 1932 he hired on with Dr. Hauer’s Medicine Show as one of its entertainers where he met legendary Appalachian banjoist Clarence Ashley, from whom he learned “The House of the Rising Sun” and “Greenback Dollar,” both of which he later recorded.

In 1934 he left the medicine show circuit and began playing at local shows with various musicians in the Knoxville area. That year, guitarist Jess Easterday and Hawaiian guitarist Clell Summey joined Acuff to form the Tennessee Crackerjacks, which performed regularly on Knoxville radio stations WROL and WNOX. Within a year, the group had added bassist Red Jones and changed its name to the Crazy Tennesseans. The popularity of his rendering of the song “The Great Speckled Bird” helped the group land a contract with the American Record Company, for whom they recorded several dozen tracks (including the band’s best-known track, “Wabash Cannonball”) in 1936 and 1937 before leaving over a contract dispute.

Acuff headed north to Chicago for a recording session, which resulted in 20 different songs. In addition to “The Great Speckled Bird,” he recorded “Steamboat Whistle Blues” and “The Wabash Cannonball,” another Tennessee standard that featured the singer imitating the sound of a train whistle; he also made a handful of risqué numbers during these sessions, which were released under the name the Bang Boys.

In 1938 the Crazy Tennesseans relocated to Nashville, Tennessee to audition for the Grand Ole Opry and they were offered a contract. He changed the group’s name to the “Smoky Mountain Boys,” referring to the mountains near where he and his bandmates were raised. Shortly after the band joined the Opry, Clell Summey left the group, and was replaced by dobro player Beecher (Pete) Kirby, or “Bashful Brother Oswald.” His powerful lead vocals and Kirby’s dobro playing and high-pitched backing vocals gave the band its distinctive sound. By 1939, Jess Easterday had switched to bass to replace Red Jones, and Acuff had added guitarist Lonnie “Pap” Wilson and banjoist Rachel Veach to fill out the band’s line-up.

Within a year, Roy Acuff and the Smoky Mountain Boys rivaled long-time Opry banjoist Uncle Dave Macon as the troupe’s most popular act. In 1940 he and his band traveled to Hollywood, California, where they appeared in the motion picture “Grand Ole Opry.” He also appeared in several subsequent B-movies, including “O, My Darling Clementine” (1943), in which he played a singing sheriff, and “Night Train to Memphis” (1946), the title of which comes from a song he recorded in 1940.

In 1943, Acuff was initiated into the East Nashville Freemasonic Lodge in Tennessee and he would remain a lifelong member. Later that same year, Acuff invited Tennessee Governor Prentice Cooper to be the guest of honor at a gala held to mark the nationwide premier of the Opry’s Prince Albert show. Cooper rejected the offer, however, and lambasted Acuff and his “disgraceful” music for making Tennessee the “hillbilly capital of the United States.”democrats and roy acuff A Nashville journalist reported the governor’s comments to Acuff, and suggested Acuff run for governor himself. While Acuff initially did not take the suggestion seriously, he did accept the Republican Party nomination for governor in 1948.for sheriff roy acuff

 

In 1942 he and songwriter Fred Rose formed Acuff-Rose Publishing Company. He originally sought the company in order to publish his own music, but soon realized there was a high demand from other country artists, many of whom had been exploited by larger publishing firms. Due in large part to Rose’s ASCAP connections and gifted ability as a talent scout, Acuff-Rose quickly became the most important publishing company in country music. In 1946, the company signed country singer Hank Williams, and in 1950 published their first major hit, Patti Page’s rendition of “Tennessee Waltz”.

Later that year, he left the Grand Ole Opry after a management dispute. In 1948 he made an unsuccessful run for the governor of Tennessee on the Republican ballot. He then spent several years touring the Western United States, although demand for his appearances dwindled with the lack of national exposure and the rise of musicians such as Ernest Tubb and Eddy Arnold, who were more popular with younger audiences. He eventually returned to the Opry however, by the 1960s, his record sales had dropped off considerably.

After nearly losing his life in an automobile accident outside of Sparta, Tennessee in 1965, he contemplated retiring, making only token appearances on the Opry stage and similar shows, and occasionally performing duos with long-time bandmate Bashful Brother Oswald. In 1972 his career received a brief resurgence in the folk revival movement after he appeared on the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band album, “Will the Circle Be Unbroken,” paving the way for one of the defining moments of his career, which came on the night of March 16, 1974, when the Opry officially moved from the Ryman Auditorium to the Grand Ole Opry House at Opryland, Tennessee. The first show at the new venue opened with a huge projection of a late-1930s image of Roy Acuff and the Smoky Mountain Boys onto a large screen above the stage. A recording from one of the band’s 1939 appearances was played over the sound system, with the iconic voice of Opry founder George Hay introducing the band, followed by the band’s performance of “Wabash Cannonball”. Here is the access to his 1940 rendition of “Wabash Cannonball” on youtube (you will have to click on the link to go to youtube because the embed feature has been disabled):

Roy Acuff was called the King of Country Music, and for more than 60 years he lived up to that title. If any performer embodied country music, it was Roy Acuff. Throughout his career, Acuff was a champion for traditional country values, enforcing his beliefs as a performer, a music publisher, and as the Grand Master of the Grand Ole Opry. Acuff was the first country music superstar after the death of Jimmie Rodgers, pioneering an influential vocal style that complemented the spare, simple songs he was performing. Generations of artists, from Hank Williams to George Jones, have been influenced by Acuff, and countless others have paid respect to him. At the time of his death in 1992, he was still actively involved in the Grand Ole Opry, and was as popular as ever.

The beginning of the 1980s was a difficult period for Acuff, as he experienced the death of his wife and several longtime band members, including pianist Jimmie Riddle and fiddler Howdy Forrester. In 1987, he released his final charting record that was an inspirational duet with Charlie Louvin called “The Precious Jewel.”

In the 1980s, after the death of his wife, Mildred (Mildred Louise Douglas Acuff 1914-1981) he moved into a house on the Opryland grounds and continued performing. He arrived early most days at the Opry, performing odd jobs, such as stocking soda in backstage refrigerators. In 1991, he was awarded the National Medal of Arts and given a lifetime achievement award by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the first Country music artist to receive the esteemed honor. Additionally, in 1962 he became the first living inductee into the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Two museums have been named in his honor, the Roy Acuff Museum at Opryland and the Roy Acuff Union Museum and Library in his hometown of Maynardville. He has a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame located at 1541 Vine Street. He died of congestive heart failure in Nashville, Tennessee at the age of 89.

During his musical career, he recorded a total of 43 albums (from 1949 to 1987) and 20 singles (from 1936 to 1989). One son, Roy Neill Acuff was born 1943; and died in 2015. Roy Claxton Acuff is buried at Spring Hill Cemetery at Nashville, Davidson County, Tennessee. He rests in a plot in Hill Crest Garden.

historical marker Maynardsville TN Roy Acuff

What is so interesting about Roy Claxton Acuff is his kin to our Isbell line through his mother Ida Carr Acuff.

Ida Carr’s parents were: Alonzo Willett Carr born 1855 and  Mary Paralee Sharp

Roy Acuff’s descent from Zachariah Isbell:

Zachariah Isbell born circa 1722 and wife Elizabeth Polly Miller. Zachariah Isbell and Elizabeth Polly Miller had a daughter Lovisa Isbell.

Lovisa Isbell  was born 21 November 1743 in Charleston, Dorchester County, South Carolina and died 6 April 1808 in Jonesborough, Washington County, Tennessee. She married John Carr, a soldier of the Revolutionary War, in 1756 in Charleston, Dorchester County, South Carolina.  John Carr was born 1737 or 1743 in Charleston, Dorchester County, South Carolina and died in 1818 in Washington County, Tennessee. His birth is given as 10 or 19 Jan 1737 by some researchers and as 21 Nov 1743 by other researchers. His death is given as 6 April or 11 June 1818 by other researchers. John Carr and Lovisa Isbell Carr are buried at Carr-Crumley-Krouse Cemetery in Jonesborough, Washington County, Tennessee.

Ralph Bolton Carr made application to DAR on the Revolutionary War service of John Carr, husband of Lovisa Isbell Carr, as a fourth-great-grandson of John Carr. John Carr’s service is documented in the South Carolina Archives as having served in Captain Thomas Woodward’s 8th Company of Rangers under Col William Thompson, and also having served later in Col  William Thompson in the 3rd Regiment of South Carolina. John Carr’s Revolutionary service is documented through the genealogical line as provided by 1) the family Bible, 2) the family Bible in possession of Mrs Peter Naher (who is the aunt of Ralph Bolton Carr) of Johnson City, Tennessee, by by the Will of Alfred Carr, 3) by the family Bible in possession of Mr Paul Carr (uncle of Ralph Bolton Carr) in Johnson City, Tennessee and marriage records of Washington County on page 44 Marriage Records 1787-1840 by Mullins, 4) by Willis of Washington County, Tennessee, Book 1, page 302 of Richard Carr, and 5) Will Book 1, page 166 Will of John Carr, Washington County Will, State of Franklin DAR Publication.

The descent of Roy Claxton Acuff continues with the son of Lovisa Isbell and John Carr through their son John Carr who married Dorcas McCubbin. One of the children of John and Dorcas McCubbin Carr was James McCubbin Carr.

James McCubbin Carr was born 5 February 1801 in Claiborne County, Tennesssee and died 8 September 1889 in Union County, Tennessee. He was amarried to Sarah Sallie Rogers and one of their seven known children was Richard Jackson Carr. Richard Jackson Carr was born 26 February 1826 in Claiborne County, Tennessee and died 12 February 1899 in Maynardville, Union County, Tennessee. Some give his death year 1889, but it is likely that 1899 is correct. His burial place has not with certainty known. Richard Jackson Carr married Nancy Ann Marshall and one of their sons was Alonzo Willet Carr.

Alonzo Willet Carr was born 1 July 1855 in Union County, Tennessee and died 2 July 1933 n Clinton, Anderson County, Tennessee. He was laid to rest in Knoxville, Knox County, Tennessee. Alonzo W Carr married Mary Paralee Sharp and they had seven known children: Ormiston T Carr born 1876, Charles A Carr born 1877, James Carr born 1883, Ollie Carr born 1883, Nellie M Carr born 1891, Trula F 1896 and Ida Florence Carr. Ida Carr was born 21 October 1879 and died 17 September  1969 in Nashville, Davidson, Tennessee.

Ida Florence Carr and  Rev Simon Ed Neill “Eddy”Acuff were married 25 September 1898 in Union County, Tennessee, USA, likely in Maynardville. By 1930 they were living in Knoxville, Tennessee. and later located to Nashville. There may have been a good reason for that re-location. Their known children were:  Paul Briscoe Acuff 1900-1984, Nancy Juanita Acuff 1901-1985,  Roy Claxton Acuff 1903-1992, Susie Lee Acuff 24 September 1905-22 December 1990, and Claud R Acuff 1910-1971. Nancy Juanita Carr married Harstell D Phillips. Susie Lee Acuff married  Robert L Allen.

Roy Acuff’s ancestors with the surname Isbell included many Revolutionary War Soldiers and veterans of many of wars and boatloads of Ministers of the Gospel. The state of Tennessee was founded by Zachariah Isbell. He was a member of the Watauga Settlement and among the original 13 Commissioners who set up the settlement. Zachariah and many other Isbell kin were at King’s Mountain and some of the fiercest and most pivotal battles of the Revolution.

And the beat goes on with talent of the musical variety in our local Isbell family in northwestern Alabama. A local Isbell relative, Jason Isbell. He earned two Grammies this year. His group is known as Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit.

Isbell cousin, Roy Acuff seems to have been the first to record “The House of the Rising Sun.” His rendition dates back to 1938.

Hmmm, the Crackerjacks are not just Tennessean, but Alabamian, too.


That David Crockett was very prominent in our family lines…

he even married at least one of our allied ancestors.

I am in the process of proving a number of different family lines that date back to a patriot who either served or contributed in the Revolutionary War. Among those is Jeremiah Lucas. Some of the documentation of his patriotic service follows:

  • 1779   Age: 31 Roster of SC Patriots

Jeremiah Lucas enlisted in the Third Regiment on 10 Mar 1779 and was discharged in August 1779

  • 1780  Age: 32

    South Carolina

    Jeremiah served in the militia under Colo. Roebuck after the fall of Charleston (Roster of S. Carolina Patriots in the American Revolutionary War).

  • 1786 19 Aug  Age: 38

Jeremiah Lucas Rev pay Description: Militia pay since fall of Charleston in Roebucks Regiment

Jeremiah Lucas was the father of our Willis Lucas who was a Physician. Willis Lucas, M D was the father of our Sarah Frances Lucas who married Jacob Duckett Casey as his third wife and had our Willis Robert Lucas Casey who was born about 1841 in Lauderdale County, Alabama.

Jeremiah Lucas and wife Sarah Willis Ingram Lucas had ten known children. They were: Joseph Lucas 1773 – 1848, Ingram William Lucas 1777 – 1841, George Lucas 1782 – 1855, Jesse Lucas who was born 1788, Jeremiah Lucas born 1791, William “Willie” Lucas 1793 – 1861, Peggy Lucas born 1797, and Sarah Elizabeth H Lucas who was born 9 January 1801 in Union County, South Carolina; she died 13 July 1851 in Greenville, Hunt County, Texas.

Davy Crockett home

Home of Davy Crockett in Lawrence County, Tennessee

Sarah Elizabeth H. Lucas married John Hampton Hamilton, son of Jeremiah & Ann (Hampton) Hamilton on 7 Jul 1819 in Davy Crockett’s home, Lawrence County, Tennessee. The marriage was solemnized by Davy Crockett.

Place and Cause of death as transcribed from the Family Bible by Levin Hamilton and in a letter to Uncle Asberry & Aunt Liza Hamilton, dated August 13, 1882, Paris, Texas reads:  “Sarah H. Hamilton died at Greenville, Texas July 13, 1851 aged 50 years 6 mo 4 days- of fever. Her end was peaceful and happy rejoicing that she was going home to join those who had gone before “Blessed are the Dead who die in Lord”. C. A. Warfield.

Sarah Elizabeth H Polly Lucas Hamilton

Sarah Lucas Hamilton was the third person to be buried in East Mount Cemetery, Greenville, Hunt County Texas [Source: Honorable Mention Early Families Hunt Co, TX  R976.4272, Vol 3, page 34; record is located at the Dallas Public Library]. Her grave marker cannot be found and a letter to cemetery department brought news that the records went no further back than 1920. A fire had destroyed the records before that. After the fire a census was taken and if the grave was unmarked or unreadable they simply put “unknown”.

Known children of John Hampton Hamilton and Sarah Elizabeth H Lucas Hamilton were : William Carroll “Bill” Hamilton born 1820; Ann Hampton Hamilton Adams born 1821; Joseph Decator  Hamilton born 1822; Martha Parrom Hamilton Warfield born 1824; Jane Anderson Hamiton Tennyson born  1825; Jeremiah Jay “Jerry” Hamilton born 1826; Asberry Francis Hamilton born 1828; Joshua Butcher Hamilton born 1829; John Hampton Hamilton born 1831; Sarah Elizabeth Washington Hamilton Wilson born 30 Apr 1834; and George Willis Washington Hamilton born 30 Apr 1834.

There is no grave marker, but she was the third person buried in East Mount Cemetery. Over time her marker has been lost. East Mount Cemetery is located in Greenville in Hunt County, Texas.

Sarah Elizabeth H “Polly” Lucas Hamilton has qualified for the distinction of the Citizen Medallion of the Republic of Texas. The Citizen Medallion is to mark the graves or cenotaphs of people whose residence was in The Republic of Texas before 19 February 1846 before Texas became a state.

  • Citizen medallion Republic of Texas


You can search and search…

for information on your family history. And you may not find what or who  you are looking for currently, but sometimes you find something else of equal importance. Take for instance I was researching for an article I am in the process of writing on one of my female Peebles ancestors in Lincoln County, Tennessee when I came across this piece of information that I thought might never have been found.  This was verification of the death of my fourth great-grandmother on my Peebles side of the family.

Luncinda Menefee was born circa 1788 in Lincoln County, Kentucky. She was a daughter of William Menefee and Elizabeth Vardeman Menefee. I penned an article on Wiliam Menefee some time back. Her death was indicated on the Giles County, Tennessee Mortality  Schedule for the year ending 31 May 1880. In the first column her family number is given, looks like 293, but I could be wrong because it is hard to decipher.

Her  name is given as Lucinda Laughlin. Her age at death was 101  and she died in August of 1879. She had lived in the county for seventy years which meant she came to the county in 1809. That would make her and her father’s family one of the first settlers.  She was aged 101 years at her death and had been under the care of a Dr Sumpter. She died from pneumonia.  She had lived with her daughter after her husband died, The daughter was Priscilla M Peebles Upshaw who had married Louis Green Upshaw. The Upshaw family seemed to be a family of means as their income on census records indicates such.

Below is the mortality schedule that shows her death.

Luncinda Menefee Laughlin death record

Luncinda Menefee Laughlin death record


So many of the Shoals area know or will find out…

that at least some of their roots were planted firmly in southern Tennessee at some point in their ancestry. Lincoln County has many familiar names to many familiar family names in the Shoals area. This is a reprint of Godspeed’s History for that county. See if you can find any of the names in your family tree. Use the command ctrl+F with your names and you may just be pleasantly surprised. I was surprised at just how many I found for my different family tree lines:

LINCOLN COUNTY

LINCOLN COUNTY is bounded on the north by the counties of Marshall, Bedford, and Moore; on the east by Moore and Franklin; on the south by the State of Alabama; and on the west by Giles County. It lies almost wholly within the central basin of Middle Tennessee. The geological situation of the county is about equally divided between the siliceous group of the lower Carboniferous formation, and the Nashville group of the Silurian formation. On the line of railroad may be seen large quantities of black shale, which is so impregnated with petroleum or bitumen that it will sustain for a month a fire when kindled on it. This black shale is also rich in sulphuret of iron, by the decomposition of which copperas and alum are formed. It easily disintegrates upon exposure and is valueless except for the manufacture of the salts mentioned. Many of the limestone rocks are but aggregations of fossil remains. A few miles east of Fayetteville is a quarry where a very fair article of reddish variegated marble is found. This marble is sometimes injured by particles of iron pyrites. The county is divided into two almost equal parts by the Elk River, with which its numerous tributaries affords it excellent water facilities. The streams which enter this river from the north are Bradshaw Creek, Swan Creek, Cane Creek, Norris Creek, Mulberry Creek, Roundtree Creek, Tucker Creek and Farris Creek. Those from the south are Shelton Creek, Duke Creek, Stewart Creek, Wells Creek, Coldwater Creek, and Kelley Creek. Between Elk River and the Alabama line is a belt of high land which is the watershed between Elk River and the Tennessee. This watershed embraces a strip about eight miles wide and includes nearly one-third of the county. It is an exceedingly level high plateau and is not well drained. The sub-soil a pale yellowish clay porous and leachy except in swamps where the clay is bluish. However, a few spots are found with a good red clay subsoil, and when this is found, lands are rated higher. No limestone is seen on this plateau and the main vegetation is wild growth.

The remainder of the county comprises spacious valleys, alternating with productive hills and ridges. Upon some of the hills however, the loose limestone lies in such abundance as to preclude cultivation. The valleys of Elk River and Cane Creek will average a mile in width, and the latter is probably fifteen miles long. The land in these two valleys is as productive as any in the State. Many knolls near Elk River are upraised alluvium. An abundance and a general variety of timber grows in the county. It is mainly of the following varieties: Linn, Buckeye, hickory, poplar, box elder, black walnut, wild cherry, black locust, chestnut, beech, gum, dogwood, ironwood, horn beam, sugar tree, hackberry, cedar and elm.

As early as 1784 land explorers passed through this section, and some surveys were made and grants issued prior to 1790. North Caroline grants for land in this country were issued to John Hodge, Robert Walker and Jesse Comb in 1793. There are also land grants recorded in the office of Lincoln County Register, bearing date of 1794, to the following persons: William Smith, Elizabeth W. Lewis, Ezekiel Norris, William Edmonson, Alexander Green, Thomas Perry, Thomas Edmonson, Mathew Buchanan, Mathew McClure, Andrew Green and John Steele. In the spring of 1806 James Bright, at the head of a surveying party, passed where Fayetteville now stands, striking Elk River near the mouth of Nelson Creek. He found a very rank growth of cane and occasionally discovered Indian trails. Near Fayetteville he found a deposit of periwinkle and muscle shells, giving evidence of an Indian village site, and by some it is supposed that this was the village in which De Soto camped through the winter of 1540-41: This supposition has recently been strengthened by the finding of a coin bearing the inscription of the Caesars.

It is impossible to tell who first settled within the present bounds of Lincoln County. The first settlers are now all in their graves and many have no descendants in the county.. In the fall of 1806 Ezekiel Norris settled on his grant of 1,280 acres of land at the mouth of Norris Creek, and this creek is all that now bears his name in the county. He was a shrewd man. Being led to donate 100 acres of land for the county seat under the false representation that other parties had made the same offer, he afterward sued the county and recovered $700 for the land. He was probably the first permanent white Photo of two old rusty vehicles in Lincoln County Tennesseesettler in the county.

James Bright also became a citizen of the county, and many deeds are recorded transferring land from him to other parties. For twenty-five years he was clerk of the circuit court and was clerk and master of the chancery court for a term of years. John Greer, a very wealthy man, settled near the mouth of Cane Creek on his large tract of land. He took interest in organizing the county and in conducting the public affairs afterward He was once general of the militia. He erected a valuable mill for those days on Elk River, two miles from Fayetteville.

Joseph Greer settled on his vast domain on Cane Creek near Petersburg. He was a giant in stature, standing six feet seven inches and well built proportionately. He was one of the forty gallant defenders of Watauga Station in 1769. He was also a hero of King s Mountain, and it was he who bore the news of that splendid victory to Congress, then sitting in Philadelphia. He dressed in the style of the old aristocratic Virginia gentleman. Thomas Leonard, Hugh M. Blake, Jesse Riggs, Peter Luna, James Blakemore, Capt. William Crunk and Ezekial March were also settlers on Cane Creek in the first and second decades of this century. Crunk and Blakemore were noted for their social qualities, and dances were frequent at their homes. On Swan Creek, N. G. Pinson, Joel Pinson and Wright Williams were prominent first cane cutters, and men who bore their share of the load in administering public affairs. In what is now embraced in the Twelfth and Thirteenth Civil Districts the first settlements were made by James McCormick, John Anderson, Henry Taylor and Richard Wyatt. On Norris Creek early homes were made by Fielden MacDaniel, Moses Hardin, William Edmonson, John Ray, George Cunningham, Samuel Todd, Isaac Congo, ____ Jenkins and ____ Parks. On Mulberry Creek were John J. Whittaker, a good and prominent man; John Morgan, grandfather of Hon. John M. Bright, Brice M. Garner, who soon removed to Fayetteville, and Gen. William Moore. Others were the several Whitakers, Hardy Holman, William Brown, Enoch Douthat, the Waggoners and Isaac Sebastian.

Other settlements on Norris Creek were made prior to 1810 by Ebenezer McEwen, Robert Higgins, Amos Small and Philip Fox. It is said that Davy Crockett also lived in the vicinity of the waters of Mulberry, in the eastern part of the county, in 1809-10.

In Fayetteville James Bright, who is mentioned above, was one of the most prominent first settlers. James Buchanan, Francis Porterfield, Brice M. Garner, John P. McConnell, Robert C. Kennedy, Benjamin Clements and many others, made up the first citizens of the town. Alexander Beard settled near Fayetteville, south of the river. He has a large body of land, but lost a great portion of it in confirming his title, which, among many other North Carolina grants, was contested. Philip Koonce settled between Shelton Creek and Duke Creek in 1807 or 1808, and near by him, on Shelton Creek, settled Henry Kelso, about the same time. Tunstall Gregory settled on the waters of Shelton Creek, and John Duke on Duke Creek. Michael, Rolinson was one of the first settlers on Coldwater Creek; but an old man, named Abbot, lived in that part of the county five years, before he knew any one else lived within one hundred miles of him, so says one who vouches for the truth of it. A great many settlements were made prior to 1810, on the waters of Coldwater, but names can not be obtained. A man named Peyton Wells was the first to make a home in the vicinity of Wells Hill. He kept a noted ordinary or tavern. A man named Harper was the first to settle on the branch that now bears his name. Joseph Dean and William Todd soon became his neighbors.

The southeastern part of the county was sparsely settled along in the twenties, but the barrenness of the soil has deterred many from locating there.

Many other settlers suffered privations and hardships, as well as those above given, but their names and places of settlement are lost to reliable tradition. In 1808 land entries were made by the following: Anthony Foster, Daniel Cherry, John Morgan, Benjamin Fitzrandolph and George Maxwell. Other land entries were made as follows : 1809– Adam Meek, William Richey, Robert Davis, Nicholas Perkins, John Richardson, Joseph Greer, Michael Robertson, W.P. Anderson, Oliver Williams, Nicholas Coonrod, Newton Cannon, Wright Morgan, Abram Maury, Stephen Holbert, Malcom Gilchrist, William Martin, Edward Bryans, Jacob Castleman, Nimrod Williams, Jesse Franklin, John Tesley, Daniel Kinley, Philip Phillips, Michael Campbell, Samuel Garland, William Townzen, Robert Bigham and Robert Tucker. 1810 — Armstead Stubblefield. Abner Wells, William Rountree, Lemuel Koonce, Thomas R. Butler, Francis Nichson, John Cunningham, William Edmiston, James Buchanan, Morris Shaw, Thomas Edmiston, John Alcorn, Robert Elliott, Robert Nelson, James Winchester and Thomas Hickman, 1811-12– Reuben Stuart, John Cone, Timothy Hunter, James Coats, Roger B. Sapington, Henry Rutherford. 1813-14 — Robert C. Kennedy, Robert Henry, Alexander Newberry, Brice M. Garner, John Coffman, Francis McCown, Mary Gray, David Cowen, Hugh Heartgrave, James McBride, Joseph Garner, Jeremiah Burks, Elyan Clements, Alden Tucker, Thomas Clark, Joel Butler, Daniel Read, William McGehee, Jesse George, Edward Harding, Samuel Ragsdale, Samuel Yager and Aaron Dutton. 1815-20 – William Dickson, Jr., Jesse Pugh, William Smith, Warren Calhoun, Lavis Pugh, John Russell, Andrew Greer, William Dickson, David McGlathery, Henry Rutherford, David Dodd, James Boyle, John Clark, George Price, Joseph Byers and Joseph Street.

Doubtless many others grants were issued, the records of which are lost. Many of the above persons settled here before obtaining their grants, and some who obtained grants did not permanently settle, and even some were speculators who never lived in the county. On account of the climate and the fertile soil settlers were attracted to Lincoln County, and in 1833 it had a population of 10,788 free white persons. Since then parts of the county have been formed into other counties. In 1880 the population was 26,960.

Among the oldest persons now living in the county and who have been in the county since its pioneer days, are Hon. John M. Bright, Rev. J. W. Holman and C.A. French of Fayetteville, and Hugh M. Blake and Joseph Gill of Petersburg . Early pioneers found it no trival matter to develop their farms and raise their families. Not only was farming to be developed, but milling, merchandising, schools and churches, all required attention. However, these people were happy in their condition, and various were their amusements. Fayetteville, Petersburg and Arnold s Grocery (now Smithland) were noted places for settlement of all grudges in pummelling fights. The lookers-on enjoyed this very much, and it was their duty to see fair play. No weapons or missiles were to be used, and it was not fair to bite. In Fayetteville was a grocery, in which fighting was such a common occurrence that it was known as the war office, Militia musters were big days for the people.

Grist-mills were erected on the creeks and on Elk River, and there were several horse-mills in the county. To these horse-mills each man took his own horse or horses, and hitched them to the sweep to turn the mill while his grist was grinding. The water-mills were more economical, that is, they needed no horse power.

Joel Yowell, an early citizen of Petersburg, had a large horse mill two miles from Petersburg, with a hand-bolting machine attached. Jesse Riggs and Thomas Leonard also had mills of this kind. Leonard and Yowell had wheat threshers attached to their mills, and Leonard also had a cotton-gin attached. However, threshing was mostly done by tramping it out.

In 1811 the county court granted Elias Lunsford permission to build a saw mill on Mulberry Creek. This mill was built the following year. In 1814 David ; . Monroe built a grist-mill on the west fort of Cane Creek. Francis Finchee built a grist-mill in 1815. In 1820 Nathaniel B Binkingham built a mill on Cane Creek on a tract of school land.

Taverns were numerous, and were situated in all parts of the county without regard to towns. Ephraim Parham, Vance Greer, William Cross, Brice M. Garner and John Kelley obtained tavern license in 1811. Collins Leonard, Jesse Riggs, Cornelius Slater, John D. Spain, John P. McConnell, Elisha Boyles, William Garrett, George Stobah, C. R. Milborn, David Cobb, Joseph Dean, John Parks, William Smith, Walter Kinnard, Enoch Douthat, John H. Zevilly, John Houston, John Parks, Thomas Rountree and William Mitchell were other tavern keepers in the teens. These taverns were also know as ordinaries, houses of entertainment , etc.

Elk River was crossed by means of ferries. Ezekiel Norris had one of the first ferries on the river. William P. Anderson established a ferry at the mouth of Farris Creek in 1820, and Andrew Hannah, in 1822, established one at Hannah Ford.

Produce was marketed by means of flat-boats carrying it out of Elk River and down to New Orleans, and by wagons to Nashville. The very earliest merchants obtained their goods mainly from Baltimore, and brought them here by wagons from that city. Estill & Garner were experienced flat-boatmen. They took out boats each years, and returned on foot from New Orleans. At first cotton was not raised here to any extent, and that article was obtained in Alabama and freighted by wagons. Scouting Indians frequented these first settlements, but very few depredations were committed by them. It is handed down by reliable tradition that three men, whose names were Taylor, Anderson and Reed were scalped by the Indians while out searching for a horse. Another incident occurred wherein the Indians forced their way into a house where a woman was making soap. The woman had secreted herself behind the door with a gourd full of boiling soap, and upon their entrance she anointed the dirty red-skins with telling effect, causing them to flee for cooler parts.

Lincoln County was created by an act of the Legislature in 1809. The following is the act so far as it relates to establishment of the county:
AN ACT TO ESTABLISH A COUNTY SOUTH OF BEDFORD, TO BE KNOWS BY THE NAME OF LINCOLN.

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Tennessee, That Lincoln County shall be laid off and established within the following bounds, to wit: Beginning on the northeast corner of Giles County and extending south with the eastern boundary line of Giles County to the southern boundary line of the State; thence with that line east to a point due south of the mouth of the mouth of Cove Spring Creek; thence north to the southern boundary line of Bedford County, and thence, with the said line, westwardly, to the beginning.

Sec. 2. Be it enacted, that John Whitaker, Sr. Wright Williams, Eli Garret, Littleton Duty and Jesse Woodruff be, and they are hereby, appointed commissioners with full power to procure by purchase, or otherwise, 100 acres of land on or near the north bank of Elk River, as near the center of the county, east and west, as a proper situation will admit of, and at all events not more than two miles from said center.

Sec. 3. Be it enacted, that the said commissioners, immediately after procuring the aforesaid 100 acres of land, shall cause a town to be laid off thereon, reserving near the center thereof a public square of two acres, on which the court house and stocks shall be built, likewise reserving a lot in any other portion of said town for the purpose of erecting a jail; and the said town, when so laid off, shall be named Fayetteville.

Sec. 6. Be it enacted, that the court of pleas and quarter sessions, for the county of Lincoln shall be on the fourth Monday in the months of February, May, August and November annually, at the house of Brice M. Garret until a place is provided for holding the said court in the town of Fayetteville.

Sec. 11. Be it enacted, that the militia of the county shall compose the thirty-ninth Regiment and be attached to the Fifth Brigade.

Sec. 14. Be it enacted, that this act shall be in force from the first day of January, in the year one thousand eight hundred and ten.

The county thus established assumed the form of a rectangle in outline, but in 1835 a part of the territory now constituted in Marshall County was taken from the original Lincoln County, and in 1872 Moore County was created, embracing a part of Lincoln.

The first County court met Monday, February 26, 1810, at the house of Brice M. Garner, and the following men were qualified justices of the peace by Oliver Williams, Esq. of Williamson County: Thomas L. Trotter, Wright Williams, William Smith, John Whitaker, Sr. William Dickson, William Roundtree, Eli Garrett, Philip Koonce, Henry Kelso, Robert Higgins, Samuel Barns, Littleton Duty, James Stallard, Jesse Woodruff and Nathan G. Pinson. Philip Koonce was appointed chairman and Thomas H. Benton was made clerk pro tem., and entered the first minutes upon record. County officers were elected, an allowance of $1 each for wolf scalps was made, stock marks were recorded, constables were sworn in, justices were appointed to take the tax. etc. At this term 2,662 acres of taxable land were reported. Harvey Holman, Wright Williams, Littleton Duty, Eli Garrett and John Whitaler were appointed to locate the county seat. They bought 100 acres of land of Ezeckiel Norris and plated the town of Fayetteville.

At the May term William Allen was fined $3 for profane swearing, and the August term taxes laid as follows: 6 + cents on each 100 acres of land: 6 + cents on each poll {white and black}, and 12 + cents on each stallion. Ferriage rates across Elk River were established at the following: Wagon, team and driver, 50 cents; cart or other two-wheel carriage, 25 cents; man and horse, 6 + cents, footman, 6 + cents , and live stock 2 cents per head. Tavern rates were made: Good whisky per half pint, 12 + cents; good peach brandy, 12 +; good West India rum, 25 cents; good diet, 25 cents; good lodging, 6+ cents; good stableage with hay or fodder for 12 hours, 25 cents; good corn per gallon, 6+ cents. Brice M. Garner was allowed $15 for the use of his house for the holding of court, and $30 for furnishing county and record books. Jurors were allowed 50 cents each per day for service. At this term a man entered court with an ear bleeding from being bitten off in a fight. He had the incident recorded at length to avoid the imputation of having been cropped under the penal laws. The clerk charged the usual fee for recording a hog mark. At a term in 1811 two men were each fined $125 for not attending as witnesses in an important civil suit.

The county officers, so far as names and dates can be obtained, have been as follows: Sheriffs–Cornelius Slater, 1810; John Greer, 1812; Francis Porterfield, 1822, William Husband, 1826; Andrew Kincannon, 1828; Alfred Smith, 1833; William C. Blake, 1836; Constant Smith, 1840; William B. McLaughlin, 1844; E.G. Buchanan, 1847; Eli L. Hodge, 1848; James Hanks, 1852, W. M. Alexander, 1854; Moses Cruse, 1856; W. M. Alexander, 1858; Moses Cruse, 1860; William Moffett, 1862; John H. Steelman, 1864; William F. Taylor, 1866; C. S. Wilson, 1868; F. W. Keith, 1868; H. B. Morgan, 1870; W. A. Mallard, 1872; R. F. Holland, 1878; W. A. Cunningham, 1882; George W. Poindexter, 1884; Trustees– John Rhea, 1810; Ebenezer McEwen, 1816; William Neeld, 1826; Samuel E. Gilleland, 1828; E. M. Ringo, 1836; John J. Ramsay, 1838; Richard White, 1842; E. M. Ringo 1844; S. J. Isaacs, 1850; William B. Rhea, 1853; William Neeld, 1854; A. S. Randolph, 1858; William R. Smith, 1862; William P. Neeld, 1864; J. D. Scott, 1866; J. H. Carey, 1868; J. D. Scott, 1870; J. J. Cummins, 1872; H. C. Street, 1874; Henry Henderson, 1876-86. Registers– Samuel Barns, 1810; Cornelius Slater, 1816; Peter M. Ross, 1832; John Goodrich, 1836; Daniel J. Whittington, 1852; Peter Cunningham, 1860; Miles Ramsay, 1862; A. T. Nicks, 1864; A. J. Childress, 1869, P.D. Boyce, 1870; B. B. Thompson, 1874-86. Rangers– Philip Koonce, 1810-41; William T. Berry, 1843; A. H. Berry, 1848; N. O. Wallace, 1853-86. County Court Clerks– Brice M. Garner, 1810-32; Robert S. Inge 1832; F. L. Kincannon, 1832; Charles Boyles, 1836; George W. Jones, 1840; Harmon Husband, 1843; Henry Kelso, 1844; George Cunningham, 1852; E. L. Hodge, 1854; Norris Leatherwood, 1857; Daniel J. Whittington, 1858, John T. Gordon, 1864; E. P. Reynolds, 1868; John Y. Gill, 1870; P. D. Boyce, 1874; E. S. Wilson, 1882.

In 1856 J. R. Chilcoat was elected county judge, and served until the war. Afterward were elected T. J. McGarvey, 1869; J. C. Cowen, 1870; M. W. Woodard, 1873; N. P. Carter, 1874. Circuit court clerks: James Bright, 1810-36; Alfred Smith, 1836; J. R. Chilcoat, 1848; R. S. Woodard, 1868; Rane McKinney, 1870; A. B. Woodard, 1873; Theodore Harris, 1874; W. C. Morgan, 1878.

Chancery clerks and masters previous to the war were Davis Eastland, James Bright, Robert Farquharson and John Fulton served successively. Afterward were Robert Farquharson, until 1869; David Clark, 1869; A. S. Fulton, 1876; W. B. Martin, 1879. Chancellors: B. L. Bramlitt, Terry H. Cahall, B. L. Ridley, John Steele, A. S. Knox, J. W. Burton and E. D. Hancock.

The first court house built was only for temporary use, until another could be erected. It was 18×20 feet in the clear, built with round logs, and covered with a good cabin roof. It had a seat for the jury, court and a resting place for the feet of the court, all of good plank. It was built in 1811 on one corner of the Public Square, by James Fuller, for $35. The first jail was built in 1810, with logs not less than twelve inches in diameter and ten feet long. The walls, floor and loft were all of logs of the same description. In November 1811, a contract to built a new two-story brick court house on the Square, was taken by Micajah and William McElroy, for $3,995. The court afterward allowed $750 extra for the work, thus making the total cost of the building $4,745. This court house was torn down in 1873, and the present one was erected by William T. Moyers, James N. Allbright and William E. Turley, for $29,579,30. J. H. Holman, H. C. Cowan and John Y. Gill composed the committee to report the plans, specifications and estimates for the building; Theodore Harris superintended the work. The second jail that was built, was a two-story brick building, lined on the inside with logs, the logs being protected by sheet iron. It was built about the same time as the court house. The present jail was built in 1868, and by contract was to cost not more than $23,000. It is of stone.

The stone bridge across Elk River is one of the best structures of the kind in the State. It was built in 1861 at a cost of about $40,000. It is of limestone, contains six elliptical arches, and is 450 feet in its entire length. The roadway is flanked on either side by a stone wall three feet high and two feet wide.

The civil divisions of the county were first designated by the companies of militia in the respective parts of the county, i.e., the civil officers of the county were elected from the various militia companies, as they now are from the civil districts. In 1835 the county was laid off into twenty-five civil districts. The lines have been changed from time to time, but still the same number is retained. The school districts have not always coincided with the civil districts, but are now one and the same.

Among the first acts of the county was one to provide for the poor, and in 1815 a special tax was assessed for the county poor. About 1826 a poor farm was purchased and a poor house erected, the supervision of which was put under three commissioners, regularly appointed by the court. The poor are still cared for in this manner.

At different times agricultural societies have been organized, but have as often proved to be institutions of short life. This first one was organized in 1824.

In the year 1858 Fayetteville was connected with the main line of the Nashville & Chattanooga Railroad by the branch built from Decherd to Fayetteville, and in 1882 the narrow gauge road was built from Columbia to Fayetteville. The main support of these roads in the agricultural product, which in turn brings in articles of general merchandise. Pikes connect Fayetteville with Lynchburg and Shelbyville, and extend from Fayetteville for several miles in all directions.

The political cast of the county is strongly Democratic. In 1884 the vote for president and governor stood as follows: Cleveland, 2,382; Blaine, 890; Bate, 2,220; Reid 941.

Financially old Lincoln is on a strong foundation. She has first class public buildings, good general improvements, with a firm backing of a good agricultural soil. The tax for 1884 shows a total valuation of taxable property of $3.564,340; number of acres of land, 345,722, valued al $2,628,780. The State tax for 1886 is $10.192; county tax, $12,692; School tax, $16,257; road tax, $2,393; making a total tax of $41,535. These figures include the estimate on railroad and telegraph property valued at $166,890. In 1885 there was reported in the county 9,325 horses and mules, 14,090 cattle, 11,969 sheep, 42,415 hogs, 1.070 bushels barley, 213 bushels buckwheat, 1,252,919 bushels corn, 37,908 bushels oats, 1,641 bushels rye and 275,463 bushels wheat.

Upon the bench of the circuit court sat Judge Thomas Stewart to hold the first court in the county. Then came Judge Kennedy for a time, who was succeeded by Judge Edmund Dillahunty, who held for a number of years. A. J. Marchbanks was the next judge and continued on the bench until the war. Gov. Brownlow then appointed N. A. Patterson, who became the laughing stock for the lawyers who attended court. He was deficient in the organs of hearing, and very eccentric in nature. Then came W.P. Hickerson, who did not serve a full term. He resigned and was succeeded by Judge J. J. Williams, who was afterward elected to fill the term now closing. For many years Erwin J. Frierson was the attorney-general, and he was superseded in turn by A F. Goff, James H. Thomas, Joseph Carter, George J. Stubblefield, J. H. Holman, J. D. Tillman and A. B. Woodard, the present incumbent of the office. The court in early days was engaged mainly in trying petty offenses, and not until 1825 was there a sentence of death pronounced. Duncan Bonds had murdered Felix Grundy, and was found guilty. He took an appeal to the Supreme Court of the State. A jury in 1828 rendered a verdict of guilty upon a charge of murder committed by a man named McClure, upon D.C. Hall. He received the sentence of death, and was hung in the spring of 1829. About 1847 a negro named Bill Moore was sentenced and hung for an attempted rape. In 1862 John George was sentenced to be hung for murdering Hosea Towry. He escaped from jail. Two years previous to this, in 1860, a negro, Alf, was hung for murdering his master, William Stevens. The whipping post and pillory often received the victims of the judge s sentence for the various offenses, and men were imprisoned for debt.

The bar of Lincoln County is one that ranks high in Tennessee. Not only are the members at present eminent and able lawyers, but from the first Lincoln County has given a home to many able men. At the first meeting of the county court was present Thomas H. Benton. He drew up the minutes of the first session of that court, and was the county s legal advocate on organization. He resided in Fayetteville for a number of years He then arose to adorn the nation s highest legislative council, of which he was a member for thirty-two years, and was truly an eminent man of America. Contemporary with him was L.P. Montgomery, widely, known as the brave Capt. Montgomery, who began the practice of law in 1810, and who fell at the battle of Horse-Shoe. In 1810 George B. Baulch, George Coalter, William White, Joseph Phillips, Marmaduke Williams, Matthew D. Wilson and Alfred Harris were permitted to practice in the county. In 1811 Eli Tolbert, Samuel Acres and Charles Manton were allowed to practice. George C. Witt and W. S. Fontine also practiced here in that year. Hon. C. C. Clay, of Huntsville, Ala. attended this court as early as 1811, as also did John McKinney and John Tolbert. Other lawyers from adjoining counties visited this court professionally, among whom were Judge Haywood, and later, Nathan Green, James Campbell, William Gilchrist, Oliver B. Hays, Lunsford M. Bramlett and Thomas M. Fletcher. Other prominent early lawyers were James Fulton, Samuel W. Carmack, Charles Boyles, William C. Kennedy, William P. Martin, William M. Inge and John H. Morgan. John H. Morgan, after a number of years in Fayetteville, moved to Memphis, thence to Mississippi, and was elected to the bench in that State. He was the father of Hon. J. B. Morgan, of Mississippi. William P. Martin moved from Fayetteville to Columbia, Tenn, and there was a judge for many years.

Kennedy also removed to Columbia, where he too was elected to the bench. He became the owner of quite a number of slaves, which he emancipated and transported to the African colony of Liberia. W. M. Inge was for many years associated in law with L. W. Carmack at Fayetteville. He served one term in Congress from the district which then included Lincoln County, and afterward made his home in Alabama.

Carmack was born in 1802; was an able and learned lawyer. In 1832 he moved to Florida, although retaining a summer home in Fayetteville. He arose to prominence in Florida, and died in 1849.

James Fulton has been styled the father of the Fayetteville. He located in Fayetteville in 1820, when twenty-two years of age. He filled one term as attorney-general in early life, but devoted his time to the prosecution of his profession rather than pursue official honors. He was an able lawyer and a highly respected citizen. His death occurred in 1856.

Previous to 1825 the following were permitted to practice law in the county: E. B. Robertson. William Kelly, Tryon Yancey, besides those above mentioned. Others were W.D. Thompson and Henry B. Ely, 1827; David Eastland, 1829; John R. Greer and Robert Inge. 1832; Andrew A. Kincannon and Elliott H. Fletcher, 1834; George W. Jones, 1839. Mr. Jones was born in 1806, and came to this county when young. He was three times elected to the Legislature. For sixteen years he was a member of Congress, and was in the Senate once. In his congressional career he received the nickname of the watch dog of the treasury . He was also a member of the Confederate Congress and of the constitutional convention of 1870. He was a very able and popular man, filling many of the county offices and taking especial pride in his county s welfare. His death occurred in 1884. He devoted no time to the practice of law, but lived almost wholly in political circles. Other prominent early attorneys of the county were Felix G. McConnell, who went to Alabama and afterward served in the United States Congress, committing suicide while a member of that body; W.T. Ross, a very able advocate; John C. Rodgers, who died young, but was an able lawyer; and Archibald Yell, who was a man of ability and temper. He and Hon. G. W. Jones once engaged in a physical combat before the county court, of which Jones was chairman. Yell threw a book at Jones, and Jones immediately returned the salute by a personal presentation with knife in hand. By the interference of other parties, no injury was done. Yell commanded a regiment in the Mexican war and was killed at the battle of Buena Vista.

The influence of W. H. Stephens, R. G. Payne, W. F. Kercheval, F. B. Fulton and J. W. Newman, has been felt at the bar. Since 1840 Robert Farquharson, who was prominent in the county, but did not give much time to law; David P. Hurley , who was a member of the bar but a short time, and Jas. M. Davidson, an able young lawyer, have held licenses to practice in these courts. Others were D.B. Cooper, who died when yet young; David W. Clark, who pursued the profession but a short time, but was an influential man; J. R. Chilcoat, who was the first county judge; Thomas Kercheval, now the mayor of Nashville; Ed E. Bearden, O. P. Bruce and Thomas B. Kercheval.

Hon, John M. Bright is the oldest member of the bar now living, and probably acquired the most prominence in political circles. He was born in Fayetteville about 1818, and has ever since made this his home. He is able as an attorney, and a prominent member of the Legislature of Tennessee before the war. In 1880 he retired from Congress, where he had served for several years. J. B. Lamb is one of the oldest and most successful attorneys of the county, and has been a member of the Legislature. He is the senior member of the law firm of Lamb & Tillman, of which Col. J. D. Tillman is the other member. He is a son of the Hon. Lewis Tillman, late of Bedford County. He was lieutenant-colonel (afterward colonel} of the Forty-first Regiment of Tennessee Infantry in the late war. J. H. Holman has been a member of the bar since 1866, and is widely known for his ability. J. H. Burnham is a good speaker, and was on the Hancock electoral ticket. He is now making the race for chancellor of this district. N. P. Carter is the county judge and a practicing lawyer. A. B. Woodard, the attorney-general, was reared in Fayetteville, the son of R. S. Woodard, who was a prominent man of the county. M. W. Woodard, also a son of R. S. Woodard, is a practicing attorney, and has been identified with public offices of the county. Joe G. Carrigan and G. W. Higgins are also able attorneys, and have both been in the Legislature. G. B. Boyles is an attorney at law, and now fills the office of recorder at Fayetteville. Others are Col. N. J, George, who was a lieutenant-colonel in Turney s First Tennessee; A. M. Solomon, an ex-member of the Legislature; R. L. Bright, S. W. Carmack, C. C. McKinney, F. P. Taylor, W. B. Lamb, John Routt and George H. Newman.

The sobriquet of The Banner County, so applied to Lincoln, appropriately represents its attitude matters. Hardly had the first few settlers begun to call this their home before Jackson s troops for the war of 1812 asked and received recruits from the county, among whom were Gen William Moore, who commanded a company; Charles McKinney, S. S. Buchanan, William B. McLaughlin, Frank Smith and others as many as fifteen altogether. These troops made Fayetteville their rendezvous, and upon starting upon the campaign they marched out 2,500 strong and crossed Elk River, near where the stone bridge now is. These men served throughout the war, participating in the battle of New Orleans. A patriotic response was again made to the call for troops in 1836. A full company, commanded by Capt.—Tipps, entered from Lynchburg , and another company was raised by Capt. George A. Wilson, but was not mustered into service. However, Capt. Wilson raised a spy company of about fifty men and entered the service. The following are remembered as members of this company: Augustus Steed. Lieutenant; W. H. Bright, bugleman; William Robertson, David F. Robertson, Henderson Robertson, C. B. Rodgers and Oliver Garland. These were from Fayetteville and the immediate vicinity, while many from the various parts of the county also enlisted in this company, as well as in that of Capt. Tipps. By the act organizing the county the militia of Lincoln was made the Thirty-ninth Regiment and was attached to the Fifth Brigade. For many years the militia musters were largely attended, and amusements invariably attended them.

In the spring of 1846 a company of eighty-three men, known as the Lincoln Guards, was raised at Fayetteville for the Mexican war . It was officered as follows: Captain, Pryor Buchanan; first lieutenant, A. S. Fulton; second lieutenant, John V. Moyers; third lieutenant, C. A. McDaniel; orderly sergeant, William T. Slater. The company left Fayetteville March 31, 1846, and participated in the battle of Monterey, where several members were killed.

Early in the spring of 1861, and after the fall of Fort Sumter, and the call of President Lincoln for troops from Tennessee, war was the only thing discussed in Lincoln County. Old gray haired men, devoted wives, sisters and mothers talked of war until the whole atmosphere was full of it. Children after listening to the discussions and imagining that they could almost see the blood flow were afraid to go to bed, and were often afflicted with nightmare. Little tow-headed boys were shouting the battle whoop from every cabin. Old saws, hoes, etc., were soon upon forge or held to the grindstone to make the large, ugly, ill-shaped bowie knives. Almost every man carried two of these knives which were to repel the invasion in the hand-to-hand conflict which was imagined to be approaching. Public meetings were almost daily occurrences and fiery speeches were long and loud. Men, women, and children, of all ages, sizes and colors, went out to these meetings and joined in the general enthusiasm. Even ladies fell into the ranks of the drilling companies- even the most refined and intelligent; willing to part with -sacrifice, if necessary- those most near and dear to them, were enthusiastic and materially aided in sending forth the grand array of volunteers.

When the question of separation was submitted to the people, Lincoln polled 2,892 votes for separation and not one for no separation. However, even before the State seceded companies were organized and war preparations were rapidly going on. The first companies raised were four, which composed a part of Turney s First Tennessee, and one of which was raised principally in what is now Moore County. The others were officered as follows: Company G- B. F. Ramsey, captain; John Shackelford, first lieutenant; F. G. Buchanan, second lieutenant; Thomas Wilson, third lieutenant; and John Thoer, orderly sergeant. Company K- N. C. Davis, captain; T. J. Sugg, first lieutenant; Joe Davidson, second lieutenant; J. B. Turney, third lieutenant; John W. Nelson, first sergeant. Company H- Jacob Cruse, captain; M. V. McLaughlin, first lieutenant; N. J. George, second lieutenant. These companies left Fayetteville April 29, 1861, for Winchester, where the regiment was organized. These companies were with Turney s First Tennessee Confederates from the first of the war to its close, being in the hottest parts of many of the great battles of the war.

The field officers of this regiment who were from this county were, upon organization J. H. Holman, lieutenant-colonel; D. W. Holman, major. Upon re-organization John Shackelford, lieutenant-colonel; M. V. McLaughlin, major. These officers were killed at Gaines Mill and their places filled by N. J. George, lieutenant-colonel, and F. G. Buchanan, major. Dr. C. B. McGuire was surgeon of the regiment and was afterward brigade surgeon.

While these companies were organizing and going forth to duty, others were also forthcoming. On May 14, 1861, four other companies left Fayetteville, and on the same day arrived at Camp Harris, in Franklin County, where they were mustered into the service of the State on the 17th of the same month by Colonel D. R. Smythe of Lincoln County. These companies were assigned to the Eighth Tennessee, under the command of Col. A. S. Fulton, of Lincoln County. Lincoln County was also represented in this regiment by W. Lawson Moore, lieutenant-colonel; Chris C. McKinney, adjutant; Dr. G. B. Lester, assistant surgeon; and David Tucker, chaplain. Company B. known as the Petersburg Sharp Shooters, was raised at Petersburg, with A.M. Hall as captain; Chris C. McKinney, first lieutenant; T. W. Bledsoe, second lieutenant; C. N. Allen, third lieutenant; and N. P. Koonce, orderly sergeant. Company C was officered as follows: Rane McKinney, captain; N. M. Bearden, first lieutenant; T. W. Raney, second lieutenant; A. M. Downing, third lieutenant; and R. D. Hardin, orderly sergeant. It was known as the Camargo Guards. Company G. Norris Creek Guards, was raised at Norris Creek with George W. Higgins, captain ; W. C. Griswell, first lieutenant; David Sullivan, second lieutenant; E. S. N. Bobo, third lieutenant; Joseph G. Carrigan, orderly sergeant. Company H. Was commanded by W. L. Moore until he was elected lieutenant-colonel, and was then officered as follows: W. J. Theash, captain; William Bonner, first lieutenant; T. H. Freeman, third lieutenant; G. W. Waggoner, first sergeant.

The Eighth Tennessee was one of the two regiments that made the almost unparalleled Cheat Mountain campaign, enduring those severe privations, marching through rain day and night, leaving the roads stained with blood from their feet, and almost starving for want of food. Without blankets or tents and with very little food, for eight days these troops were undaunted in their onward march and in their flight for life, but many took sick and died from exposure and fatigue. Two companies were raised in the western part of the county and constituted in the Thirty-second Regiment. One of them was known as the Millville Men: J. J. Finney, captain; W. P. A. George, first lieutenant; Jno. W. Wright, second lieutenant; Jno. P. McGuire, third lieutenant; David F. Hobbs, first sergeant. The other was the Swan Creek Guards: C. G. Tucker, captain; John Roach, first lieutenant; J. T. Pigg, second lieutenant; H. H. Tucker, third lieutenant; J. S. Finley, first sergeant. The quartermaster of this regiment was E. S. Wilson, of this county.

Then came the organization of the Forty-first Tennessee, whose colonel was Robert Farquharson, of this county, and whose lieutenant-colonel {afterward colonel} was J. D. Tillman, now of Lincoln, then of Bedford. Lincoln furnished four companies to this regiment, viz.: One {company C} commanded by Capt. J. D. Scott, whose lieutenants were B. J. Chafin, J. R. Feeney, and Jacob Anthony, and afterward commanded by Chafin and Feeney successively; one from Mulberry {company A} commanded by W. W. James whose lieutenants were L. Leftwich, Christopher Carrigher and A. D. Johnson; one (knows as Liberty Guards) commanded by J. H. George; with the following lieutenants: William Smith, T. D. Griffis and S. A. Hopkins; and one commanded by W. B. Fonville, whose lieutenants were W. S. Bearden, A. A. Woods and E. R. Bearden. These companies left Fayetteville about the last days of September, 1861, and the regiment was organized at Camp Trousdale.

The Forty-fourth Regiment of Tennessee Volunteer Infantry was organized at Camp Trousdale in November, 1861, with C. A. McDaniel, colonel, and D. J. Noblett, assistant surgeon, from this county. It also included four companies from Lincoln; one commanded by C. A. McDaniel, who, upon being elected colonel, was superseded by T. M. Bell, and he by J. E. Spencer, with the following lieutenant, Joseph Cunningham, A. B. Rhea, and J. J. Martin; one by W. A. Rhodes, with J. H. Patterson, Jacob Van Hoozer and C. K. Moody as lieutenants; one from Shelton Creek, commanded by Capt Smith, and one from Swan Creek, commanded by Capt. Stiles.

The Forty-fourth was actively engaged in some of the fierce conflicts of the war. At Shiloh forty-two per cent of those of the regiment actually in combat were killed and wounded. Afterward this regiment and the Fifty-fifth Tennessee were consolidated, still retaining the name of the former, and embracing another company from this county, which was organized in the latter part of 1861, by W. H. Moore, and embraced in the Fifty-fifth upon the organization of that regiment. Early in 1862 another company was raised by Capt. James R. Bright, with R. B. Parks, J. L. Moore and Stephen Loyd, as lieutenants, and entered an infantry regiment of Kentucky. After the battle of Shiloh the company was reorganized with W. P. Simpson, captain, and J. B. Price, T. D. Hill and G. W. Jones, lieutenants. J. L. Moore who was second lieutenant at its first organization, afterward raised another company and entered the service.

December 21, 1861, there were twenty-one companies of infantry from Lincoln County in the service. However, this number included those raised in Moore County, which was then a part of Lincoln. The company of J. L. Moore, was probably the last full company of infantry to leave the county as a company. Recruits were added to the old commands throughout 1862-64. About September, 1862, Freeman s Battery, which was a part of Hardin s Artillery, received about fifty members from Lincoln County, only one of whom was killed in the service. A great many of Forrest s escort were from this county, probably the majority of the members. Capt. Nathan Boone was captain of the escort. Other cavalry regiments received members from the county. Wheeler s First. Tennessee Cavalry was composed of some Lincoln County boys, as was the Eleventh Tennessee Cavalry and also the Fourth Tennessee Cavalry.

Including all men in the service from first to last, Lincoln County furnished nearly 5,000 soldiers. Besides the regular companies of infantry there were several who entered war in companies from adjoining counties. This was also case with artillery men and cavalry men. At all times recruits were entering the old commands.

At the organization of Capt. Higgins company of the Eighth Tennessee, the ladies of Norris Creek and vicinity presented the boys with a beautiful large flag, the presentation being made by Miss Sallie Landess in an eloquent and stirring address. On the 25th of August, 1861, a magnificent flag was presented to the Eighth Regiment by the ladies of Lincoln County, accompanied by an inspiring address from the Hon. John M. Bright. On the flag were written in large gold letters the words, Patience, Courage, Victory. Many times did the ladies send stores of provisions, containing delicacies for the sick, clothing and all kinds of hospital and camp supplies. Much of the inspiration that enabled the troops to remain in the field with sickness, danger and deprivations, came from the encouragement received from the ladies at home.

The Federals first entered Fayetteville April 9, 1862, causing a sudden suspension of business. They withdrew after about two months stay, and again occupied the town in the spring of 1863, remaining until 1865. The court house was used as a stable for the horses a part of the time, and for the protection of troops at other times. It was surrounded by a bomb proof wall about six feet high, built of brick. The whole county was almost impoverished by the foraging armies passing to and fro. Sherman s whole army, on its march from Memphis to Chattanooga, passed through Fayetteville and crossed Elk River on the stone bridge, which, affording an excellent passage over the river, caused many of the passing armies, both Federals and Confederates, to pass through here. While Fayetteville was occupied by the Federals, business was at a standstill and many depredations were committed. When requested to do anything the citizens did not wait for time to argue points. The depredations, however, were mostly committed by Brixie s band of robbers, who in the main, claimed to be Yankees. Among the most dastardly acts, which the people suffered, was the murder of Judge J. R. Chilcoat. Afterward John Massey, a Confederate soldier, who had returned home {together with two other men named Pickett and Burrow}, was brutally murdered- riddled with bullets. Some buildings were burned county records were destroyed and, of course, property was confiscated. Guerrillas did not injure the people to any great extent.

The war over, the soldiers laid down their arms to return to their avocations of life. They found their farms in a deplorable condition. Their stock was gone, fences burned, buildings going to rack or entirely destroyed. The cost of the war to Lincoln County can hardly be estimated. However, she has now almost recovered from the effects, the hard times and desperate conflicts are remembered as in the past, and all unite in one grand army for the upbuilding of the welfare of the country.

There was a differences of opinion as to the expediency of the location of the county seat where it was located. One-hundred acres of land was obtained of Ezekiel Norris, and a town of 128 lots was platted. On September 5 and 6, a sale of lots was made, the following, among others, being purchasers: Potter & Wilson, 11; Eleanor Buchanan, 1; John Buchanan, 2; Charles Porter, 2; Francis Ross, 1; Robert Ramsey, 1; Joseph Sumner, 2; John Kelly, 2; William Whitaker, 2; Hugh Blake, 2; Joseph Commons, 2; Walter Kinnard, 2; Rice M. Garner, 2; Peter Looney, 1; Joseph Jenkens, 2; Joseph McMillan, 1; James Bright, 2; John Angel, 1; James Cochran, 1; Stephen Chinnault, 1; Jacob Van Zand, 1; The records in the register s office are not all preserved, hence, the names of all the first purchasers can not be obtained.

Among the earliest merchants were Francis Porterfield, Robert Buchanan, Robert H. McEwen, and Robert H. Dickson, all of whom were successful. Mr. Dickson also ran a tan-yard and saddlery. Ephraim Parham was the first man to obtain tavern license; John P. McConnell and Vance Greer also kept taverns in Fayetteville very early. Between 1820 and 1830 existed the following firms: General merchants–Buchanan & Porterfield. R. & W. Dickson. Mason & McEwen, Alex R. Kerr & Co., A. A. Kincannon, Akin, Bagley & Co., McEwen & Gilleland, Daniel Dwyer, H. S. Morgan, William F. Mason & Co., Thompson & Wardaw, John Thompson, Dickson & Wallace, J. H. Wallace, William Akin & Co. Grocers–Parks & Moyers, and J. G. Selph & Co. Physicians– J. B. Sanders, G. & R. Martin, William Bonner, A. C. Gillespie, Charles & J. V. McKinney, J. J. Todd. C. J. Smith and R. Stone. Besides these, James Crawford had a saw-mill, gristmill and distillery; S. A. Pugh ran a saddlery and Barclay & Ross a furniture store; E. M. Ringo was a watch-maker, Jacob Moyers a coppersmith, I. H. Wallace a shoe-maker, Weigart & Bryant and H. Worsham, tailors. C. Wilson had a bookbindery. An inn was kept by W. H. Talbot. Wool cards were run by Frost & Co., and by Johnson & Garner.

In December, 1823, Robert Dickson, Esq., was elected mayor. Vance Greer, R. H. McEwen, Chas. McKinney, Elliott Hickman, Joseph Commons and J. P. McConnell were elected aldermen; Wm. F. Mason, recorder; Vance Greer, treasurer, and Wm. Timmins, constable. In the thirties, the most prominent general merchants were Wm. Dye & Son. Napoleon Garner, Gilliland & Roseborough, Gilliland, Smith & Co., Martin & Murphy, and A. C. McEwen & Co. The physicians were J. B. Chas. McKinney, Wm. & M. C. Bonner, and Elliott Hickman. In the forties general merchandising was carried on by H. & B. Douglas, A. T. Nicks, John Goodrich, Jno. A. McPhail, S. Hart & Co. R. H. C. Bagley. Fulghum & Short, J. S. & J. T. Webb, Morgan & Neil, A. B. Shull, H. C. Holman & Bro., W. W. Petty, Southworth & Co., D. M. Tucker, T. C. Goodrich, W. H. Webb, Webb & Thompson, George F. Smith, B. L. Russell, Southworth, Morgan & Neil and Scott & Gray. Rane McKinney and Deimer & Hampton were druggists. Webb & Smith had a book store.

In the fifties, Wright & Trantham, T. C. Goodrich, Wright & Ransom, Thomson & Buchanan, Goodrich, Buchanan & Beavers, W. D.& S. M. Ewing and Russell & Tucker were general merchants. Fletcher & Stogner were produce dealers. Groceries were kept by all the general merchants. Scott & Gray were merchants tailors and furnishers. The first carriage manufactory ever established was by Raboteau, Hobbs, & Walker. C. S. Wilson kept a livery stable and Chilcoat & Edmonson a tavern. Diemer & Hampton were druggists.

In the sixties after the halt caused by the war had place to business, general merchandising was carried on by Wright & Trantham, Newman & McLaughlin, J. C. & J. F. Goodrich, Murray & Morgan, P. T. Murray, Morgan Bros., F. W. Brown & Co. Druggist were Diemer & Miles and Smith & Blake. Grocers were Foster & Co., and Woods & Woodard. Moyers & Wilson were dealers in furniture. In the seventies business assumed wider proportions. Morgan Bros., P. T. Murray, Wright & Wright, J. C. Goodrich. T. J. Gray Co. , Smith & Miles, J. E. Caldwell, Nassauer & Hipsh, Hart & Fisher and F. W. Brown did a general mercantile trade. B. J. Chafin & Co., Bagley Bros., Bryson & Lauderdale, J. W. Barnett & Co., J. C. Goodrich, R. L. Gains & Co., W. H. Webb and W. R. Smith dealt in groceries. J. B. Hill, who had been in business for many years, and S. Heymann were jewelers. E. C. McLaughlin, J. S. Alexander and C. S. Wilson ran liveries. S. W. Brown & Co., Blake & McPhail and R. H. Ogilvie were hardware merchants. Douthet Bros. and Gray, Hatcher & Waddle were dealers in boots and shoes. J. T. Medearis ran a tan-yard.

The present business is as follows: General merchants–Wright & Wright. Nassauer & Hipsh, Kilpatrick & Co., Morgan Bros., J. A. Murray & Co., J. A. Lumpkin, J. W. Naylor & Sons, Whitaker & DeFord and T. C. Goodrich & Co. Groceries– J. C. Goodrich, Lauderdale & Rowell B. J. Chafin, Bagley Bros., E. E. Feeney, Stonebraker & Co., Bryson & Francis, J. L. McWhirter, W. K. Woodard, Blake & Rawls, Z. P. Gotcher, J. A. Bunn & Son, H. Nevill and J. W. Bennett. Hardware–Lamb & Robertson and Benedict & Warren. Drugs–W. A. Gill & Co. Smith & Miles, W. W. Christian and C. A. Diemer & Son. Jewelers–J. B. Hill, S. Heymann and A. D. Ruth. Bookstore–R.S. Bradshaw. Saloons–W. W. Alexander & Co., Eaton & Evans, Alexander & Copeland, B. J. Chafin and J. L. McWhirter. Livery stables–C. S. & R. M. Wilson and J. S. Alexander. Physicians–W. C. Bright, C.A. Diemer, C.B. McGuire, R. E. Christian and W. W. Christian. Grain merchants– Holman & Woods and Bruce & Cowen. General produce– C. Bonds and Caldwell & Scott. Furniture and undertaking– J. B. Wilson and J. A. Formwalt. The leading hotel is the Petty House. Others are kept by Sanford Prosser, S. G. McElroy, Mrs. A. Johnson, and T. S. King has a restaurant. Bearden & Thomas have a flouring-mill, J. L. Waggoner a planing-mill, and L. Peach runs a stone, saw and marble works. J. L. Vaughn manufactures carriages and buggies.

The first newspaper in Fayetteville was the Fayetteville Correspondent, edited and published by David Augustine Hays; only a few numbers were issued. The Village Messenger was then published from March 11, 1823 to July 18, 1828, by Ebenezer Hill. In 1829 the Western Cabinet was commenced by Ebenezer Hill and John H. Laird. Mr. Hill published one volume of Haywood s reports in his office. He published Hill s Almanac for a great many years, making it a part of the standard literature of southern Tennessee and northen Alabama. As early as 1833 the Independent Yeoman was published by Joe B. Hill, afterward by Joe B. & E. Hill. Then it was purchased by W. L. & A. H. Berry, and published as the Lincoln Journal, from 1840 to 1848, at which time C. A. French, became the editor ans publisher, continuing it until the war. In 1840 a Whig paper, the Signal, was started and issued but a few numbers. After the war the Lincoln County News was started by Ebenezer Hill, Jr., and continued by W. P. Tolley for some years. The Fayetteville Express was established in 1873 by S. H. McCord, was afterward published by McCord & Lloyd, and is now by Lloyd & Blake. The Fayetteville Observer was established in 1850, stood the war stroke, and continues to be a thriving paper, edited and published by N. O. Wallace.

The Lincoln Savings Bank was established in 1870 with a capital of $100.000, did a seemingly good business, but suspended in 1884, jarring the financial status of the whole county considerably. The First National Bank was organized in June, 1873, with a capital stock of $60.000. Its first president was Hon. George W. Jones. Its present president is Dr. C. B. McGuire; its cashier, J. R. Feeney.

As early as the year 1824 a Masonic Lodge was established but existed only a few years. Jackson Lodge, No. 68, F. & A. M. Was chartered October 9, 1828, and now has a membership of over 40. Calhoun Lodge, No. 26, I. O. O. F., was chartered April 6, 1846, and now has nearly 30 members. Fayetteville Lodge, No. 181, K. Of H., was established April 1, 1875, and has a membership at present of nearly 65. Protection Lodge, No. 8. A. O. U. W., began its existence from charter dated May 2, 1877. Jewel Lodge. No. 59, K. & L. Of H. Was established April 1, 1879, and has about 60 members. There are five church edifices in the town, owned respectively by the Cumberland Presbyterians, Presbyterians, Methodist Episcopal Church South, Christians and the Protestant Episcopalians. The Missionary Baptists have an organization but no building. There are four churches for the colored people of the following denominations: African Methodist Episcopal, Primitive Baptist, Missionary Baptist and the Cumberland Presbyterian.

About 1815 George L. Leonard settled where Petersburg now is and cleared up the land there. He put up a cotton-gin, and afterward began the first mercantile trade of the place by selling small articles of merchandise, such as thread, etc. Porterfield & Akin established a small store in 1828, and Wm. DeWoody conducted their business. In 1833 they were superseded by Rowlett & Hill, and soon others followed. Holman & Loyd, Jones & Yowell, Rives & Hayes and Stone & Reese were merchants before 1840 and all did a large business. Then came a lull in the business tide of Petersburg instil the war; however, Metcalfe & Son did a good business during this time, as also did Wynus, Blake & Co., Smith, Blake & Co. And Fonville & Bledsoe. Since the war the principal merchants have been W. J. Hamilton, P. B. Marsh & Son, Fogleman & Cummings and Hall & Hamilton, together with the present business firms. General merchants– G. A. Jarvis, Cummings & Bledsoe and B. S. Popflanus, grocers–E.M. Crawford and L. L. Rebman; W. R. Hanaway, undertaker and furniture dealer; Rives & Christopher, saddlers and harness-makers; saloons–J. W. King & Co., F. S. Cummings & Co. And Pack & Byrd; blacksmiths–Alex Lancaster and George Morrison. J. C. Montgomery has a large frame flouring-mill, and Dwiggins & Co. Are erecting a fine brick mill. Gillespie Bros. Do a livery business.

The secret societies are Unity Lodge, No. 84 I. O. O. F., which has a membership of twenty; Petersburg Lodge, No. 123, was organized in 1846, and for many years was very strong, but now has only a weak organization; Petersburg Lodge, No. 607, K. Of H., has a membership of thirteen, and was organized in 1877. Petersburg has a good school, and five churches of the following denominations: Methodist Episcopal South, Presbyterian Cumberland Presbyterian, Missionary Baptist and Christian. It is a chartered town, but by some the charter is considered a burden. It is situated on the Duck River Valley Railroad, twelve miles from Fayetteville.

Mulberry began to exist as a village about 1840. Among the merchants that have transacted business there were Booker Shapard, Drury Conley, Abner Brady, R. N. Whitaker, W. W. James & Co., Hoots & Logan and J. & W. H. Reese, previous to the war. Since the resumption of business after the war have been W. W. James & Co., W. L. Shofner, R. A. & J. H. Reese, Whitaker & Yates, E. S. Terry and J. G. Reese, the last two of whom are now in business. Several family groceries, etc., have existed from time to time. The Mulberry Academy began about 1830, and has become a noted school. There was once a male and female academy, but it is now known as the Mulberry Male and Female Academy. There in one Missionary Baptist Church, one Cumberland Presbyterian Church, one Methodist Episcopal Church South and one Christian Church. Physicians are G. W. Jones, A. R. Shadden and S. Dance. Mulberry Lodge, No. 404. F. & A. M., was organized in 1870, and is in a prosperous condition. It had twelve charter members. Mulberry Lodge, No. 148, was chartered in 1871 and has only a very weak organization. The Good Templars have a lodge of about ninety members. There are two good mills near by. In the village are two blacksmith shops, two wood-work shops and a cabinet-maker and undertaker.

Boonshill was one of the first postoffices established in the county. Previous to the war Wood & Daniel, Hudson & Horton and Sumner & Ewing were merchants there. Since the war have been Buchanan & White, E. S. Wilson & Co., Swinebroad & Co., Templeton & Son and H. D. Smith, the present merchants. Physicians have been Dr. John Wood, Dr. Dunlap, Dr. Porter, Dr. Parks and Dr. Sumner. Stephen Hightown first settled where Millville now is. Stone & Baird were the first merchants; others were Frank McLane, Sam Isaacs, Thomas McLaurine, McGuin & Son, McGuire & Franklin, Ezell & Hudspeth. Since the war have been Ezell & McGuire, F. L. Ezell, Ally Smith and Finney & Son. Dr. C. B. McGuire practiced medicine there from 1847 to 1859; others have been Dr. M. P. Forehand and Dr. G. W. McGuire.

Dellrose was first known as Roosterville. Hog Bruce was the founder and first merchant. It has only been a village since 1867. D. C. Sherrill & Co. Are now doing business there. These is a good school. Dr. B. S. Stone is the physician of the place. Molino postoffice was established in 1849, by D. C. Hall, the first postmaster and merchant. Since the war, merchants have been Robert Stewart, James W. Rawls, Joe Montgomery and J. H. Dale & Co. J. W. Rawls was a blacksmith, and John Hays the present one. It has a Missionary Baptist Church there, and is located in a good locality. Howell is a small station on the narrow-gauge railroad, seven miles from Fayetteville. It was first known as Renfroe Station. Harris Bros, and George Bros, are merchants. It has a good railroad depot and a Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Oak Hill is a village nine miles north of Fayetteville. The postoffice is Norris Creek. H. L. Cole and James Bell are merchants. It has a good school, a Cumberland Presbyterian Church and a Missionary Baptist Church. There is also a Masonic lodge of thirty-eight members-Mount Hebron, No. 344, and a weak lodge I. O. O. F.- Oak Hill, No. 39. A pike connects Oak Hill with Fayetteville. Stonesborough is a chartered town and consist of a distillery owned by Stone & Thomas, and a store and saloon owned by Stone & Patterson. W. J. Landers has a tan-yard between this place and Oak Hill. Chestnut Ridge is also in the north part of the county. J. N. Stallings is a merchant. James Freeman a blacksmith, and Wash. Gilbert a wagon-maker. Chestnut Ridge Lodge No. 499, F. & A. M., has about fifteen members, and Chestnut Ridge Lodge, No. 157, I. O. O. F., has nearly fifty members. There is a church near by.

Booneville, received its name from Capt. Nathan Boone. Musgraves and Shofner, and J. E. Reese are merchants. It is about three miles from Mulberry Village. Blanche was first known by postoffice as Pleasant Plains. Samuel Parker was the first postmaster, and W. W. Petty the first merchant in 1849. It began to assume the proportions of a village after the war, and is now a pleasant and thriving little town. Dr. J. C. Coasts is the merchant and physician. There is located here Pleasant Plains Lodge, No. 305, F. & A. M. , and a church. There are several county stores near by.

Smithland was known as George s Store until 1884. At first the postoffice was on the north side of Elk River, having been established about 1840. It was moved to Arnold s grocery about 1850, and there Smithland has been built. This was a notorious fighting place. Taylor & McLaughlin and R. Smith are the present merchants. An I. O. O. F. Lodge, Sereno No. 195, is located at Smithland.

Camargo was established in 1849 and was a flourishing village prior to the war. John Caughran was the first merchant. Others have been Nicks & Webb, J. N. & W. A. Stallings, Wm. Ashworth, Samuel Dehaven and J. A. Corn.

Lincoln is settled mainly by northern people who went to that place after the war. J. F. Montgomery, J. R. McCown, J. E. Ramsey and J. C. McClellan have been merchants there. In 1887 ____ Crosby started a small spinning Factory at Oregon. In 1839 it was bought by Henry Warren, was afterward operated by H. & T. K. Warren, and is now operated by Henry Warren & Son. This factory has about 1,000 spindles, a cotton-gin and a flouring and grist-mill attached, being an investment of about $20,000 capital. Oregon is three and once-half miles from Flintville, its shipping point. It has a Cumberland Presbyterian Church.

Elora was formerly known as Baxter Station, and only dates its beginning since the building of the Fayetteville & Decherd Branch Railroad. It is in the southeast corner of one now existing from Fayetteville to Decherd. J. B. Hamilton and W. M. Parker & Co. Are the merchants.

Flintville, twelve miles from Fayetteville, on the Nashville & Chattanooga Railroad, has sprung into existence since the building of that road. The first merchants were Cunningham & Myrick; J. A. Grills was the first blacksmith; Peter Cunningham put a grist-mill, and then he and L. P. Myrick engaged in distilling. The town was all destroyed by the Federals the time of the war. Since the war merchandising has been carried on by D. M. & J. C. Mimms & Knowles, D. M. Mimms, Kilpatrick & Co., Merrit & Golden (saloon), Chas. Kelley, D. M. & W. G. Mimms, Richard Routt, A. Smith, Peter Cunningham, Brady & Hall, Henry Warren & Son, and Chick & Eslick. J. W. Cooper & J. J. Coston have been blacksmiths and wagon-makers, and Joseph Richardson, a saddler; E. J. Cambron is a carriage and cabinet-maker; Tolley, Eaton and Sims have run distilleries, and Copeland & Co. Now have a large distillery. They also have a good mill. John Young also has a mill. Surprise Lodge, No. 153, I. O. O. F., is located there with sixteen members. There are four church organizations at Flintville.

Kelso s first merchant was A. S. Fulton. Subsequent merchants have been hill Southworth, D. M. Eslick and Jenkens McKinney. Present merchants are J. A. Taylor, G. D. Wicks and M. S. Eslick. Kelso Lodge, No. 490, F. & A. M., and Kelso Lodge No. 172, I. O. O. F., are located there, and also a Cumberland Presbyterian Church is at Kelso.

The attention of the early pioneers was required by almost everything before it was given to means of educating the children. This most important subject was not long entirely neglected, for those who had sufficient education taught short terms of school at the different private residences early in the teens. After a time, by agreement, the settlers would meet to build a schoolhouse in the different localities. These buildings were of logs, with a door in one end and a fire-place in the other, not all of them had fire-places, and those that them generally allowed the escape of the smoke through a large hole in the roof, there being no chimneys to them. This was the condition of the schoolhouses even through the twenties. The seats were made of poles split open, supported on legs about three feet long, and with the flat side up. Light was admitted through an aperture made by leaving out one log along the sides of the building. A bench or plank for writing was supported on pins driven in the log just beneath the window. The roofs of these primitive institutions of learning were of boards held to their place by weight poles. Each pupil took whatever book he could find. Some studied the Life of Washington, others the Life of Marion, and a few would take a Clarion {the paper then published at Nashville} to school, and learn from that. These were pay-schools, the tuition being from 75 cents to $1 per pupil for one month. Various were the rules and requirements of these schools. Each teacher had new rules. An invariable custom was to make the teacher treat or take a duckin on Christmas and at the close of school. If a mischievous boy passing the schoolhouse desired to be chased at a lively rate it was only necessary for him to yell out school butter, when the teacher would say to his pupils: Take him in, boys. Reading and writing were the main branches taught, and arithmetic was sometimes taught. Pupils recited one at a time. They were by most teachers allowed to seek the out-door, pure atmosphere in fair weather to prepare their lessons. Prior to 1820 {probably as early as 1815} the Fayette Academy was established. This was a county academy, and derived its support from a State fund. The building became untenable about 1854, and the new building just then erected by the Cumberland Presbyterian Church was to be used by Milton College, which did not materialize, was purchased, and Fayette Academy continued for some years, and then sold the building to the county school commissioners.

The Fayetteville Female Collegiate Institute began its existence almost as early as the Fayetteville Academy. The land was donated by James Bright. This institution is under the control of a company and board of trustees. The building first used was torn down in 1884 to give place to the present splendid brick building. The enrollment for the past year was about 220 pupils. Although it, by name, is known as a female school, both sexes are admitted.

The Mulberry Female Academy was established in 1830 and existed as such until 1869, when it was consolidated with the Mulberry Male Academy, and since the institution thus formed, has prospered under the name of the Mulberry Male and Female Academy. The Mulberry Male Academy was formed and put in working order in 1844.

Viney Grove Academy was founded by the Rev. Henry Bryson and conducted with great success by him for many years. This once ranked with the standard educational institutions of the South, but it has died away. It was five miles west of Fayetteville. Boonshill Academy has existed since before the war. The building is a nice brick house, and good schools are taught there.

The Petersburg Masonic Academy was founded by that fraternity in 1858 and is taught in the lowest story of the brick Masonic Hall at Petersburg. Oak Hill Institute flourished from 1865 to 1880 with considerable success. The building is frame. Nixon Springs Academy, near Smithland, was a good institution from 1875 to 1880. Hopewell Academy at Lincoln was endowed by the United Presbyterian Church and is a well-conducted school. Greenwood Academy, between Mulberry and Booneville, was established in the fifties, and has a brick building. Cane Creek Academy, at Howell, also has a brick building and is comparatively a new institution.

The public school of Lincoln County are gaining is favor, but are yet in their infancy. There are eighty-two public school in the county for white, and thirty-one for colored people. There are but eighty-four public school buildings, but school is taught in other buildings. The buildings are as follows: Stone and brick, 3; frame, 47; log, 34; total, 84. Value of school buildings is estimated at $23,460. And the value of apparatus, etc., at $1,570. The scholastic population of the county for this year is 9,912, and the amount of school fund, at $1.75, per capita, is $17.346.

As in all new countries, the first settlers of this section were more accustomed to the sound of the hunting horn and chasing hound than to pulpit oratory on the Sabbath. However, many good Christian people were among the first pioneers, and they established Scripture readings, and even preached sermons at the different private residences. Early services were held in the court house, and not unfrequently did people assemble at some designated place in the woods to hear a sermon.

In 1811 the earthquake shock which was so sensible felt here was by many regarded as the approach of the Last Great Day, and consequently many accessions to the Christian flock were made. For a considerable time big meetings were held, and a great revival was experienced, but after a time the lull in the tide came, the spirit of the meetings died down. Yet there was a good work being done by some of the good Christian people. As early as 1808 a church was organized at the Forks of Mulberry, and it is a Primitive Baptist organization. Hardy Holman was the first pastor. In about 1812 the Shiloh congregation was organized by the same denomination. Other churches of this {the Primitive or old-school Baptist} denomination, are Concord, which was organized prior to 1820; Mount Olivet, probably organized in the twenties; New Hope, a small congregation, but an old one; Kelly Creek, which began existence in the forties. Pleasant Grove; Rocky Point; Bethel; and Buckeye, which was organized as late as 1866 with a membership of nineteen and now has 165 members. Nearly all of these churches are in a good condition and prospering.

In the fall of 1812 the Presbyterian Church of Fayetteville was organized with the Rev. John Gillespie as pastor. The first elders were David Turner, Andrew Hannah, Francis Patton, John Armstrong and Ebenezer McEwen. Private members were Peggy Hannah, Mrs. Armstrong, Mrs. Patton, Mrs. Turner, Peggie Gillespie, Mary McEwen, Elizabeth Ferguson, John B. Alexander and Barbara Alexander. Subsequent pastors of this church have been John R. Bain, James McLinn, Amzi Bradshaw, E. McMillan, M. M. Marshall, W. C. Dunlap, D.D., George Hall, A. D. McClure, J. H. Bryson, W. H. Groves and R. M. DuBose. The present membership is 105. First worship was in the court house; afterward an edifice was built, which was destroyed by a storm in 1851, and then the present one was erected. Other Presbyterian Churches of the county are: Unity, eight miles from Fayetteville, organized about 1829, and now having a membership of about forty; Petersburg, organized May 5, 186,. And now having about forty members; Swan Creek , organized as early as 1830, now having a membership of fifty; and Young s Chapel, with a membership of twenty-five, and having existed only since 1870. One other church, by the name of Old Unity, once existed, but is now extinct.

Bethel Church of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian denomination was organized 1830 by Rev. H. Bryson, who continued as its pastor until his death in 1874, and was superseded by Rev. A. S. Sloan, the present pastor. There are three other churches in the county of that denomination known as the New Hope, Prosperity and Pleasant Plains.

Early in 1829 a camp-meeting was held near Fayetteville by distant workers in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Great success blessed this meeting and an organization of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church of Fayetteville was accomplished the same year. Rev. S. M. Cowan was the first pastor, continuing many years, and under him the church multiplied in numbers and strengthened in good work. Subsequent ministers have been Herschel S. Porter, W. D. Chaddick, D. D. , Stokely Chaddick, S. M. Cowen, again M. B. DeWitt, ____McElree, Nat Powers, C. P. Duvall, ____ McDonald and J. S. Weaver. Among the first members were Benjamin Clements and wife, William Norris and wife, Benjamin Wear and wife, S. O. Griffs and wife, George Stonebraker and wife, Jacob Stonebraker and wife and Dr. Charles McKinney and wife.

Cane Creek Cumberland Presbyterian Church was organized in 1817 by Rev. R. Donel, and now has 138 members. J. B. Tiger has been its pastor for twenty-five years, and in its seventy years of existence the church has never been without a pastor, although but five men have served as pastors. There are thirteen other Cumberland Presbyterian Churches in the county, viz.: Mulberry, with a membership of about 50; Mount Zion, organized by Rev. D. Tucker about eight years ago; Hebron, an old church with about 125 members; New Unity, with 100 members; Petersburg, with about 70 members; New Salem, and old church, with a membership of about 75; Pisgah, organized about 1856, and now having about 40 members; Liberty, organized about 1878, present membership about 50; Sulphur Spring, with 75 members, built and supported by Henry Warren for his factory hands; Moore s Chapel, a young congregation of about 100; Elkton, a small congregation; Flintville, a new congregation with a small membership; and New Lebanon, about twelve years old and having a large membership.

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Fayetteville was organized prior to 1829. Rev. Joshua Kilpatrick was its pastor that year. Present membership is 162. The present church building was erected about 1846. The other Methodist Episcopal Churches South and their approximate memberships are follows: Shady Grove, 100; Lloyd s Chapel, 75; Providence, Beech Grove, Union and Boonville, 331; Petersburg, __; Macedonia, Hermon, Flintville and Liberty, 350; Medium and Moore Chapel, 263; Mulberry, 90; Shiloh, 100; Dellrose, __; Blanche, Smith s Chapel, Shiloh and Ebenezer, __; and New Bethel, a new organization. This denominations is in a prosperous condition.

The Christians have nine organizations. They are as follows: Fayetteville, which was organized in 1865 and now has a membership of about 75; Gun Spring, Philadelphia, Friendship, Chestnut Ridge, Mulberry, Antioch, one on Lane s Branch, and one at McAlister s chair factory.

The Hard Shell Baptist have small congregations–Mount Carmel and Sulphur Springs.

The Protestant Episcopal Church of Fayetteville is the only one of that denomination in the county. It was organized in 1882 and in 1883 was built the elegant little stone edifice which is used for worship.

The first organization of the United Presbyterian Church in Tennessee was Lebanon Church in this county. It was organized September 15, 1865, by Rev. A. S. Montgomery. The church building cost about $2,000 and the present membership is 145. Other organizations of that name are Hopewell and Pisgah.

The Missionary Baptists also have a number of congregations in the county. They have an organization at Fayetteville, but no church house.

—————————————————–

Some very interesting people lived in Lincoln County, Tennessee. One case in point was  Josephine Myrtle Corbin. She was born 12 May 1867. Daughter of William H  Corbin who was born in Georgia  and Nancy Williams Sullens Corbin who was born in Alabama. The Corbin’s had a large family of children.

She married James Clinton Bicknell, June 12, 1886, in Blount County, Alabama. She died 6 May 1928 in Photo of Josephine Myrtle CorbinCleburne, Johnson County, Texas. She is buried at the Cleburne Memorial Cemetery. Three of her children are known: Clinton Francis Bicknell (1896 – 1966), Ruby Eugenia Bicknell Wells (1898 – 1978); and Lillian Josephine Bicknell Hammack (1906 – 1973). She is said to have had four children.

Her father enlisted 3 Oct 1862 as a Private during the War Between the States. He served in Company B, Georgia 43rd Infantry Regiment. The family moved to Johnson  County, Texas at some point. Most of them are interred in Johnson County, Texas.

The extra legs were part of a twin that did not split correctly. Sometimes this is referred to as a parasitic twin. Each of her smaller inner legs was paired with one of her outer legs. She was said to be able to move her inner legs, but they were too weak for walking. She had four daughters and a son. She was born a dipygus, meaning that she had two separate pelvises side by side from the waist down. She was often referred to as the four-legged woman.

In all the photographs of her she is smiling and seems very happy.


Our forefathers worked hard to make a living for their families…

and the cotton mills in northern Alabama and southern Tennessee allowed them to do just that.

This is a photo of Laurel Hills Cotton Mill Workers, Laurel Hill, Lawrence County Tennessee



People Who Worked At Laurel Hill Cotton Factory Taken From 1880. Transcribed Lawrence Co. 
Census 12th District.

Name Age Page No. In Census Job title
Absolom 21 262  
Brewer, Ada 11 263  
Brewer, Araminta 12 263  
Brewer, Henry 14 263  
Brewer, James 19 260  
Brewer, M. F. 13 263  
Brewer, Malissa 19 259  
Brewer, Margaret 34 263  
Brewer, Mary J. 18 264  
Brewer, Rachel 15 263  
Brewer, Sarah E. 13 263  
Brewer, Sophronia 21 263  
Brewer, Thomas 16 263  
Brewer, Wade 15 259  
Bullion, Charity 38 263  
Corcoran, Alice 12 264  
Corcoran, Florence 16 264  
Corcoran, Henry 23 262 (Weaver)
Corcoran, John 10 264  
Corcoran, Patrick 59 264  
Corcoran, Sallie 14 264  
Corcoran, Thomas 28 264  
Corcoran, Willis 9 264  
Couch, Angie 27 265  
Couch, Emily 35 265  
Cox, Eddie 18 264  
Davis, Elizabeth 15 263  
Davis, Jeff             18 263  
Fife, Georgia A. 28 263  
Fife, Hannah 25 263  
Fife, Lidia 19 263  
Gordon, John A. J. 10 262  
Gordon, Leona 12 262  
Gordon, Matilda 19 262  
Green, Jane 40 263  
Hall, Fannie 38 263  
Holloway, David 14 262  
Holloway, Delila 8 262  
Holloway, Mary K. 10 262  
Holloway, Sarah E. 12 262  
Jones, Clark 29 261 (Cotton Mfg.)
Jones, W. C. 32 261 (Cotton Mfg.)
Laughter, Florence 16 264  
Laughter, Sterling 19 264  
Lee, Allie 17 265  
Lee, Dora 10 265  
Lee, Hardy 7 265  
Lee, Lidia A. 13 265  
Lee, Mary J. 15 265  
Lee, Sallie 11 265  
Martin, Jennie 19 265  
Massey, Rhoda 27 265  
Morton, Samuel 35 265 (Carder)
Mosley, Jo. 25 264 (Machinist)
Norman, James 28 262 (Waggoner) ??
Partridge, Thomas 21 264  
Riley, John 25 264  
Simpson, Evan 18 262 (Weaver)
Simpson, Jackie 13 262 (Weaver)
Staggs, Clarenda 16 265  
Staggs, Eb 51 264 (Watchman)
Staggs, Emilene 16 265  
Staggs, Fredonia 25 263  
Staggs, Jane 23 265  
Staggs, Martha 21 265  
Staggs, Mary 26 265  
Staggs, Meridy 24 265  
Staggs, Thomas 15 265  
Styles, Laten 47 264 (Boss Weaver)
Wesley, John 29 261 (Blacksmith) ??
Wilson, Moses 50 261 (Waggoner) ??
Wooley, William 15 265  

There were 400 people that lived on Laurel Hill. 80 worked in the cotton mill.
Compiled by Lawrence Archives, Lawrenceburg, TN, February 2011. By Wayne Austin via Mary Bob McClain.


All family lineages seem to lead through southern Tennessee at some point in time…

Fayetteville Town Square south side

Fayetteville Town Square south side (Photo credit: SeeMidTN.com (aka Brent))

that also are situated in northern Alabama and sometimes northern Mississippi. In this reprint of Goodspeed’s History of Lincoln County, I can find some of my family surnames. I can also spot some surnames of family that is related to other Shoals residents.  This account of the people and history of Lincoln County, Tennessee was published in 1886. It is a fascinating read even if only for a glimpse back in to the past.

                                                   LINCOLN COUNTY

LINCOLN COUNTY is bounded on the north by the counties of Marshall, Bedford, and Moore; on the east by Moore and Franklin; on the south by the State of Alabama; and on the west by Giles County. It lies almost wholly within the central basin of Middle Tennessee. The geological situation of the county is about equally divided between the siliceous group of the lower Carboniferous formation, and the Nashville group of the Silurian formation. On the line of railroad may be seen large quantities of black shale, which is so impregnated with petroleum or bitumen that it will sustain for a month a fire when kindled on it. This black shale is also rich in sulphuret of iron, by the decomposition of which copperas and alum are formed. It easily disintegrates upon exposure and is valueless except for the manufacture of the salts mentioned. Many of the limestone rocks are but aggregations of fossil remains. A few miles east of Fayetteville is a quarry where a very fair article of reddish variegated marble is found. This marble is sometimes injured by particles of iron pyrites. The county is divided into two almost equal parts by the Elk River, with which its numerous tributaries affords it excellent water facilities. The streams which enter this river from the north are Bradshaw Creek, Swan Creek, Cane Creek, Norris Creek, Mulberry Creek, Roundtree Creek, Tucker Creek and Farris Creek. Those from the south are Shelton Creek, Duke Creek, Stewart Creek, Wells Creek, Coldwater Creek, and Kelley Creek. Between Elk River and the Alabama line is a belt of high land which is the watershed between Elk River and the Tennessee. This watershed embraces a strip about eight miles wide and includes nearly one-third of the county. It is an exceedingly level high plateau and is not well drained. The sub-soil a pale yellowish clay porous and leachy except in swamps where the clay is bluish. However, a few spots are found with a good red clay subsoil, and when this is found, lands are rated higher. No limestone is seen on this plateau and the main vegetation is wild growth.

The remainder of the county comprises spacious valleys, alternating with productive hills and ridges. Upon some of the hills however, the loose limestone lies in such abundance as to preclude cultivation. The valleys of Elk River and Cane Creek will average a mile in width, and the latter is probably fifteen miles long. The land in these two valleys is as productive as any in the State. Many knolls near Elk River are upraised alluvium. An abundance and a general variety of timber grows in the county. It is mainly of the following varieties: Linn, Buckeye, hickory, poplar, box elder, black walnut, wild cherry, black locust, chestnut, beech, gum, dogwood, ironwood, horn beam, sugar tree, hackberry, cedar and elm.

As early as 1784 land explorers passed through this section, and some surveys were made and grants issued prior to 1790. North Caroline grants for land in this country were issued to John Hodge, Robert Walker and Jesse Comb in 1793. There are also land grants recorded in the office of Lincoln County Register, bearing date of 1794, to the following persons: William Smith, Elizabeth W. Lewis, Ezekiel Norris, William Edmonson, Alexander Green, Thomas Perry, Thomas Edmonson, Mathew Buchanan, Mathew McClure, Andrew Green and John Steele. In the spring of 1806 James Bright, at the head of a surveying party, passed where Fayetteville now stands, striking Elk River near the mouth of Nelson Creek. He found a very rank growth of cane and occasionally discovered Indian trails. Near Fayetteville he found a deposit of periwinkle and muscle shells, giving evidence of an Indian village site, and by some it is supposed that this was the village in which De Soto camped through the winter of 1540-41: This supposition has recently been strengthened by the finding of a coin bearing the inscription of the Caesars.

It is impossible to tell who first settled within the present bounds of Lincoln County. The first settlers are now all in their graves and many have no descendants in the county.. In the fall of 1806 Ezekiel Norris settled on his grant of 1,280 acres of land at the mouth of Norris Creek, and this creek is all that now bears his name in the county. He was a shrewd man. Being led to donate 100 acres of land for the county seat under the false representation that other parties had made the same offer, he afterward sued the county and recovered $700 for the land. He was probably the first permanent white settler in the county.

James Bright also became a citizen of the county, and many deeds are recorded transferring land from him to other parties. For twenty-five years he was clerk of the circuit court and was clerk and master of the chancery court for a term of years. John Greer, a very wealthy man, settled near the mouth of Cane Creek on his large tract of land. He took interest in organizing the county and in conducting the public affairs afterward He was once general of the militia. He erected a valuable mill for those days on Elk River, two miles from Fayetteville.

Joseph Greer settled on his vast domain on Cane Creek near Petersburg. He was a giant in stature, standing six feet seven inches and well built proportionately. He was one of the forty gallant defenders of Watauga Station in 1769. He was also a hero of King s Mountain, and it was he who bore the news of that splendid victory to Congress, then sitting in Philadelphia. He dressed in the style of the old aristocratic Virginia gentleman. Thomas Leonard, Hugh M. Blake, Jesse Riggs, Peter Luna, James Blakemore, Capt. William Crunk and Ezekial March were also settlers on Cane Creek in the first and second decades of this century. Crunk and Blakemore were noted for their social qualities, and dances were frequent at their homes. On Swan Creek, N. G. Pinson, Joel Pinson and Wright Williams were prominent first cane cutters, and men who bore their share of the load in administering public affairs. In what is now embraced in the Twelfth and Thirteenth Civil Districts the first settlements were made by James McCormick, John Anderson, Henry Taylor and Richard Wyatt. On Norris Creek early homes were made by Fielden MacDaniel, Moses Hardin, William Edmonson, John Ray, George Cunningham, Samuel Todd, Isaac Congo, ____ Jenkins and ____ Parks. On Mulberry Creek were John J. Whittaker, a good and prominent man; John Morgan, grandfather of Hon. John M. Bright, Brice M. Garner, who soon removed to Fayetteville, and Gen. William Moore. Others were the several Whitakers, Hardy Holman, William Brown, Enoch Douthat, the Waggoners and Isaac Sebastian.

Other settlements on Norris Creek were made prior to 1810 by Ebenezer McEwen, Robert Higgins, Amos Small and Philip Fox. It is said that Davy Crockett also lived in the vicinity of the waters of Mulberry, in the eastern part of the county, in 1809-10.

In Fayetteville James Bright, who is mentioned above, was one of the most prominent first settlers. James Buchanan, Francis Porterfield, Brice M. Garner, John P. McConnell, Robert C. Kennedy, Benjamin Clements and many others, made up the first citizens of the town. Alexander Beard settled near Fayetteville, south of the river. He has a large body of land, but lost a great portion of it in confirming his title, which, among many other North Carolina grants, was contested. Philip Koonce settled between Shelton Creek and Duke Creek in 1807 or 1808, and near by him, on Shelton Creek, settled Henry Kelso, about the same time. Tunstall Gregory settled on the waters of Shelton Creek, and John Duke on Duke Creek. Michael, Rolinson was one of the first settlers on Coldwater Creek; but an old man, named Abbot, lived in that part of the county five years, before he knew any one else lived within one hundred miles of him, so says one who vouches for the truth of it. A great many settlements were made prior to 1810, on the waters of Coldwater, but names can not be obtained. A man named Peyton Wells was the first to make a home in the vicinity of Wells Hill. He kept a noted ordinary or tavern. A man named Harper was the first to settle on the branch that now bears his name. Joseph Dean and William Todd soon became his neighbors.

The southeastern part of the county was sparsely settled along in the twenties, but the barrenness of the soil has deterred many from locating there.

Many other settlers suffered privations and hardships, as well as those above given, but their names and places of settlement are lost to reliable tradition. In 1808 land entries were made by the following: Anthony Foster, Daniel Cherry, John Morgan, Benjamin Fitzrandolph and George Maxwell. Other land entries were made as follows : 1809– Adam Meek, William Richey, Robert Davis, Nicholas Perkins, John Richardson, Joseph Greer, Michael Robertson, W.P. Anderson, Oliver Williams, Nicholas Coonrod, Newton Cannon, Wright Morgan, Abram Maury, Stephen Holbert, Malcom Gilchrist, William Martin, Edward Bryans, Jacob Castleman, Nimrod Williams, Jesse Franklin, John Tesley, Daniel Kinley, Philip Phillips, Michael Campbell, Samuel Garland, William Townzen, Robert Bigham and Robert Tucker. 1810 — Armstead Stubblefield. Abner Wells, William Rountree, Lemuel Koonce, Thomas R. Butler, Francis Nichson, John Cunningham, William Edmiston, James Buchanan, Morris Shaw, Thomas Edmiston, John Alcorn, Robert Elliott, Robert Nelson, James Winchester and Thomas Hickman, 1811-12– Reuben Stuart, John Cone, Timothy Hunter, James Coats, Roger B. Sapington, Henry Rutherford. 1813-14 — Robert C. Kennedy, Robert Henry, Alexander Newberry, Brice M. Garner, John Coffman, Francis McCown, Mary Gray, David Cowen, Hugh Heartgrave, James McBride, Joseph Garner, Jeremiah Burks, Elyan Clements, Alden Tucker, Thomas Clark, Joel Butler, Daniel Read, William McGehee, Jesse George, Edward Harding, Samuel Ragsdale, Samuel Yager and Aaron Dutton. 1815-20 – William Dickson, Jr., Jesse Pugh, William Smith, Warren Calhoun, Lavis Pugh, John Russell, Andrew Greer, William Dickson, David McGlathery, Henry Rutherford, David Dodd, James Boyle, John Clark, George Price, Joseph Byers and Joseph Street.

Doubtless many others grants were issued, the records of which are lost. Many of the above persons settled here before obtaining their grants, and some who obtained grants did not permanently settle, and even some were speculators who never lived in the county. On account of the climate and the fertile soil settlers were attracted to Lincoln County, and in 1833 it had a population of 10,788 free white persons. Since then parts of the county have been formed into other counties. In 1880 the population was 26,960.

Among the oldest persons now living in the county and who have been in the county since its pioneer days, are Hon. John M. Bright, Rev. J. W. Holman and C.A. French of Fayetteville, and Hugh M. Blake and Joseph Gill of Petersburg . Early pioneers found it no trival matter to develop their farms and raise their families. Not only was farming to be developed, but milling, merchandising, schools and churches, all required attention. However, these people were happy in their condition, and various were their amusements. Fayetteville, Petersburg and Arnold s Grocery (now Smithland) were noted places for settlement of all grudges in pummelling fights. The lookers-on enjoyed this very much, and it was their duty to see fair play. No weapons or missiles were to be used, and it was not fair to bite. In Fayetteville was a grocery, in which fighting was such a common occurrence that it was known as the war office, Militia musters were big days for the people.

Grist-mills were erected on the creeks and on Elk River, and there were several horse-mills in the county. To these horse-mills each man took his own horse or horses, and hitched them to the sweep to turn the mill while his grist was grinding. The water-mills were more economical, that is, they needed no horse power.

Joel Yowell, an early citizen of Petersburg, had a large horse mill two miles from Petersburg, with a hand-bolting machine attached. Jesse Riggs and Thomas Leonard also had mills of this kind. Leonard and Yowell had wheat threshers attached to their mills, and Leonard also had a cotton-gin attached. However, threshing was mostly done by tramping it out.

In 1811 the county court granted Elias Lunsford permission to build a saw mill on Mulberry Creek. This mill was built the following year. In 1814 David ; . Monroe built a grist-mill on the west fort of Cane Creek. Francis Finchee built a grist-mill in 1815. In 1820 Nathaniel B Binkingham built a mill on Cane Creek on a tract of school land.

Taverns were numerous, and were situated in all parts of the county without regard to towns. Ephraim Parham, Vance Greer, William Cross, Brice M. Garner and John Kelley obtained tavern license in 1811. Collins Leonard, Jesse Riggs, Cornelius Slater, John D. Spain, John P. McConnell, Elisha Boyles, William Garrett, George Stobah, C. R. Milborn, David Cobb, Joseph Dean, John Parks, William Smith, Walter Kinnard, Enoch Douthat, John H. Zevilly, John Houston, John Parks, Thomas Rountree and William Mitchell were other tavern keepers in the teens. These taverns were also know as ordinaries, houses of entertainment , etc.

Elk River was crossed by means of ferries. Ezekiel Norris had one of the first ferries on the river. William P. Anderson established a ferry at the mouth of Farris Creek in 1820, and Andrew Hannah, in 1822, established one at Hannah Ford.

Produce was marketed by means of flat-boats carrying it out of Elk River and down to New Orleans, and by wagons to Nashville. The very earliest merchants obtained their goods mainly from Baltimore, and brought them here by wagons from that city. Estill & Garner were experienced flat-boatmen. They took out boats each years, and returned on foot from New Orleans. At first cotton was not raised here to any extent, and that article was obtained in Alabama and freighted by wagons. Scouting Indians frequented these first settlements, but very few depredations were committed by them. It is handed down by reliable tradition that three men, whose names were Taylor, Anderson and Reed were scalped by the Indians while out searching for a horse. Another incident occurred wherein the Indians forced their way into a house where a woman was making soap. The woman had secreted herself behind the door with a gourd full of boiling soap, and upon their entrance she anointed the dirty red-skins with telling effect, causing them to flee for cooler parts.

Lincoln County was created by an act of the Legislature in 1809. The following is the act so far as it relates to establishment of the county:
AN ACT TO ESTABLISH A COUNTY SOUTH OF BEDFORD, TO BE KNOWS BY THE NAME OF LINCOLN.

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Tennessee, That Lincoln County shall be laid off and established within the following bounds, to wit: Beginning on the northeast corner of Giles County and extending south with the eastern boundary line of Giles County to the southern boundary line of the State; thence with that line east to a point due south of the mouth of the mouth of Cove Spring Creek; thence north to the southern boundary line of Bedford County, and thence, with the said line, westwardly, to the beginning.

Sec. 2. Be it enacted, that John Whitaker, Sr. Wright Williams, Eli Garret, Littleton Duty and Jesse Woodruff be, and they are hereby, appointed commissioners with full power to procure by purchase, or otherwise, 100 acres of land on or near the north bank of Elk River, as near the center of the county, east and west, as a proper situation will admit of, and at all events not more than two miles from said center.

Sec. 3. Be it enacted, that the said commissioners, immediately after procuring the aforesaid 100 acres of land, shall cause a town to be laid off thereon, reserving near the center thereof a public square of two acres, on which the court house and stocks shall be built, likewise reserving a lot in any other portion of said town for the purpose of erecting a jail; and the said town, when so laid off, shall be named Fayetteville.

Sec. 6. Be it enacted, that the court of pleas and quarter sessions, for the county of Lincoln shall be on the fourth Monday in the months of February, May, August and November annually, at the house of Brice M. Garret until a place is provided for holding the said court in the town of Fayetteville.

Sec. 11. Be it enacted, that the militia of the county shall compose the thirty-ninth Regiment and be attached to the Fifth Brigade.

Sec. 14. Be it enacted, that this act shall be in force from the first day of January, in the year one thousand eight hundred and ten.

The county thus established assumed the form of a rectangle in outline, but in 1835 a part of the territory now constituted in Marshall County was taken from the original Lincoln County, and in 1872 Moore County was created, embracing a part of Lincoln.

The first County court met Monday, February 26, 1810, at the house of Brice M. Garner, and the following men were qualified justices of the peace by Oliver Williams, Esq. of Williamson County: Thomas L. Trotter, Wright Williams, William Smith, John Whitaker, Sr. William Dickson, William Roundtree, Eli Garrett, Philip Koonce, Henry Kelso, Robert Higgins, Samuel Barns, Littleton Duty, James Stallard, Jesse Woodruff and Nathan G. Pinson. Philip Koonce was appointed chairman and Thomas H. Benton was made clerk pro tem., and entered the first minutes upon record. County officers were elected, an allowance of $1 each for wolf scalps was made, stock marks were recorded, constables were sworn in, justices were appointed to take the tax. etc. At this term 2,662 acres of taxable land were reported. Harvey Holman, Wright Williams, Littleton Duty, Eli Garrett and John Whitaler were appointed to locate the county seat. They bought 100 acres of land of Ezeckiel Norris and plated the town of Fayetteville.

At the May term William Allen was fined $3 for profane swearing, and the August term taxes laid as follows: 6 + cents on each 100 acres of land: 6 + cents on each poll {white and black}, and 12 + cents on each stallion. Ferriage rates across Elk River were established at the following: Wagon, team and driver, 50 cents; cart or other two-wheel carriage, 25 cents; man and horse, 6 + cents, footman, 6 + cents , and live stock 2 cents per head. Tavern rates were made: Good whisky per half pint, 12 + cents; good peach brandy, 12 +; good West India rum, 25 cents; good diet, 25 cents; good lodging, 6+ cents; good stableage with hay or fodder for 12 hours, 25 cents; good corn per gallon, 6+ cents. Brice M. Garner was allowed $15 for the use of his house for the holding of court, and $30 for furnishing county and record books. Jurors were allowed 50 cents each per day for service. At this term a man entered court with an ear bleeding from being bitten off in a fight. He had the incident recorded at length to avoid the imputation of having been cropped under the penal laws. The clerk charged the usual fee for recording a hog mark. At a term in 1811 two men were each fined $125 for not attending as witnesses in an important civil suit.

The county officers, so far as names and dates can be obtained, have been as follows: Sheriffs–Cornelius Slater, 1810; John Greer, 1812; Francis Porterfield, 1822, William Husband, 1826; Andrew Kincannon, 1828; Alfred Smith, 1833; William C. Blake, 1836; Constant Smith, 1840; William B. McLaughlin, 1844; E.G. Buchanan, 1847; Eli L. Hodge, 1848; James Hanks, 1852, W. M. Alexander, 1854; Moses Cruse, 1856; W. M. Alexander, 1858; Moses Cruse, 1860; William Moffett, 1862; John H. Steelman, 1864; William F. Taylor, 1866; C. S. Wilson, 1868; F. W. Keith, 1868; H. B. Morgan, 1870; W. A. Mallard, 1872; R. F. Holland, 1878; W. A. Cunningham, 1882; George W. Poindexter, 1884; Trustees– John Rhea, 1810; Ebenezer McEwen, 1816; William Neeld, 1826; Samuel E. Gilleland, 1828; E. M. Ringo, 1836; John J. Ramsay, 1838; Richard White, 1842; E. M. Ringo 1844; S. J. Isaacs, 1850; William B. Rhea, 1853; William Neeld, 1854; A. S. Randolph, 1858; William R. Smith, 1862; William P. Neeld, 1864; J. D. Scott, 1866; J. H. Carey, 1868; J. D. Scott, 1870; J. J. Cummins, 1872; H. C. Street, 1874; Henry Henderson, 1876-86. Registers– Samuel Barns, 1810; Cornelius Slater, 1816; Peter M. Ross, 1832; John Goodrich, 1836; Daniel J. Whittington, 1852; Peter Cunningham, 1860; Miles Ramsay, 1862; A. T. Nicks, 1864; A. J. Childress, 1869, P.D. Boyce, 1870; B. B. Thompson, 1874-86. Rangers– Philip Koonce, 1810-41; William T. Berry, 1843; A. H. Berry, 1848; N. O. Wallace, 1853-86. County Court Clerks– Brice M. Garner, 1810-32; Robert S. Inge 1832; F. L. Kincannon, 1832; Charles Boyles, 1836; George W. Jones, 1840; Harmon Husband, 1843; Henry Kelso, 1844; George Cunningham, 1852; E. L. Hodge, 1854; Norris Leatherwood, 1857; Daniel J. Whittington, 1858, John T. Gordon, 1864; E. P. Reynolds, 1868; John Y. Gill, 1870; P. D. Boyce, 1874; E. S. Wilson, 1882.

In 1856 J. R. Chilcoat was elected county judge, and served until the war. Afterward were elected T. J. McGarvey, 1869; J. C. Cowen, 1870; M. W. Woodard, 1873; N. P. Carter, 1874. Circuit court clerks: James Bright, 1810-36; Alfred Smith, 1836; J. R. Chilcoat, 1848; R. S. Woodard, 1868; Rane McKinney, 1870; A. B. Woodard, 1873; Theodore Harris, 1874; W. C. Morgan, 1878.

Chancery clerks and masters previous to the war were Davis Eastland, James Bright, Robert Farquharson and John Fulton served successively. Afterward were Robert Farquharson, until 1869; David Clark, 1869; A. S. Fulton, 1876; W. B. Martin, 1879. Chancellors: B. L. Bramlitt, Terry H. Cahall, B. L. Ridley, John Steele, A. S. Knox, J. W. Burton and E. D. Hancock.

The first court house built was only for temporary use, until another could be erected. It was 18×20 feet in the clear, built with round logs, and covered with a good cabin roof. It had a seat for the jury, court and a resting place for the feet of the court, all of good plank. It was built in 1811 on one corner of the Public Square, by James Fuller, for $35. The first jail was built in 1810, with logs not less than twelve inches in diameter and ten feet long. The walls, floor and loft were all of logs of the same description. In November 1811, a contract to built a new two-story brick court house on the Square, was taken by Micajah and William McElroy, for $3,995. The court afterward allowed $750 extra for the work, thus making the total cost of the building $4,745. This court house was torn down in 1873, and the present one was erected by William T. Moyers, James N. Allbright and William E. Turley, for $29,579,30. J. H. Holman, H. C. Cowan and John Y. Gill composed the committee to report the plans, specifications and estimates for the building; Theodore Harris superintended the work. The second jail that was built, was a two-story brick building, lined on the inside with logs, the logs being protected by sheet iron. It was built about the same time as the court house. The present jail was built in 1868, and by contract was to cost not more than $23,000. It is of stone.

The stone bridge across Elk River is one of the best structures of the kind in the State. It was built in 1861 at a cost of about $40,000. It is of limestone, contains six elliptical arches, and is 450 feet in its entire length. The roadway is flanked on either side by a stone wall three feet high and two feet wide.

The civil divisions of the county were first designated by the companies of militia in the respective parts of the county, i.e., the civil officers of the county were elected from the various militia companies, as they now are from the civil districts. In 1835 the county was laid off into twenty-five civil districts. The lines have been changed from time to time, but still the same number is retained. The school districts have not always coincided with the civil districts, but are now one and the same.

Among the first acts of the county was one to provide for the poor, and in 1815 a special tax was assessed for the county poor. About 1826 a poor farm was purchased and a poor house erected, the supervision of which was put under three commissioners, regularly appointed by the court. The poor are still cared for in this manner.

At different times agricultural societies have been organized, but have as often proved to be institutions of short life. This first one was organized in 1824.

In the year 1858 Fayetteville was connected with the main line of the Nashville & Chattanooga Railroad by the branch built from Decherd to Fayetteville, and in 1882 the narrow gauge road was built from Columbia to Fayetteville. The main support of these roads in the agricultural product, which in turn brings in articles of general merchandise. Pikes connect Fayetteville with Lynchburg and Shelbyville, and extend from Fayetteville for several miles in all directions.

The political cast of the county is strongly Democratic. In 1884 the vote for president and governor stood as follows: Cleveland, 2,382; Blaine, 890; Bate, 2,220; Reid 941.

Financially old Lincoln is on a strong foundation. She has first class public buildings, good general improvements, with a firm backing of a good agricultural soil. The tax for 1884 shows a total valuation of taxable property of $3.564,340; number of acres of land, 345,722, valued al $2,628,780. The State tax for 1886 is $10.192; county tax, $12,692; School tax, $16,257; road tax, $2,393; making a total tax of $41,535. These figures include the estimate on railroad and telegraph property valued at $166,890. In 1885 there was reported in the county 9,325 horses and mules, 14,090 cattle, 11,969 sheep, 42,415 hogs, 1.070 bushels barley, 213 bushels buckwheat, 1,252,919 bushels corn, 37,908 bushels oats, 1,641 bushels rye and 275,463 bushels wheat.

Upon the bench of the circuit court sat Judge Thomas Stewart to hold the first court in the county. Then came Judge Kennedy for a time, who was succeeded by Judge Edmund Dillahunty, who held for a number of years. A. J. Marchbanks was the next judge and continued on the bench until the war. Gov. Brownlow then appointed N. A. Patterson, who became the laughing stock for the lawyers who attended court. He was deficient in the organs of hearing, and very eccentric in nature. Then came W.P. Hickerson, who did not serve a full term. He resigned and was succeeded by Judge J. J. Williams, who was afterward elected to fill the term now closing. For many years Erwin J. Frierson was the attorney-general, and he was superseded in turn by A F. Goff, James H. Thomas, Joseph Carter, George J. Stubblefield, J. H. Holman, J. D. Tillman and A. B. Woodard, the present incumbent of the office. The court in early days was engaged mainly in trying petty offenses, and not until 1825 was there a sentence of death pronounced. Duncan Bonds had murdered Felix Grundy, and was found guilty. He took an appeal to the Supreme Court of the State. A jury in 1828 rendered a verdict of guilty upon a charge of murder committed by a man named McClure, upon D.C. Hall. He received the sentence of death, and was hung in the spring of 1829. About 1847 a negro named Bill Moore was sentenced and hung for an attempted rape. In 1862 John George was sentenced to be hung for murdering Hosea Towry. He escaped from jail. Two years previous to this, in 1860, a negro, Alf, was hung for murdering his master, William Stevens. The whipping post and pillory often received the victims of the judge s sentence for the various offenses, and men were imprisoned for debt.

The bar of Lincoln County is one that ranks high in Tennessee. Not only are the members at present eminent and able lawyers, but from the first Lincoln County has given a home to many able men. At the first meeting of the county court was present Thomas H. Benton. He drew up the minutes of the first session of that court, and was the county s legal advocate on organization. He resided in Fayetteville for a number of years He then arose to adorn the nation s highest legislative council, of which he was a member for thirty-two years, and was truly an eminent man of America. Contemporary with him was L.P. Montgomery, widely, known as the brave Capt. Montgomery, who began the practice of law in 1810, and who fell at the battle of Horse-Shoe. In 1810 George B. Baulch, George Coalter, William White, Joseph Phillips, Marmaduke Williams, Matthew D. Wilson and Alfred Harris were permitted to practice in the county. In 1811 Eli Tolbert, Samuel Acres and Charles Manton were allowed to practice. George C. Witt and W. S. Fontine also practiced here in that year. Hon. C. C. Clay, of Huntsville, Ala. attended this court as early as 1811, as also did John McKinney and John Tolbert. Other lawyers from adjoining counties visited this court professionally, among whom were Judge Haywood, and later, Nathan Green, James Campbell, William Gilchrist, Oliver B. Hays, Lunsford M. Bramlett and Thomas M. Fletcher. Other prominent early lawyers were James Fulton, Samuel W. Carmack, Charles Boyles, William C. Kennedy, William P. Martin, William M. Inge and John H. Morgan. John H. Morgan, after a number of years in Fayetteville, moved to Memphis, thence to Mississippi, and was elected to the bench in that State. He was the father of Hon. J. B. Morgan, of Mississippi. William P. Martin moved from Fayetteville to Columbia, Tenn, and there was a judge for many years.

Kennedy also removed to Columbia, where he too was elected to the bench. He became the owner of quite a number of slaves, which he emancipated and transported to the African colony of Liberia. W. M. Inge was for many years associated in law with L. W. Carmack at Fayetteville. He served one term in Congress from the district which then included Lincoln County, and afterward made his home in Alabama.

Carmack was born in 1802; was an able and learned lawyer. In 1832 he moved to Florida, although retaining a summer home in Fayetteville. He arose to prominence in Florida, and died in 1849.

James Fulton has been styled the father of the Fayetteville. He located in Fayetteville in 1820, when twenty-two years of age. He filled one term as attorney-general in early life, but devoted his time to the prosecution of his profession rather than pursue official honors. He was an able lawyer and a highly respected citizen. His death occurred in 1856.

Previous to 1825 the following were permitted to practice law in the county: E. B. Robertson. William Kelly, Tryon Yancey, besides those above mentioned. Others were W.D. Thompson and Henry B. Ely, 1827; David Eastland, 1829; John R. Greer and Robert Inge. 1832; Andrew A. Kincannon and Elliott H. Fletcher, 1834; George W. Jones, 1839. Mr. Jones was born in 1806, and came to this county when young. He was three times elected to the Legislature. For sixteen years he was a member of Congress, and was in the Senate once. In his congressional career he received the nickname of the watch dog of the treasury . He was also a member of the Confederate Congress and of the constitutional convention of 1870. He was a very able and popular man, filling many of the county offices and taking especial pride in his county s welfare. His death occurred in 1884. He devoted no time to the practice of law, but lived almost wholly in political circles. Other prominent early attorneys of the county were Felix G. McConnell, who went to Alabama and afterward served in the United States Congress, committing suicide while a member of that body; W.T. Ross, a very able advocate; John C. Rodgers, who died young, but was an able lawyer; and Archibald Yell, who was a man of ability and temper. He and Hon. G. W. Jones once engaged in a physical combat before the county court, of which Jones was chairman. Yell threw a book at Jones, and Jones immediately returned the salute by a personal presentation with knife in hand. By the interference of other parties, no injury was done. Yell commanded a regiment in the Mexican war and was killed at the battle of Buena Vista.

The influence of W. H. Stephens, R. G. Payne, W. F. Kercheval, F. B. Fulton and J. W. Newman, has been felt at the bar. Since 1840 Robert Farquharson, who was prominent in the county, but did not give much time to law; David P. Hurley , who was a member of the bar but a short time, and Jas. M. Davidson, an able young lawyer, have held licenses to practice in these courts. Others were D.B. Cooper, who died when yet young; David W. Clark, who pursued the profession but a short time, but was an influential man; J. R. Chilcoat, who was the first county judge; Thomas Kercheval, now the mayor of Nashville; Ed E. Bearden, O. P. Bruce and Thomas B. Kercheval.

Hon, John M. Bright is the oldest member of the bar now living, and probably acquired the most prominence in political circles. He was born in Fayetteville about 1818, and has ever since made this his home. He is able as an attorney, and a prominent member of the Legislature of Tennessee before the war. In 1880 he retired from Congress, where he had served for several years. J. B. Lamb is one of the oldest and most successful attorneys of the county, and has been a member of the Legislature. He is the senior member of the law firm of Lamb & Tillman, of which Col. J. D. Tillman is the other member. He is a son of the Hon. Lewis Tillman, late of Bedford County. He was lieutenant-colonel (afterward colonel} of the Forty-first Regiment of Tennessee Infantry in the late war. J. H. Holman has been a member of the bar since 1866, and is widely known for his ability. J. H. Burnham is a good speaker, and was on the Hancock electoral ticket. He is now making the race for chancellor of this district. N. P. Carter is the county judge and a practicing lawyer. A. B. Woodard, the attorney-general, was reared in Fayetteville, the son of R. S. Woodard, who was a prominent man of the county. M. W. Woodard, also a son of R. S. Woodard, is a practicing attorney, and has been identified with public offices of the county. Joe G. Carrigan and G. W. Higgins are also able attorneys, and have both been in the Legislature. G. B. Boyles is an attorney at law, and now fills the office of recorder at Fayetteville. Others are Col. N. J, George, who was a lieutenant-colonel in Turney s First Tennessee; A. M. Solomon, an ex-member of the Legislature; R. L. Bright, S. W. Carmack, C. C. McKinney, F. P. Taylor, W. B. Lamb, John Routt and George H. Newman.

The sobriquet of The Banner County, so applied to Lincoln, appropriately represents its attitude matters. Hardly had the first few settlers begun to call this their home before Jackson s troops for the war of 1812 asked and received recruits from the county, among whom were Gen William Moore, who commanded a company; Charles McKinney, S. S. Buchanan, William B. McLaughlin, Frank Smith and others as many as fifteen altogether. These troops made Fayetteville their rendezvous, and upon starting upon the campaign they marched out 2,500 strong and crossed Elk River, near where the stone bridge now is. These men served throughout the war, participating in the battle of New Orleans. A patriotic response was again made to the call for troops in 1836. A full company, commanded by Capt.—Tipps, entered from Lynchburg , and another company was raised by Capt. George A. Wilson, but was not mustered into service. However, Capt. Wilson raised a spy company of about fifty men and entered the service. The following are remembered as members of this company: Augustus Steed. Lieutenant; W. H. Bright, bugleman; William Robertson, David F. Robertson, Henderson Robertson, C. B. Rodgers and Oliver Garland. These were from Fayetteville and the immediate vicinity, while many from the various parts of the county also enlisted in this company, as well as in that of Capt. Tipps. By the act organizing the county the militia of Lincoln was made the Thirty-ninth Regiment and was attached to the Fifth Brigade. For many years the militia musters were largely attended, and amusements invariably attended them.

In the spring of 1846 a company of eighty-three men, known as the Lincoln Guards, was raised at Fayetteville for the Mexican war . It was officered as follows: Captain, Pryor Buchanan; first lieutenant, A. S. Fulton; second lieutenant, John V. Moyers; third lieutenant, C. A. McDaniel; orderly sergeant, William T. Slater. The company left Fayetteville March 31, 1846, and participated in the battle of Monterey, where several members were killed.

Early in the spring of 1861, and after the fall of Fort Sumter, and the call of President Lincoln for troops from Tennessee, war was the only thing discussed in Lincoln County. Old gray haired men, devoted wives, sisters and mothers talked of war until the whole atmosphere was full of it. Children after listening to the discussions and imagining that they could almost see the blood flow were afraid to go to bed, and were often afflicted with nightmare. Little tow-headed boys were shouting the battle whoop from every cabin. Old saws, hoes, etc., were soon upon forge or held to the grindstone to make the large, ugly, ill-shaped bowie knives. Almost every man carried two of these knives which were to repel the invasion in the hand-to-hand conflict which was imagined to be approaching. Public meetings were almost daily occurrences and fiery speeches were long and loud. Men, women, and children, of all ages, sizes and colors, went out to these meetings and joined in the general enthusiasm. Even ladies fell into the ranks of the drilling companies- even the most refined and intelligent; willing to part with -sacrifice, if necessary- those most near and dear to them, were enthusiastic and materially aided in sending forth the grand array of volunteers.

When the question of separation was submitted to the people, Lincoln polled 2,892 votes for separation and not one for no separation. However, even before the State seceded companies were organized and war preparations were rapidly going on. The first companies raised were four, which composed a part of Turney s First Tennessee, and one of which was raised principally in what is now Moore County. The others were officered as follows: Company G- B. F. Ramsey, captain; John Shackelford, first lieutenant; F. G. Buchanan, second lieutenant; Thomas Wilson, third lieutenant; and John Thoer, orderly sergeant. Company K- N. C. Davis, captain; T. J. Sugg, first lieutenant; Joe Davidson, second lieutenant; J. B. Turney, third lieutenant; John W. Nelson, first sergeant. Company H- Jacob Cruse, captain; M. V. McLaughlin, first lieutenant; N. J. George, second lieutenant. These companies left Fayetteville April 29, 1861, for Winchester, where the regiment was organized. These companies were with Turney s First Tennessee Confederates from the first of the war to its close, being in the hottest parts of many of the great battles of the war.

The field officers of this regiment who were from this county were, upon organization J. H. Holman, lieutenant-colonel; D. W. Holman, major. Upon re-organization John Shackelford, lieutenant-colonel; M. V. McLaughlin, major. These officers were killed at Gaines Mill and their places filled by N. J. George, lieutenant-colonel, and F. G. Buchanan, major. Dr. C. B. McGuire was surgeon of the regiment and was afterward brigade surgeon.

While these companies were organizing and going forth to duty, others were also forthcoming. On May 14, 1861, four other companies left Fayetteville, and on the same day arrived at Camp Harris, in Franklin County, where they were mustered into the service of the State on the 17th of the same month by Colonel D. R. Smythe of Lincoln County. These companies were assigned to the Eighth Tennessee, under the command of Col. A. S. Fulton, of Lincoln County. Lincoln County was also represented in this regiment by W. Lawson Moore, lieutenant-colonel; Chris C. McKinney, adjutant; Dr. G. B. Lester, assistant surgeon; and David Tucker, chaplain. Company B. known as the Petersburg Sharp Shooters, was raised at Petersburg, with A.M. Hall as captain; Chris C. McKinney, first lieutenant; T. W. Bledsoe, second lieutenant; C. N. Allen, third lieutenant; and N. P. Koonce, orderly sergeant. Company C was officered as follows: Rane McKinney, captain; N. M. Bearden, first lieutenant; T. W. Raney, second lieutenant; A. M. Downing, third lieutenant; and R. D. Hardin, orderly sergeant. It was known as the Camargo Guards. Company G. Norris Creek Guards, was raised at Norris Creek with George W. Higgins, captain ; W. C. Griswell, first lieutenant; David Sullivan, second lieutenant; E. S. N. Bobo, third lieutenant; Joseph G. Carrigan, orderly sergeant. Company H. Was commanded by W. L. Moore until he was elected lieutenant-colonel, and was then officered as follows: W. J. Theash, captain; William Bonner, first lieutenant; T. H. Freeman, third lieutenant; G. W. Waggoner, first sergeant.

The Eighth Tennessee was one of the two regiments that made the almost unparalleled Cheat Mountain campaign, enduring those severe privations, marching through rain day and night, leaving the roads stained with blood from their feet, and almost starving for want of food. Without blankets or tents and with very little food, for eight days these troops were undaunted in their onward march and in their flight for life, but many took sick and died from exposure and fatigue. Two companies were raised in the western part of the county and constituted in the Thirty-second Regiment. One of them was known as the Millville Men: J. J. Finney, captain; W. P. A. George, first lieutenant; Jno. W. Wright, second lieutenant; Jno. P. McGuire, third lieutenant; David F. Hobbs, first sergeant. The other was the Swan Creek Guards: C. G. Tucker, captain; John Roach, first lieutenant; J. T. Pigg, second lieutenant; H. H. Tucker, third lieutenant; J. S. Finley, first sergeant. The quartermaster of this regiment was E. S. Wilson, of this county.

Then came the organization of the Forty-first Tennessee, whose colonel was Robert Farquharson, of this county, and whose lieutenant-colonel {afterward colonel} was J. D. Tillman, now of Lincoln, then of Bedford. Lincoln furnished four companies to this regiment, viz.: One {company C} commanded by Capt. J. D. Scott, whose lieutenants were B. J. Chafin, J. R. Feeney, and Jacob Anthony, and afterward commanded by Chafin and Feeney successively; one from Mulberry {company A} commanded by W. W. James whose lieutenants were L. Leftwich, Christopher Carrigher and A. D. Johnson; one (knows as Liberty Guards) commanded by J. H. George; with the following lieutenants: William Smith, T. D. Griffis and S. A. Hopkins; and one commanded by W. B. Fonville, whose lieutenants were W. S. Bearden, A. A. Woods and E. R. Bearden. These companies left Fayetteville about the last days of September, 1861, and the regiment was organized at Camp Trousdale.

The Forty-fourth Regiment of Tennessee Volunteer Infantry was organized at Camp Trousdale in November, 1861, with C. A. McDaniel, colonel, and D. J. Noblett, assistant surgeon, from this county. It also included four companies from Lincoln; one commanded by C. A. McDaniel, who, upon being elected colonel, was superseded by T. M. Bell, and he by J. E. Spencer, with the following lieutenant, Joseph Cunningham, A. B. Rhea, and J. J. Martin; one by W. A. Rhodes, with J. H. Patterson, Jacob Van Hoozer and C. K. Moody as lieutenants; one from Shelton Creek, commanded by Capt Smith, and one from Swan Creek, commanded by Capt. Stiles.

The Forty-fourth was actively engaged in some of the fierce conflicts of the war. At Shiloh forty-two per cent of those of the regiment actually in combat were killed and wounded. Afterward this regiment and the Fifty-fifth Tennessee were consolidated, still retaining the name of the former, and embracing another company from this county, which was organized in the latter part of 1861, by W. H. Moore, and embraced in the Fifty-fifth upon the organization of that regiment. Early in 1862 another company was raised by Capt. James R. Bright, with R. B. Parks, J. L. Moore and Stephen Loyd, as lieutenants, and entered an infantry regiment of Kentucky. After the battle of Shiloh the company was reorganized with W. P. Simpson, captain, and J. B. Price, T. D. Hill and G. W. Jones, lieutenants. J. L. Moore who was second lieutenant at its first organization, afterward raised another company and entered the service.

December 21, 1861, there were twenty-one companies of infantry from Lincoln County in the service. However, this number included those raised in Moore County, which was then a part of Lincoln. The company of J. L. Moore, was probably the last full company of infantry to leave the county as a company. Recruits were added to the old commands throughout 1862-64. About September, 1862, Freeman s Battery, which was a part of Hardin s Artillery, received about fifty members from Lincoln County, only one of whom was killed in the service. A great many of Forrest s escort were from this county, probably the majority of the members. Capt. Nathan Boone was captain of the escort. Other cavalry regiments received members from the county. Wheeler s First. Tennessee Cavalry was composed of some Lincoln County boys, as was the Eleventh Tennessee Cavalry and also the Fourth Tennessee Cavalry.

Including all men in the service from first to last, Lincoln County furnished nearly 5,000 soldiers. Besides the regular companies of infantry there were several who entered war in companies from adjoining counties. This was also case with artillery men and cavalry men. At all times recruits were entering the old commands.

At the organization of Capt. Higgins company of the Eighth Tennessee, the ladies of Norris Creek and vicinity presented the boys with a beautiful large flag, the presentation being made by Miss Sallie Landess in an eloquent and stirring address. On the 25th of August, 1861, a magnificent flag was presented to the Eighth Regiment by the ladies of Lincoln County, accompanied by an inspiring address from the Hon. John M. Bright. On the flag were written in large gold letters the words, Patience, Courage, Victory. Many times did the ladies send stores of provisions, containing delicacies for the sick, clothing and all kinds of hospital and camp supplies. Much of the inspiration that enabled the troops to remain in the field with sickness, danger and deprivations, came from the encouragement received from the ladies at home.

The Federals first entered Fayetteville April 9, 1862, causing a sudden suspension of business. They withdrew after about two months stay, and again occupied the town in the spring of 1863, remaining until 1865. The court house was used as a stable for the horses a part of the time, and for the protection of troops at other times. It was surrounded by a bomb proof wall about six feet high, built of brick. The whole county was almost impoverished by the foraging armies passing to and fro. Sherman s whole army, on its march from Memphis to Chattanooga, passed through Fayetteville and crossed Elk River on the stone bridge, which, affording an excellent passage over the river, caused many of the passing armies, both Federals and Confederates, to pass through here. While Fayetteville was occupied by the Federals, business was at a standstill and many depredations were committed. When requested to do anything the citizens did not wait for time to argue points. The depredations, however, were mostly committed by Brixie s band of robbers, who in the main, claimed to be Yankees. Among the most dastardly acts, which the people suffered, was the murder of Judge J. R. Chilcoat. Afterward John Massey, a Confederate soldier, who had returned home {together with two other men named Pickett and Burrow}, was brutally murdered- riddled with bullets. Some buildings were burned county records were destroyed and, of course, property was confiscated. Guerrillas did not injure the people to any great extent.

The war over, the soldiers laid down their arms to return to their avocations of life. They found their farms in a deplorable condition. Their stock was gone, fences burned, buildings going to rack or entirely destroyed. The cost of the war to Lincoln County can hardly be estimated. However, she has now almost recovered from the effects, the hard times and desperate conflicts are remembered as in the past, and all unite in one grand army for the upbuilding of the welfare of the country.

There was a differences of opinion as to the expediency of the location of the county seat where it was located. One-hundred acres of land was obtained of Ezekiel Norris, and a town of 128 lots was platted. On September 5 and 6, a sale of lots was made, the following, among others, being purchasers: Potter & Wilson, 11; Eleanor Buchanan, 1; John Buchanan, 2; Charles Porter, 2; Francis Ross, 1; Robert Ramsey, 1; Joseph Sumner, 2; John Kelly, 2; William Whitaker, 2; Hugh Blake, 2; Joseph Commons, 2; Walter Kinnard, 2; Rice M. Garner, 2; Peter Looney, 1; Joseph Jenkens, 2; Joseph McMillan, 1; James Bright, 2; John Angel, 1; James Cochran, 1; Stephen Chinnault, 1; Jacob Van Zand, 1; The records in the register s office are not all preserved, hence, the names of all the first purchasers can not be obtained.

Among the earliest merchants were Francis Porterfield, Robert Buchanan, Robert H. McEwen, and Robert H. Dickson, all of whom were successful. Mr. Dickson also ran a tan-yard and saddlery. Ephraim Parham was the first man to obtain tavern license; John P. McConnell and Vance Greer also kept taverns in Fayetteville very early. Between 1820 and 1830 existed the following firms: General merchants–Buchanan & Porterfield. R. & W. Dickson. Mason & McEwen, Alex R. Kerr & Co., A. A. Kincannon, Akin, Bagley & Co., McEwen & Gilleland, Daniel Dwyer, H. S. Morgan, William F. Mason & Co., Thompson & Wardaw, John Thompson, Dickson & Wallace, J. H. Wallace, William Akin & Co. Grocers–Parks & Moyers, and J. G. Selph & Co. Physicians– J. B. Sanders, G. & R. Martin, William Bonner, A. C. Gillespie, Charles & J. V. McKinney, J. J. Todd. C. J. Smith and R. Stone. Besides these, James Crawford had a saw-mill, gristmill and distillery; S. A. Pugh ran a saddlery and Barclay & Ross a furniture store; E. M. Ringo was a watch-maker, Jacob Moyers a coppersmith, I. H. Wallace a shoe-maker, Weigart & Bryant and H. Worsham, tailors. C. Wilson had a bookbindery. An inn was kept by W. H. Talbot. Wool cards were run by Frost & Co., and by Johnson & Garner.

In December, 1823, Robert Dickson, Esq., was elected mayor. Vance Greer, R. H. McEwen, Chas. McKinney, Elliott Hickman, Joseph Commons and J. P. McConnell were elected aldermen; Wm. F. Mason, recorder; Vance Greer, treasurer, and Wm. Timmins, constable. In the thirties, the most prominent general merchants were Wm. Dye & Son. Napoleon Garner, Gilliland & Roseborough, Gilliland, Smith & Co., Martin & Murphy, and A. C. McEwen & Co. The physicians were J. B. Chas. McKinney, Wm. & M. C. Bonner, and Elliott Hickman. In the forties general merchandising was carried on by H. & B. Douglas, A. T. Nicks, John Goodrich, Jno. A. McPhail, S. Hart & Co. R. H. C. Bagley. Fulghum & Short, J. S. & J. T. Webb, Morgan & Neil, A. B. Shull, H. C. Holman & Bro., W. W. Petty, Southworth & Co., D. M. Tucker, T. C. Goodrich, W. H. Webb, Webb & Thompson, George F. Smith, B. L. Russell, Southworth, Morgan & Neil and Scott & Gray. Rane McKinney and Deimer & Hampton were druggists. Webb & Smith had a book store.

In the fifties, Wright & Trantham, T. C. Goodrich, Wright & Ransom, Thomson & Buchanan, Goodrich, Buchanan & Beavers, W. D.& S. M. Ewing and Russell & Tucker were general merchants. Fletcher & Stogner were produce dealers. Groceries were kept by all the general merchants. Scott & Gray were merchants tailors and furnishers. The first carriage manufactory ever established was by Raboteau, Hobbs, & Walker. C. S. Wilson kept a livery stable and Chilcoat & Edmonson a tavern. Diemer & Hampton were druggists.

In the sixties after the halt caused by the war had place to business, general merchandising was carried on by Wright & Trantham, Newman & McLaughlin, J. C. & J. F. Goodrich, Murray & Morgan, P. T. Murray, Morgan Bros., F. W. Brown & Co. Druggist were Diemer & Miles and Smith & Blake. Grocers were Foster & Co., and Woods & Woodard. Moyers & Wilson were dealers in furniture. In the seventies business assumed wider proportions. Morgan Bros., P. T. Murray, Wright & Wright, J. C. Goodrich. T. J. Gray Co. , Smith & Miles, J. E. Caldwell, Nassauer & Hipsh, Hart & Fisher and F. W. Brown did a general mercantile trade. B. J. Chafin & Co., Bagley Bros., Bryson & Lauderdale, J. W. Barnett & Co., J. C. Goodrich, R. L. Gains & Co., W. H. Webb and W. R. Smith dealt in groceries. J. B. Hill, who had been in business for many years, and S. Heymann were jewelers. E. C. McLaughlin, J. S. Alexander and C. S. Wilson ran liveries. S. W. Brown & Co., Blake & McPhail and R. H. Ogilvie were hardware merchants. Douthet Bros. and Gray, Hatcher & Waddle were dealers in boots and shoes. J. T. Medearis ran a tan-yard.

The present business is as follows: General merchants–Wright & Wright. Nassauer & Hipsh, Kilpatrick & Co., Morgan Bros., J. A. Murray & Co., J. A. Lumpkin, J. W. Naylor & Sons, Whitaker & DeFord and T. C. Goodrich & Co. Groceries– J. C. Goodrich, Lauderdale & Rowell B. J. Chafin, Bagley Bros., E. E. Feeney, Stonebraker & Co., Bryson & Francis, J. L. McWhirter, W. K. Woodard, Blake & Rawls, Z. P. Gotcher, J. A. Bunn & Son, H. Nevill and J. W. Bennett. Hardware–Lamb & Robertson and Benedict & Warren. Drugs–W. A. Gill & Co. Smith & Miles, W. W. Christian and C. A. Diemer & Son. Jewelers–J. B. Hill, S. Heymann and A. D. Ruth. Bookstore–R.S. Bradshaw. Saloons–W. W. Alexander & Co., Eaton & Evans, Alexander & Copeland, B. J. Chafin and J. L. McWhirter. Livery stables–C. S. & R. M. Wilson and J. S. Alexander. Physicians–W. C. Bright, C.A. Diemer, C.B. McGuire, R. E. Christian and W. W. Christian. Grain merchants– Holman & Woods and Bruce & Cowen. General produce– C. Bonds and Caldwell & Scott. Furniture and undertaking– J. B. Wilson and J. A. Formwalt. The leading hotel is the Petty House. Others are kept by Sanford Prosser, S. G. McElroy, Mrs. A. Johnson, and T. S. King has a restaurant. Bearden & Thomas have a flouring-mill, J. L. Waggoner a planing-mill, and L. Peach runs a stone, saw and marble works. J. L. Vaughn manufactures carriages and buggies.

The first newspaper in Fayetteville was the Fayetteville Correspondent, edited and published by David Augustine Hays; only a few numbers were issued. The Village Messenger was then published from March 11, 1823 to July 18, 1828, by Ebenezer Hill. In 1829 the Western Cabinet was commenced by Ebenezer Hill and John H. Laird. Mr. Hill published one volume of Haywood s reports in his office. He published Hill s Almanac for a great many years, making it a part of the standard literature of southern Tennessee and northen Alabama. As early as 1833 the Independent Yeoman was published by Joe B. Hill, afterward by Joe B. & E. Hill. Then it was purchased by W. L. & A. H. Berry, and published as the Lincoln Journal, from 1840 to 1848, at which time C. A. French, became the editor ans publisher, continuing it until the war. In 1840 a Whig paper, the Signal, was started and issued but a few numbers. After the war the Lincoln County News was started by Ebenezer Hill, Jr., and continued by W. P. Tolley for some years. The Fayetteville Express was established in 1873 by S. H. McCord, was afterward published by McCord & Lloyd, and is now by Lloyd & Blake. The Fayetteville Observer was established in 1850, stood the war stroke, and continues to be a thriving paper, edited and published by N. O. Wallace.

The Lincoln Savings Bank was established in 1870 with a capital of $100.000, did a seemingly good business, but suspended in 1884, jarring the financial status of the whole county considerably. The First National Bank was organized in June, 1873, with a capital stock of $60.000. Its first president was Hon. George W. Jones. Its present president is Dr. C. B. McGuire; its cashier, J. R. Feeney.

As early as the year 1824 a Masonic Lodge was established but existed only a few years. Jackson Lodge, No. 68, F. & A. M. Was chartered October 9, 1828, and now has a membership of over 40. Calhoun Lodge, No. 26, I. O. O. F., was chartered April 6, 1846, and now has nearly 30 members. Fayetteville Lodge, No. 181, K. Of H., was established April 1, 1875, and has a membership at present of nearly 65. Protection Lodge, No. 8. A. O. U. W., began its existence from charter dated May 2, 1877. Jewel Lodge. No. 59, K. & L. Of H. Was established April 1, 1879, and has about 60 members. There are five church edifices in the town, owned respectively by the Cumberland Presbyterians, Presbyterians, Methodist Episcopal Church South, Christians and the Protestant Episcopalians. The Missionary Baptists have an organization but no building. There are four churches for the colored people of the following denominations: African Methodist Episcopal, Primitive Baptist, Missionary Baptist and the Cumberland Presbyterian.

About 1815 George L. Leonard settled where Petersburg now is and cleared up the land there. He put up a cotton-gin, and afterward began the first mercantile trade of the place by selling small articles of merchandise, such as thread, etc. Porterfield & Akin established a small store in 1828, and Wm. DeWoody conducted their business. In 1833 they were superseded by Rowlett & Hill, and soon others followed. Holman & Loyd, Jones & Yowell, Rives & Hayes and Stone & Reese were merchants before 1840 and all did a large business. Then came a lull in the business tide of Petersburg instil the war; however, Metcalfe & Son did a good business during this time, as also did Wynus, Blake & Co., Smith, Blake & Co. And Fonville & Bledsoe. Since the war the principal merchants have been W. J. Hamilton, P. B. Marsh & Son, Fogleman & Cummings and Hall & Hamilton, together with the present business firms. General merchants– G. A. Jarvis, Cummings & Bledsoe and B. S. Popflanus, grocers–E.M. Crawford and L. L. Rebman; W. R. Hanaway, undertaker and furniture dealer; Rives & Christopher, saddlers and harness-makers; saloons–J. W. King & Co., F. S. Cummings & Co. And Pack & Byrd; blacksmiths–Alex Lancaster and George Morrison. J. C. Montgomery has a large frame flouring-mill, and Dwiggins & Co. Are erecting a fine brick mill. Gillespie Bros. Do a livery business.

The secret societies are Unity Lodge, No. 84 I. O. O. F., which has a membership of twenty; Petersburg Lodge, No. 123, was organized in 1846, and for many years was very strong, but now has only a weak organization; Petersburg Lodge, No. 607, K. Of H., has a membership of thirteen, and was organized in 1877. Petersburg has a good school, and five churches of the following denominations: Methodist Episcopal South, Presbyterian Cumberland Presbyterian, Missionary Baptist and Christian. It is a chartered town, but by some the charter is considered a burden. It is situated on the Duck River Valley Railroad, twelve miles from Fayetteville.

Mulberry began to exist as a village about 1840. Among the merchants that have transacted business there were Booker Shapard, Drury Conley, Abner Brady, R. N. Whitaker, W. W. James & Co., Hoots & Logan and J. & W. H. Reese, previous to the war. Since the resumption of business after the war have been W. W. James & Co., W. L. Shofner, R. A. & J. H. Reese, Whitaker & Yates, E. S. Terry and J. G. Reese, the last two of whom are now in business. Several family groceries, etc., have existed from time to time. The Mulberry Academy began about 1830, and has become a noted school. There was once a male and female academy, but it is now known as the Mulberry Male and Female Academy. There in one Missionary Baptist Church, one Cumberland Presbyterian Church, one Methodist Episcopal Church South and one Christian Church. Physicians are G. W. Jones, A. R. Shadden and S. Dance. Mulberry Lodge, No. 404. F. & A. M., was organized in 1870, and is in a prosperous condition. It had twelve charter members. Mulberry Lodge, No. 148, was chartered in 1871 and has only a very weak organization. The Good Templars have a lodge of about ninety members. There are two good mills near by. In the village are two blacksmith shops, two wood-work shops and a cabinet-maker and undertaker.

Boonshill was one of the first postoffices established in the county. Previous to the war Wood & Daniel, Hudson & Horton and Sumner & Ewing were merchants there. Since the war have been Buchanan & White, E. S. Wilson & Co., Swinebroad & Co., Templeton & Son and H. D. Smith, the present merchants. Physicians have been Dr. John Wood, Dr. Dunlap, Dr. Porter, Dr. Parks and Dr. Sumner. Stephen Hightown first settled where Millville now is. Stone & Baird were the first merchants; others were Frank McLane, Sam Isaacs, Thomas McLaurine, McGuin & Son, McGuire & Franklin, Ezell & Hudspeth. Since the war have been Ezell & McGuire, F. L. Ezell, Ally Smith and Finney & Son. Dr. C. B. McGuire practiced medicine there from 1847 to 1859; others have been Dr. M. P. Forehand and Dr. G. W. McGuire.

Dellrose was first known as Roosterville. Hog Bruce was the founder and first merchant. It has only been a village since 1867. D. C. Sherrill & Co. Are now doing business there. These is a good school. Dr. B. S. Stone is the physician of the place. Molino postoffice was established in 1849, by D. C. Hall, the first postmaster and merchant. Since the war, merchants have been Robert Stewart, James W. Rawls, Joe Montgomery and J. H. Dale & Co. J. W. Rawls was a blacksmith, and John Hays the present one. It has a Missionary Baptist Church there, and is located in a good locality. Howell is a small station on the narrow-gauge railroad, seven miles from Fayetteville. It was first known as Renfroe Station. Harris Bros, and George Bros, are merchants. It has a good railroad depot and a Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Oak Hill is a village nine miles north of Fayetteville. The postoffice is Norris Creek. H. L. Cole and James Bell are merchants. It has a good school, a Cumberland Presbyterian Church and a Missionary Baptist Church. There is also a Masonic lodge of thirty-eight members-Mount Hebron, No. 344, and a weak lodge I. O. O. F.- Oak Hill, No. 39. A pike connects Oak Hill with Fayetteville. Stonesborough is a chartered town and consist of a distillery owned by Stone & Thomas, and a store and saloon owned by Stone & Patterson. W. J. Landers has a tan-yard between this place and Oak Hill. Chestnut Ridge is also in the north part of the county. J. N. Stallings is a merchant. James Freeman a blacksmith, and Wash. Gilbert a wagon-maker. Chestnut Ridge Lodge No. 499, F. & A. M., has about fifteen members, and Chestnut Ridge Lodge, No. 157, I. O. O. F., has nearly fifty members. There is a church near by.

Booneville, received its name from Capt. Nathan Boone. Musgraves and Shofner, and J. E. Reese are merchants. It is about three miles from Mulberry Village. Blanche was first known by postoffice as Pleasant Plains. Samuel Parker was the first postmaster, and W. W. Petty the first merchant in 1849. It began to assume the proportions of a village after the war, and is now a pleasant and thriving little town. Dr. J. C. Coasts is the merchant and physician. There is located here Pleasant Plains Lodge, No. 305, F. & A. M. , and a church. There are several county stores near by.

Smithland was known as George s Store until 1884. At first the postoffice was on the north side of Elk River, having been established about 1840. It was moved to Arnold s grocery about 1850, and there Smithland has been built. This was a notorious fighting place. Taylor & McLaughlin and R. Smith are the present merchants. An I. O. O. F. Lodge, Sereno No. 195, is located at Smithland.

Camargo was established in 1849 and was a flourishing village prior to the war. John Caughran was the first merchant. Others have been Nicks & Webb, J. N. & W. A. Stallings, Wm. Ashworth, Samuel Dehaven and J. A. Corn.

Lincoln is settled mainly by northern people who went to that place after the war. J. F. Montgomery, J. R. McCown, J. E. Ramsey and J. C. McClellan have been merchants there. In 1887 ____ Crosby started a small spinning Factory at Oregon. In 1839 it was bought by Henry Warren, was afterward operated by H. & T. K. Warren, and is now operated by Henry Warren & Son. This factory has about 1,000 spindles, a cotton-gin and a flouring and grist-mill attached, being an investment of about $20,000 capital. Oregon is three and once-half miles from Flintville, its shipping point. It has a Cumberland Presbyterian Church.

Elora was formerly known as Baxter Station, and only dates its beginning since the building of the Fayetteville & Decherd Branch Railroad. It is in the southeast corner of one now existing from Fayetteville to Decherd. J. B. Hamilton and W. M. Parker & Co. Are the merchants.

Flintville, twelve miles from Fayetteville, on the Nashville & Chattanooga Railroad, has sprung into existence since the building of that road. The first merchants were Cunningham & Myrick; J. A. Grills was the first blacksmith; Peter Cunningham put a grist-mill, and then he and L. P. Myrick engaged in distilling. The town was all destroyed by the Federals the time of the war. Since the war merchandising has been carried on by D. M. & J. C. Mimms & Knowles, D. M. Mimms, Kilpatrick & Co., Merrit & Golden (saloon), Chas. Kelley, D. M. & W. G. Mimms, Richard Routt, A. Smith, Peter Cunningham, Brady & Hall, Henry Warren & Son, and Chick & Eslick. J. W. Cooper & J. J. Coston have been blacksmiths and wagon-makers, and Joseph Richardson, a saddler; E. J. Cambron is a carriage and cabinet-maker; Tolley, Eaton and Sims have run distilleries, and Copeland & Co. Now have a large distillery. They also have a good mill. John Young also has a mill. Surprise Lodge, No. 153, I. O. O. F., is located there with sixteen members. There are four church organizations at Flintville.

Kelso s first merchant was A. S. Fulton. Subsequent merchants have been hill Southworth, D. M. Eslick and Jenkens McKinney. Present merchants are J. A. Taylor, G. D. Wicks and M. S. Eslick. Kelso Lodge, No. 490, F. & A. M., and Kelso Lodge No. 172, I. O. O. F., are located there, and also a Cumberland Presbyterian Church is at Kelso.

The attention of the early pioneers was required by almost everything before it was given to means of educating the children. This most important subject was not long entirely neglected, for those who had sufficient education taught short terms of school at the different private residences early in the teens. After a time, by agreement, the settlers would meet to build a schoolhouse in the different localities. These buildings were of logs, with a door in one end and a fire-place in the other, not all of them had fire-places, and those that them generally allowed the escape of the smoke through a large hole in the roof, there being no chimneys to them. This was the condition of the schoolhouses even through the twenties. The seats were made of poles split open, supported on legs about three feet long, and with the flat side up. Light was admitted through an aperture made by leaving out one log along the sides of the building. A bench or plank for writing was supported on pins driven in the log just beneath the window. The roofs of these primitive institutions of learning were of boards held to their place by weight poles. Each pupil took whatever book he could find. Some studied the Life of Washington, others the Life of Marion, and a few would take a Clarion {the paper then published at Nashville} to school, and learn from that. These were pay-schools, the tuition being from 75 cents to $1 per pupil for one month. Various were the rules and requirements of these schools. Each teacher had new rules. An invariable custom was to make the teacher treat or take a duckin on Christmas and at the close of school. If a mischievous boy passing the schoolhouse desired to be chased at a lively rate it was only necessary for him to yell out school butter, when the teacher would say to his pupils: Take him in, boys. Reading and writing were the main branches taught, and arithmetic was sometimes taught. Pupils recited one at a time. They were by most teachers allowed to seek the out-door, pure atmosphere in fair weather to prepare their lessons. Prior to 1820 {probably as early as 1815} the Fayette Academy was established. This was a county academy, and derived its support from a State fund. The building became untenable about 1854, and the new building just then erected by the Cumberland Presbyterian Church was to be used by Milton College, which did not materialize, was purchased, and Fayette Academy continued for some years, and then sold the building to the county school commissioners.

The Fayetteville Female Collegiate Institute began its existence almost as early as the Fayetteville Academy. The land was donated by James Bright. This institution is under the control of a company and board of trustees. The building first used was torn down in 1884 to give place to the present splendid brick building. The enrollment for the past year was about 220 pupils. Although it, by name, is known as a female school, both sexes are admitted.

The Mulberry Female Academy was established in 1830 and existed as such until 1869, when it was consolidated with the Mulberry Male Academy, and since the institution thus formed, has prospered under the name of the Mulberry Male and Female Academy. The Mulberry Male Academy was formed and put in working order in 1844.

Viney Grove Academy was founded by the Rev. Henry Bryson and conducted with great success by him for many years. This once ranked with the standard educational institutions of the South, but it has died away. It was five miles west of Fayetteville. Boonshill Academy has existed since before the war. The building is a nice brick house, and good schools are taught there.

The Petersburg Masonic Academy was founded by that fraternity in 1858 and is taught in the lowest story of the brick Masonic Hall at Petersburg. Oak Hill Institute flourished from 1865 to 1880 with considerable success. The building is frame. Nixon Springs Academy, near Smithland, was a good institution from 1875 to 1880. Hopewell Academy at Lincoln was endowed by the United Presbyterian Church and is a well-conducted school. Greenwood Academy, between Mulberry and Booneville, was established in the fifties, and has a brick building. Cane Creek Academy, at Howell, also has a brick building and is comparatively a new institution.

The public school of Lincoln County are gaining is favor, but are yet in their infancy. There are eighty-two public school in the county for white, and thirty-one for colored people. There are but eighty-four public school buildings, but school is taught in other buildings. The buildings are as follows: Stone and brick, 3; frame, 47; log, 34; total, 84. Value of school buildings is estimated at $23,460. And the value of apparatus, etc., at $1,570. The scholastic population of the county for this year is 9,912, and the amount of school fund, at $1.75, per capita, is $17.346.

As in all new countries, the first settlers of this section were more accustomed to the sound of the hunting horn and chasing hound than to pulpit oratory on the Sabbath. However, many good Christian people were among the first pioneers, and they established Scripture readings, and even preached sermons at the different private residences. Early services were held in the court house, and not unfrequently did people assemble at some designated place in the woods to hear a sermon.

In 1811 the earthquake shock which was so sensible felt here was by many regarded as the approach of the Last Great Day, and consequently many accessions to the Christian flock were made. For a considerable time big meetings were held, and a great revival was experienced, but after a time the lull in the tide came, the spirit of the meetings died down. Yet there was a good work being done by some of the good Christian people. As early as 1808 a church was organized at the Forks of Mulberry, and it is a Primitive Baptist organization. Hardy Holman was the first pastor. In about 1812 the Shiloh congregation was organized by the same denomination. Other churches of this {the Primitive or old-school Baptist} denomination, are Concord, which was organized prior to 1820; Mount Olivet, probably organized in the twenties; New Hope, a small congregation, but an old one; Kelly Creek, which began existence in the forties. Pleasant Grove; Rocky Point; Bethel; and Buckeye, which was organized as late as 1866 with a membership of nineteen and now has 165 members. Nearly all of these churches are in a good condition and prospering.

In the fall of 1812 the Presbyterian Church of Fayetteville was organized with the Rev. John Gillespie as pastor. The first elders were David Turner, Andrew Hannah, Francis Patton, John Armstrong and Ebenezer McEwen. Private members were Peggy Hannah, Mrs. Armstrong, Mrs. Patton, Mrs. Turner, Peggie Gillespie, Mary McEwen, Elizabeth Ferguson, John B. Alexander and Barbara Alexander. Subsequent pastors of this church have been John R. Bain, James McLinn, Amzi Bradshaw, E. McMillan, M. M. Marshall, W. C. Dunlap, D.D., George Hall, A. D. McClure, J. H. Bryson, W. H. Groves and R. M. DuBose. The present membership is 105. First worship was in the court house; afterward an edifice was built, which was destroyed by a storm in 1851, and then the present one was erected. Other Presbyterian Churches of the county are: Unity, eight miles from Fayetteville, organized about 1829, and now having a membership of about forty; Petersburg, organized May 5, 186,. And now having about forty members; Swan Creek , organized as early as 1830, now having a membership of fifty; and Young s Chapel, with a membership of twenty-five, and having existed only since 1870. One other church, by the name of Old Unity, once existed, but is now extinct.

Bethel Church of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian denomination was organized 1830 by Rev. H. Bryson, who continued as its pastor until his death in 1874, and was superseded by Rev. A. S. Sloan, the present pastor. There are three other churches in the county of that denomination known as the New Hope, Prosperity and Pleasant Plains.

Early in 1829 a camp-meeting was held near Fayetteville by distant workers in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Great success blessed this meeting and an organization of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church of Fayetteville was accomplished the same year. Rev. S. M. Cowan was the first pastor, continuing many years, and under him the church multiplied in numbers and strengthened in good work. Subsequent ministers have been Herschel S. Porter, W. D. Chaddick, D. D. , Stokely Chaddick, S. M. Cowen, again M. B. DeWitt, ____McElree, Nat Powers, C. P. Duvall, ____ McDonald and J. S. Weaver. Among the first members were Benjamin Clements and wife, William Norris and wife, Benjamin Wear and wife, S. O. Griffs and wife, George Stonebraker and wife, Jacob Stonebraker and wife and Dr. Charles McKinney and wife.

Cane Creek Cumberland Presbyterian Church was organized in 1817 by Rev. R. Donel, and now has 138 members. J. B. Tiger has been its pastor for twenty-five years, and in its seventy years of existence the church has never been without a pastor, although but five men have served as pastors. There are thirteen other Cumberland Presbyterian Churches in the county, viz.: Mulberry, with a membership of about 50; Mount Zion, organized by Rev. D. Tucker about eight years ago; Hebron, an old church with about 125 members; New Unity, with 100 members; Petersburg, with about 70 members; New Salem, and old church, with a membership of about 75; Pisgah, organized about 1856, and now having about 40 members; Liberty, organized about 1878, present membership about 50; Sulphur Spring, with 75 members, built and supported by Henry Warren for his factory hands; Moore s Chapel, a young congregation of about 100; Elkton, a small congregation; Flintville, a new congregation with a small membership; and New Lebanon, about twelve years old and having a large membership.

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Fayetteville was organized prior to 1829. Rev. Joshua Kilpatrick was its pastor that year. Present membership is 162. The present church building was erected about 1846. The other Methodist Episcopal Churches South and their approximate memberships are follows: Shady Grove, 100; Lloyd s Chapel, 75; Providence, Beech Grove, Union and Boonville, 331; Petersburg, __; Macedonia, Hermon, Flintville and Liberty, 350; Medium and Moore Chapel, 263; Mulberry, 90; Shiloh, 100; Dellrose, __; Blanche, Smith s Chapel, Shiloh and Ebenezer, __; and New Bethel, a new organization. This denominations is in a prosperous condition.

The Christians have nine organizations. They are as follows: Fayetteville, which was organized in 1865 and now has a membership of about 75; Gun Spring, Philadelphia, Friendship, Chestnut Ridge, Mulberry, Antioch, one on Lane s Branch, and one at McAlister s chair factory.

The Hard Shell Baptist have small congregations–Mount Carmel and Sulphur Springs.

The Protestant Episcopal Church of Fayetteville is the only one of that denomination in the county. It was organized in 1882 and in 1883 was built the elegant little stone edifice which is used for worship.

The first organization of the United Presbyterian Church in Tennessee was Lebanon Church in this county. It was organized September 15, 1865, by Rev. A. S. Montgomery. The church building cost about $2,000 and the present membership is 145. Other organizations of that name are Hopewell and Pisgah.

The Missionary Baptists also have a number of congregations in the county. They have an organization at Fayetteville, but no church house.


A photo from the past…

This photo was taken in 1920. It was a family gathering to celebrate the birthday of Jim Mullins who was born 1845 in Lincoln County, Tennessee. His home was located in the community of Delrosa or Dellrose in Lincoln County.

Photo of the 75th birthday gathering to celebrate Jim Mullins birthday.


Conundrum…

that is what the brick walls in my Murray, Peebles, Gregory, Casey, and other family lines are even to this date. I was heartened this week by finding out about one of my Peebles family ancestors. It was staring me right in the face for several years, but I just did not connect the dots.

In past years I have lived where my Manus, Casey, and Peebles line, or factions of them, have lived. The most recent discovery was Sarah Elizabeth Reesanna Peebles. She was the youngest known daughter of my great-great-great-grandfather on my mother’s side, John M Peebles. Even with DNA testing and verifying that our John M Peebles and descendants were the offspring of Captain David Peebles and Elspet Mackie McKee Peebles there remains a brick wall.

Captain David Peebles was the progenitor of our line of Peebles in America. He was born in Peebles-shire  Scotland. Much to my chagrin, however, I have not connected a father to our John M Peebles, although he is believed to be Robert Peebles born circa 1750. DNA testing has verified that we are related to John Pinckney Peebles, Lewis Peebles, Jesse Peebles, Thomas H Peebles, Thomas Washington Peebles and his family from Mooresville in Limestone County, Alabama. We are also related to the Peebles line in Columbia, Tennessee.

Needless to say I was shocked to find Sarah Elizabeth Reesanna Peebles lived almost within walking distance of me when I lived in the Monrovia community, in Madison County. And she is buried at Fowlkes Cemetery on Capshaw Road in Monrovia. Also buried at Fowlkes Cemetery in Monrovia are: William Oliver Peoples Peebles born  24 Jul 1853 in Marion County, Alabama and died  24 Oct 1935 in Monrovia in Madison County, Alabama. He also had daughters who were buried in Fowlkes Cemetery in Monrovia, Madison County, Alabama. They were:  Evie Drucilla People  Holman 1895 – 1966; Velma Nettie Peoples 1896 – 1935; Exie Idora Meris Peoples Daniel 1899 – 1990.

William Oliver Peeples was the son of John Pinckney Peebles. John Pinckney Peebles was the son of Isham, who himself was the son of the elder Isham. And Isham the elder was the son of William (of Pitt) Peebles of North Carolina. The surname is variously spelled Peebles, Peeples, Peoples and possibly other variants. The surname that was the correct name for our forefathers was Peebles, towit Captain David Peebles. I think I feel very close to finding the clue to our John M Peebles’ parents; these are all proven lines though DNA, now just to connect the dots.

He and Sarah Elizabeth Shirley, 1861 – 1948,  had the following known children in addition to the ones listed above as buried in Fowlkes Cemetery: Martha Jerrity Peoples born 1882, John William Pinckney Peoples 1884 – 1976, Hassie Mary Lou Peoples 1886 – 1977, Arthur Clanton Peoples born 1889,  Lillie B Peoples 1891 – 1962, Evie Drucilla Peoples 1895 – 1966, Velma Nettie Peoples 1896 – 1935, Exie Idora Merdis Peoples 1899 – 1990, Bertha Elsie Irene Peoples 1902 – 1977.

Children buried in other cemeteries in Madison County, Alabama include: Sallie Sillie B Peoples and it appears that she died at the age of 102; Martha Jerrity Peoples Brown whose death date is not known but is likely buried in Marion County, Alabama; John William Pinckney Peoples 09 Nov 1884 in Lamar County, Alabama and died  04 May 1976 in Toney, Madison County, Alabama; Hassie Mary Lou Peoples Wisham born 27 Oct 1886 in Pelham, Shelby County, Alabama and died 08 Sep 1977 in Torrance, Los Angeles, California; Arthur Clanton Peoples born 18 Jun 1889 in Pikeville, Marion County, Alabama and likely died there; Lillie B Peoples Seymour born 28 Dec 1891 in Alabama and died 11 Mar 1962in either Flint, Morgan County, Alabama or Madison County, Alabama; and Bertha Elsie Irene Peoples Seymour, who may have also married a Hallmark. She was born  16 Jul 1902 in Tupelo, Mississippi (possibly) and died 12 Mar 1977 in Huntsville, Madison County, Alabama.

Now the question begs to be answered why does Sarah Elizabeth Reesanna Peoples live in the same community as William Oliver Peoples? All the others spell their surname as Peebles, but not Sarah, or whoever documents her in records. That is a puzzle yet today. She was born in Giles County, Tennessee to John M Peebles and Elizabeth Octavia Laughlin McLaughlan. John M and Elizabeth Octavia were married in 1833 in Limestone County, Alabama as they lived just over the state line. Sarah Elizabeth Reesanna Peoples appears to never have married; or at least no record has been found as of yet. Her children bear the surname of Peoples, which is her maiden name. John M Peebles and Elizabeth Octavia Laughlin Peebles, 1813 – 1870, had the following known children: Emeline H Peebles Sylvester  born 1836; Anna Menefee Peebles born 1838; Katherine E Peebles born 1839; Priscilla Laughlin Peebles Lee 1840 – 1913; George Henry Peebles, Grandpa Dick, 1842 – 1928; William M Peebles 1842 – 1891; Mary Peebles born 1846; Wynona Satoka Toke or Nona Peebles Woodard 1859 – 1916; Sarah Elizabeth Reesanna Peebles Peoples 1861 – 1948; and Margaret Maggie Peebles 1870.

Some researchers believe that a Pleasant Mullins was the father of her children; but which Pleasant Mullins remains a mystery. And as of yet no marriage record has been found; but that is not at all unusual. Her known children are: James Franklin Pete Peoples 1873 – 1953 and Ella Birdie Peoples who first married a Malone and then a Beard, 1877-1960. James Franklin Peoples was sometimes referred to as Pete and sometimes referred to as Frank.

Ella Birdie Peoples Beard is buried at Maple Hill Cemetery in Huntsville, Madison County, Alabama. The photos below are courtesy of Jim Bauman and are posted on Find-A-Grave on their respective memorial pages.

Birth: Dec. 2, 1877
Lincoln County
Tennessee, USA
Death: Oct. 18, 1960
Huntsville
Madison County
Alabama, USA

Daughter of Pleasant Mullins and Sarah Elizabeth (Sally)Peoples.Wife of William Thomas Malone,mother of Franklin Malone and Minnie Odell Malone Beard of this marriage. Wife of Benjamin Franklin Beard, mother of John Wesley Beard, Florence Beard Perry, William James Belton Beard, Beatrice Beard McBride, Eleanor Beard Taylor. Grandmother of Roy Belton Beard (Jim T.Bauman) and many others.

Jim T Bauman’s bio on Find-A-Grave is heartbreaking and heartwarming. It is reposted here: Jim T. Bauman (Roy Eli Belton Beard-birth name) I ,along with two older brothers, was taken away from our family during the middle of the depression years 1935 and were separated from one another.I was adopted at two or so years old. And was told only that I was adopted, but nothing more. When my adoptive Dad passed away in 1982, I learned from papers left by him for me who my biological family is.Found my oldest brother after a sixteen year search.It had been sixty five years that we had been apart. One of our first leads was through cemetery records where we locate my grandfather. Family means so much.That is why my wife Bonnie and I are trying to enter everyone that we can so anyone searching may find an ancestor that might be a lead to help them find their family also.

 


Obituaries are useful tools…

in family history research. They can often provide information that is found in no other place. Wayne County, Tennessee just above Lauderdale County in Alabama had many residents that were connected to the Shoals area residents by blood and marriage. Below are some obituaries found in books or bibles of relatives of which some had connections to Lauderdale County and the Shoals area.

Names familiar to the residents of the Shoals area include: David Clay Whitten; John W Stribling, Jr; J R Butler; Sallie Butler; M F Butler; Jasper Randolph “Jap” Linville the father of Osbie Linville and Lillie Linville his mother;  Dewey Clyde Barkley; Reba Earline Brewer; John Thomas Cybert; Annie Downing; Odie Hayes Bevis Gullick; Ethel Holt; Oliver Hugh Holt;  Richard Harvey Wilson who was owner of Wilson Food Mart; John F O (Lando) Townsend; Minnie Wright Roberson; Lennie Whitten; Mattie Brewer McCorkle; Roxie Viola Balentine; Sarah O Stooksberry who is tied to the Stooksberrys of Lauderdale County; Terry Reece; and Joe Pat Roberts.

This is a repost from the TnUSgenweb page:

All notes in brackets [ ] are those of the page editor.


David C. Whitten, Jr.
submitted by
Mrs. Jo Anne Norwood
Obituary pasted to the
fly pages of the David Clay
Whitten Bible. Publication not given.
David C. Whitten, Jr., my youngest brother, was born in Wayne county, Tenn. if I am not mistaken, March 8, 1864, and died there, May 21, 1879. Surely the truth of the expression “Death loves a shining mark,” was seen in his case. He was converted at nine years of age, and immediately joined the Methodist Church. His life was short, but a happy one. He was always a good child, and after his profession of religion he was indeed a model boy. He was obedient to his parents — did that they bade him with as much cheerfulness as any one could. Their wish was his pleasure. His sickness was of short duration, and he died an easy death. He was very judicious in the selection of his companions, it being a maxim of his, that it is better to keep good company, or else keep none. Few boys of his age ever had more friends among both the aged and the young, for he won all hearts to him. His temper was always even — nothing seemed to fret or worry him, for his religion enabled him to walk uprightly before his God. His history may be summed up in few words. As a son, he was dutiful; as a brother, good and kind; as a student, attentive to his studies; as a playmate, gently and living; as a boy, a model; and as a Christian, pious and devoted to the Church. A letter from his father, bearing date of the day he died, says: “My son, David, your youngest, sweet little brother, died this morning. To me it is the saddest day of my life. I feel that my staff and stay for my declining years is broke. The family takes his death very hard. He died easily and in a few minutes. He was the most patient person in sickness I ever saw; complained of nothing but pain; took everything given him kindly … It is common for people to say, when they lose a child, “That was the best one.” I can say, from the depth of my heart, he was the sweetest-spirited child I have reared. My wish was his will. He rarely fretted — was nearly always in a good humor, and was never too tired to wait on me. He was strictly pious. I never knew of his doing an immoral deed in all his life. His ma said to him the day before he died, ‘Son, would you be afraid to die?’ His response was prompt, heroic and decided, ‘No, ma, I should not.’ ”  Thus died one too pure and good for earth. He was the first one of our immediate family to die. Truly God has been good to us. My father, mother, two brothers, and two sisters – all the family – are religious, and my sincere prayer is that we may meet at last in that clime where death is an eternal stranger. L. F. Whitten, Munford, Ala, May 28, 1879.
Boone W. Whitten
Submitted by
Mrs. Jo Anne Norwood
Obituary pasted to the fly pages of the David Clay Whitten Bible. Publication not given.
My Dear Brother, Boone W. Whitten, was born in Wayne county, Tennessee, September 8th, 1860. Was born of the Spirit, September, 7th, 1873, which was his thirteenth birthday. Of the genuineness of his conversion he was never in doubt. Of the wisdom he manifested in joining the Church at an early age, there can be no question. He was a Christian boy, of choice and pious from principle. It seems hard to give up one who was so promising, so pure; but we must bow in submission to the will of the Lord. Just before his death he prayed, “Father, they will be done, not mine.” He was living at my house, teaching school; had been for five months, and I know whereof I affirm, when I say he was one of the purest, steadiest young men I ever met. He had built up a fine school in this community, and in the school room, every morning, asked God to bless his pupils in their studies, and him in teaching them. He was engaged, mind, soul and body in his profession. He taught by example and precept; was studious at home, carrying on his course of study which he had pursued in college. While he instructed the minds of his pupils, he looked closely after their morals, and when dying said: “Tell my pupils to remember the good advice I gave them in the schoolroom, and be good boys and girls and meet me in heaven.” In 1881 he attended the State Normal School, at Florence, Ala. where he was loved by his fellow pupils, President and Professors. President S. P. Rice is said to have remarked when he left college: “If all my boys had been as studious as Boone Whitten, it would have been a paradise on earth.” But as a Christian he was nearer perfect. He prayed fervent, trustful prayers around out fireside that he might grow in grace and get to be nearer like Jesus. He studied his Bible every day, and frequently called my attention to certain portions of the Scriptures which were more precious, unto him than jewels. his fixedness of purpose to serve God was unalterable. He would have died rather than do wrong, or bring reproach on the precious Savior. When he came to died, April 21st, I said to him: “Brother, is your faith still strong?” He replied, “Yes, sir, I know that Jesus will save me.” He called all around him and bade them farewell, telling them to meet him in heaven, and sent loving messages to his parents, brother and sisters. During a prayer offered by Brother Andrew Jackson, he said: “Rock of Ages, cleft for me, let me hide myself in thee,” and repeated it. He gave minute instructions relative to the distribution of his effects, and requested to be carried back to Tennessee and buried by the side of our brother, David, who died three years since. I carried him back, read the burial service in the presence of hundreds of his friends, and buried his body in hope of glorious resurrection.  L. F. Whitten, Easta Boga, Ala., April 28, 1882.
David Clay Whitten
Submitted by
Mrs. Jo Anne Norwood
Obituary pasted to the fly pages of the David Clay Whitten Bible. Publication not given.
The subject of this sketch was born in Lauderdale County, near Florence, Ala., July 27, 1823. His long and useful life was spent in Wayne County, Tenn., and nearly entirely so in the same community. He was honored and respected by all who knew him. He never was defeated but once before the people for any office for which he asked at the ballots of his fellow-citizens, and he always believed that it was a benign providence that defeated him in that contest for public preferment. While it was not until 1865 that he was converted and joined the Church, yet from my earliest recollection his home was the itinerant preacher’s home. No preacher ever felt long at a time that he was a guest, but a feeling that he was an inmate of the home would unconsciously steal over not only the preacher, but all whose fortune it was to share his hospitality. Many a Tennessee Conference preacher has shared this grace at his hands and that of his well-ordered household. His bereaved and sorrow-stricken wife, who is truly bereft, and who from her girlhood had feared God and worked righteousness, was his strong stay for more than forty-one years. I never knew a better woman than she. I remember that during the cruel war between the States, when sin of every form held high carnival, she never faltered for a moment in her faith and loyalty to God and his cause. No wonder that out of such a family should be born two itinerant Methodist preachers. Rev. O. B. Whitten, the younger, was one of the most popular young preachers ever in the Memphis Conference. His career was short – only a little more than three years – yet impressing himself upon all who knew him. Rev. L. F. Whitten, of La Fayette, has been a faithful member of that Conference since its organization in 1870. I doubt if any man in that Conference has made a better record for devotion to the cause of Christ, the interest of Methodism and humanity, during these years than he. David Clay Whitten died in peace with God and in hope of heaven Feb. 20, 1889, and was laid beside his three sons who had preceded him to heaven – to await the resurrection of the just.
Truly, to that community, a great man in Israel is fallen, for he was a leader – a natural leader of the people. Especially was this true of him among the young people. He was a theologian of no mean pretensions. Biblical and Methodistic doctrines were questions of highest interest to him, and he took great pleasure in discussing them with men who had read and who thought. But he is gone — we shall see him no more. Peace to his memory, while we plead Heaven’s consoling benedictions upon his bereaved widow, son and two daughters, who mourn their loss.  T. G. W., Moberly, Mo. March 1889. [Note: T. G. W. was Rev. Thomas G. Whitten, son of Joel S. Whitten who was David Clay Whitten’s older brother.]
Mrs. John Y. Parker
Obituary pasted in the front cover of the Mattie Brewer McCorkle Bible, McCorkle-Stafford Collection, Wayne County Historical Society
Mrs. John Y. Parker, 63, died Sunday night of acute indigestion at her home on Indian Creek. Burial took place Monday in the Mt. Hebron Cemetery, the funeral services being conducted by Rev. G. R. Wilkerson and N. C. Jeter. Mrs. Parker was a devoted member of the Christian Church. [Note: This is Eliza (Elizabeth) Lucinda Brewer, b. 1856/7, daughter of Hiram and Cazada Hayes Brewer. She married first to J. T. Lowery; second to Joseph Clayton Stribling; and third to John Y. Parker. Her death occurred before Jan, 20, 1920 since she does not appear in the 1920 census for Wayne County, TN. She does not have a tombstone in the Mt. Hebron Cemetery, although she is buried in the Parker plot. Obituary probably from “The Wayne Countian”.
Lt. John W. Stribling
Obituary pasted in the front cover of the Mattie Brewer McCorkle Bible, McCorkle – Stafford Collection, Wayne County Historical Society
Stribling Is Laid To Rest, Funeral Services Held At Honolulu.
     Funeral services for Lieut. John W. Stribling, Jr., aged 27, of Florence, who was drowned while fishing at Waimea, about 40 miles from Honolulu, on Oct. 13, were held at Schofield Barracks, Honolulu, Monday afternoon at 2 o’clock, according to messages received by his parents here. His wife, who was drowned at the same time, was buried there also.
It is not known here today whether the body of Lieut. William F. Stevenson, aged 29, of Schofield Barracks, a native of South Carolina, who was drowned at the same time, has been found.
A native of Florence, Lieut. Stribling, attended the city schools, graduating from Coffee High School here, and finishing at West Point Military Academy in 1929. He had been stationed with the United States Army at Honolulu for the past four years.
Three years ago he was married to Miss Thora Berge, of Norway, the wedding occurring in Honolulu.
Surviving Lieut. Stribling are his parents, Mr. and Mrs. John W. Stribling of Florence; two sisters, Miss Jimmie Lou Stribling, of Florence, and Mrs. J. H. Bidle, of Florence; and two brothers, Cedric Stribling of Florence and Raymond Stribling of Chattanooga. [Note: No date of name of newspaper appears on the clipping. It probably was taken from “The Florence Times” of October 1934. John W. Stribling Jr. was the son of John William and Mattie Belle McFall Stribling, and the grandson of Joseph Clayton Stribling of Lutts, Tennessee.]
James Russell Butler
Submitted by
Jerry L. Butler
Source: The Florence Times, July 6, 1943, page 2
J. R. BUTLER, 73, IS LAID TO REST
Funeral Services Held on Monday Afternoon
James Russell Butler, aged 73, passed away Saturday midnight, at his home, 511 Stevenson Street, Florence, after a several weeks illness. He is survived by his wife, Mrs. Sallie Butler, four sons, Aubry and Westley of Florence, Clarke, of Cloverdale and Pat, of Dayton, O.; four daughters, Mrs. Louis Barnes and Mrs. J. T. Rickard, of Florence; Mrs. Ed Montgomery, of Iron City, Tenn., and Mrs. W. F. Ward, of Cloverdale, and one sister, Mrs. Frances Handley, of Texarkana, Tex.
The funeral was held Monday at 2 p. m., from the Methodist Church at Crystal Springs in Wayne County, Tenn. with Rev. J. D. Reid, of the Church of the Nazarene, Florence, officiating. Interment was in the adjoining cemetery, Fielder in charge. Pallbearers were Paul Barnes, F. E. Rickard, R. H. Wilson, Eugene McCluskey, Bill Edwards, Mr. Fortenberry and Mr. Rideout.
Mrs. Sallie Butler
Submitted by
Jerry L. Butler
Source: The Florence Times, November 26, 1943, page 3
MRS. BUTLER, 73, TAKEN BY DEATH
Funeral Arrangements Will Be Announced Later
Mrs. Sallie Butler, aged 73, died this morning at 12:10 o’clock at the home of her daughter, Mrs. J. T. Rickard, 414 Georgia Avenue, Florence.
Survivors are four daughters, Mrs. Floyd Nard, Cloverdale, Mrs. Edward Montgomery, Iron City, Tenn., Mrs. Louis Barnes, Florence, and Mrs. J. T. Rickard, Florence; four sons, Pat Butler, Dayton, O., Clark Butler, Wesley Butler, Aubrey Butler, all of Florence; three sisters, Mrs. S. P. Davis, Mrs. Dora Hanback, and Mrs. Martha Handley, all of Florence; two brothers, Johnie Smith, Cloverdale, and Wesley Smith, Florence; and a number of grandchildren and great-grandchildren.
Services will be announced later by Brown Service.
Henrietta Lewis
Source: “Wayne Citizen”, Clifton, TN, Thursday, July 4th, 1884.
     Henrietta Lewis born was in Clifton, March 27th, 1883, and died in Clifton, July 9th, 1884.
Her father, Henry A. Lewis, died in Ashland, December 1st, 1882 of consumption and as little “Retta was a very delicate child, we never thought she would live to mature age. Teething and something like the flux was more than her little frame could bear.
And then the angels came one night, And took her soul away; to live with them and God and light, And everlasting day.
The Clifton’s good and gentle folk, Made coffin, shroud and grave, Beneath a little shady oak, Her dust with dust they layed.  J. W. P.
Rev. Ben Martin
Submitted by
Mrs. Grace W. Carver,
Cypress Inn, TN
Rev. Ben Martin Dies Wednesday at 87
     Rev. Ben Martin, veteran of the Civil War and one of the very few survivors of the Union army in this section, died at his home on Hardins creek, Wednesday at 11:30 a.m. following an illness of several days. Rev. Martin had been in Waynesboro Tuesday for short time but was feeling week and fainted before he reached home, and owing to the infirmities of age her death was not unexpected.
Rev. Martin had been a Baptist minister in Wayne County for a long period of years and up to the present year had been rather active in his work for the branch of the Baptist church to which he belonged. He had preached all over Wayne county and was well known to a large number of people over the county.
Mr. Martin had reached his 86th years last March.
The funeral service was held at the residence on Hardins creek at eleven o’clock, Thursday morning and burial was had at McGlamery cemetery south of Collinwood, Thursday afternoon.
Rev. Martin leaves a large family in this section, with a number of sons, daughters and a large number of grand children. [Note: No date or name of publication on clipping. Rev. Martin died 28 Jan 1931 according to his tombstone inscription, McGlamery Cemetery.]
J. B. Lawson
Submitted by
Mrs. Grace W. Carver
Cypress Inn, TN
Lawson Answers Death Summons
Funeral services for J. B. Lawson, 74 of Cypress Inn, Tenn. who died Sunday afternoon following an attack of flew and pneumonia which lasted for three weeks, were held Monday afternoon from the home with Rev. Hallman, his pastor, officiating and Fielder directing.
Mr. Lawson was one of the most highly respected citizens of his community. He always gave  of his time and means to the support of school and church activity. He was a member of the Salem Methodist Church, of Cypress Inn community, and also a member of the Cypress Inn Masonic Lodge.
Mr. Lawson is survived by his wife, Mrs. J. B. Lawson, two sons, S. W. Lawson of Chicago, and W. N. Lawson of Philadelphia, Penn.; two daughters, Mrs. Jessie Bundrant, and Mrs. Hays Spain, both of Waynesboro, Tenn.; and three brothers: Joe Lawson of Oklahoma, W. Y. Lawson of Cypress Inn, and S. H. Lawson of Florence. [Note: no date or name of publication on clipping, but probably the “Wayne Countian”  dated 23/24 October 1928, based on dates on tombstone.]
M. F. Butler
Submitted by
Jerry L. Butler
Source: The Florence Times, Florence, AL, January 18, 1934, page 3
JACKSONBURG FARMER DIED OF PNEUMONUIA JANUARY 11
M. F. Butler, aged 43, died at the family residence at Jacksonburg, Thursday, Jan. 11 after a seven weeks illness of pneumonia.  Mr. Butler, a farmer of that community, was well and favorably known.
Funeral services were conducted at the Railroad Church with Rev. Kerney officiating.  Interment followed in the adjoining cemetery with O. L. North, of Ethridge, Tenn., in charge.
Surviving are his wife, Mrs. Bessie Butler; six children, four girls, Ida, Gracie, Eva, and May, and two sons, Levoid Elvin and Bobby Joe; his parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Butler; four brothers, Clark Butler, of Cloverdale; Wesley, of Wilson; Aubrey of Florence, and Patrick of Kentucky; four sisters, Mrs. J. T. Rickard, Mrs. W. L. Barns, of Florence; Mrs. F. Nord, of Bethel Grove and Mrs. Edward Montgomery, of Oak Grove.
Active pallbearers were Joe Boyd, S. C. Robinson, Jettie Boyd, Charlie Davis and John Henry Davis.  Honorary pallbearers were J. R. Clemons, Troy Myles, C. C. Myles, F. Y. McClure, J. F. Blackburn and E. J. Eckl.
Joseph D. Dunn
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News
Friday, Aug. 4, 1950
Funeral Services For Joseph Dunn Conducted July 10
     Funeral services for Joseph D. Dunn were conducted from his home on Route Two, Collinwood, July 10th, with Rev. Robert Spain, pastor of the Methodist church officiating.
Mr. Dunn died at his home July 8th following a long illness. He was 84 years old.
Born in Sunny Side, County Durham, England, He came to this country at the age of 19 and had made his home at Collinwood for the past 20 years. He was a respected resident of the community in which he lived and was a member of the Methodist Church since early manhood.
Survivors are one son, John M. Dunn, of Cincinnati, Ohio: two daughters, Mrs. E. Byler and Mrs. Frances Davenport, both of Collinwood; nine grandchildren and three great-grandchildren.
Burial was in the McGlamery Cemetery.
Mrs. Frances Jane Dunn
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News
January 1936
Mrs. Frances Jane Dunn
Mrs. Frances Jane Dunn, 65 years old, died January 7, after an illness of several months; at the family home near Collinwood. Funeral services were held the following day, at the home, with Rev. Blankenship, pastor of the Collinwood church, officiating. Interment was in McGlamery cemetery, with Harris, Legg and Williams in charge.
Mrs. Durham [sic] was born in Morton, Durham county, England, but when nine years old was brought by her parents to South Pittsburg, Tenn. She married Joe Dunn at Dayton, Tenn., in 1887.
She is survived by Mr. Dunn; two daughters, Mrs. Byler of Wayne county, and Mrs. Frances Davenport, Dallas, Texas; a son, John Dunn, Muncie, Ind. and seven grandchildren.
Richard Arthur Arnold
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Nashville Tennessean
no date or page on clipping
(1975)
Richard Arnold Services Today
Graveside services will be at 10 a.m. today at Woodlawn Cemetery for Richard Arthur Arnold, 86, an employee of the Nashville Post Office for almost half a century.
Arnold, who has been assistant district manager of the Railway Mail Service and chief statistician during his 46 years in the Postal Service, had been nationally recognized for his work.
Arnold, who died at Vanderbilt Hospital Saturday night after a long illness, had lived for almost half a century at 2120 Ashwood Ave. He moved to McKendree Manor early this year.
Widely known as a ham radio operator, Arnold had helped relay emergency messages during various floods and during World War II.
He was one of the organizers of the Nashville chapter of the National Association of Retired Civil Employees and for many years was chairman of its membership committee. In that capacity he gained many new members and helped push legislation benefiting retired civil employees.
Born near Iron City, Tenn., Feb 13, 1889, Arnold was the son of James D. and Caroline Whitten Arnold. He was graduated from Lawrence County High School and attended the state teachers college at Murfreesboro.
After teaching in Iron City, he entered the Postal Railway Mail Service in 1913, and soon moved to Nashville in that capacity. In 1914, he was married to the former Pearl Spencer of Iron City. She died in 1971.
Arnold taught classes in higher mathematics at Watkins Institute for several years, and after his retirement from the Postal Service in 1959, worked for three years for Third National Bank.
He was active in Belmont United Methodist Church. The Rev. Earl Parker will conduct the services.
Arnold is survived by several nieces and nephews. All former mail service employees and all postal supervisors of the Nashville Post Office will be honorary pallbearers at the services this morning.
J. R. Linville
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News
24 Oct 1975, no page on clipping
Funeral services for Jasper Randolph Linville, 86, were conducted October 14, at 10 o’clock from Royal Avenue Freewill Baptist Church with Rev. O. A. Lindsey, Rev. Doyle Wallace and Rev. Paul Sanderson officiating. Burial was in Railroad Church Cemetery at Iron City. ¶Mr. Linville died October 12 at Rolling Acres Nursing Home in Florence, Ala., where he had made his home for several years. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, the father of Osbie J. Linville, Lauderdale County Superintendent of Education, a member of Royal Avenue Freewill Baptist Church and a retired brick mason. ¶Surviving are two other sons, Orbie G. of Florence and Clarence Linville of Iron City; three daughters, Mrs. Myrtle Mitchell of Florence, Mrs. Aileen McDonald of Sheffield, Ala, and Mrs. Louise Montgomery of Cloverdale, Ala.; a brother, Herman B. Linville of Iron City and two sisters, Mrs. Annie M. Moore of Iron City, and Mrs. Nellie Roberson of Killen, Ala.
J. R. Linville
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, 13 Oct 1975, no page number on clipping.
J. R. Linville Dies at 86
Jasper Randolph (Jap) Linville, 86, father of Osbie J. Linville, Lauderdale County Superintendent of Education died Sunday at Rolling Acres Nursing Home. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, Tenn. a member of Royal Avenue Freewill Baptist Church and a retired brick mason. ¶Service will be 10 a.m. Tuesday at Royal Avenue Freewill Baptist Church. Officiating will be Rev. O. A. Lindsey, Doyle Wallace and Paul Sanderson. Burial will be in Railroad Church Cemetery, Iron City, Tennessee. Morrison-Elkins Funeral Home of Florence directing. ¶Surviving in addition to Osbie Linville are two other sons, Orbie G. Linville, Florence; Clarence Linville, Iron City; daughters, Mrs. Myrtle Mitchell, Florence; Mrs. Aileen McDonald, Sheffield; Mrs. Louise Montgomery, Cloverdale; sisters, Mrs. Annie M. Moore, Iron City; Mrs. Nellie Roberson, Killen; brother, Herman B. Linville, Iron City. ¶Bearers will be J. W. Linville, Grady Roberson, Lloyd Moore, Oris Linville, Foy Butler, Edwin Linville, Rayburn Linville, Billy Linville.
Mrs. Mattie Farris Melson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News
16 June 1967
Funeral Services Held Sunday For Mrs. Mattie Melson
Funeral services for Mrs. Mattie Farris Melson, 94, of Collinwood were conducted Sunday, June 11 at 2:30 from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home Chapel with Roger Villines officiating. Burial was in McGlamery Cemetery. ¶Mrs. Melson died June 9 at Wayne General Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of William Joseph and Nancy Ann Thompson Farris. She was a member of the Church of Christ. ¶Survivors include a daughter, Mrs. Ethel Melson Whitt, of Collinwood, a brother, J. F. Farris Sr. of Memphis; two sisters, Mrs. Laura Melson of Savannah and Mrs. Lola Farris of Caruthersville, MO; and a number of nieces and nephews.
Mrs. Fannie Bell Horton
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 18 August 1967. No page number on clipping.
Funeral Services For Mrs. Horton Conducted Aug. 8
Funeral services for Mrs. Fannie Bell Horton, 83, of Cypress Inn were conducted Aug. 8 at 2 o’clock from Cromwell Cross Roads Church with Willie Daniel officiating. ¶Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge of arrangements. ¶Mrs. Horton died Aug. 7 at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of James Wayne and Betty Woody Horton. In 1898 she married Peter A. Horton who passed away in 1907. She was a member of the Free Will Baptist Church. ¶Survivors are a son, Lee W. Horton of Cypress Inn; a daughter Mrs. Mary Ada Murphy of Lutts; a brother, Jasper Lee Horton of Cypress Inn; four grandchildren and three great-grandchildren.
Dewey Clyde Barkley
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times
22 Jan 1972. No page number on clipping.
Dewey Clyde Barkley, 89, 902 Sannoner Ave., died today at the residence. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, Tenn., had lived in Florence 30 years. He was a charter member and Deacon at Highland Baptist Church, a member of the Florence Masonic Lodge, and was the retired owner of Barkley Air Conditioning and Heating Co. ¶Funeral services will be held Sunday at 3 p.m. at Highland Baptist Church with Rev. Jodie Gamble officiating. Burial will follow in Florence Cemetery, Morrison-Elkins of Florence directing. The body will remain at the funeral home until one hour prior to the service when it will be placed in the church. ¶He is survived by the widow, Mrs. Edith T. Barkley; a brother, Carter Barkley, Florence. ¶Bearers will be Allen Lovelace, Billy Kelley, Raymond Sitter, Edgar Young, Guy Hamilton, E. G. Dorris, Tom McDougal, Ottie Stansell.
Mrs. Mary Catherine Barkley
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times,
Monday, 15 Feb 1971
no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Mary Catherine Barkley, 90, Cypress Inn, Tenn. Rt. 1, died at Wayne County Hospital Sunday at 3:30 p.m. ¶She was a native and lifelong resident of Wayne County and widow of John Rich Barkley. She was a member of Balentine Freewill Baptist Church. ¶Service will be conducted Tuesday at 2 p.m. from Balentine Freewill Baptist Church by Rev. Emmerald [sic] Bailey. Burial will be in Balentine Cemetery, Spry of Florence directing. The body will be at Collinwood Funeral Home until time for services. ¶Surviving are four daughters, Mrs. Thomas E. Franks, Cypress Inn; Mrs. Altie Hammock, Waynesboro; Mrs. Howard Wright, Cypress Inn; Mrs. Henry Dodd, South Bend, Ind.; two sons, Allen Barkley, Iron City; Willie Barkley, Lutts, Tenn.; a brother, Wallace Patterson, Lawrenceburg; 35 grandchildren; 42 great-grandchildren.
Mrs. Reba Earline Brewer
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times
Monday, 15 Feb 1971, no page number on clipping
Mrs. Reba Earline Brewer, 48, of 311 S. Richards St., Florence, died Sunday at 12 noon at Lauderdale Christian Nursing Home. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, Tenn. and had lived here 26 years. She was a member of Railroad Methodist Church in Wayne County, Tenn. ¶Surviving are the husband, Buford Brewer; three sons, Cecil, James Larry, Donald Ray; mother, Mrs. Hershel Keeton; a sister, Mrs. George Robert McMullan, all of Florence; four brothers, Neller Keeton, Junior Newton Keeton, bobby Keeton, Billy Keeton, a grandchild, all of Florence. ¶Bearers will be cousins.
Edgar Byler
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News,
Friday, 24 May 1968, no page number on clipping.
Funeral services for Edgar Byler, 79, of Collinwood were conducted Sunday, May 19 at 2 o’clock from Collinwood Church of Christ with Roger Villines officiating. Burial was in McGlamery Cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge of arrangements. ¶Mr. Byler died May 17 at Colonial Manor Nursing Home. ¶He was a native of Izzard County, Ar., a son of Shadrach E. and Lauretta Downing Byler. He was a retired Pharmacist and a member of the Church of Christ. ¶Survivors are a son, Edgar D. Byler of Collinwood; two step-sons, Robert Walsh of Marianna, Pa., and Joseph Walsh of Houston, Texas; two daughters, Mrs. Laura Jane Walround [sic] of Rochelle, Va., and Mrs. Naomi Ruth Parker of Downey, Calif.; two sisters, Mrs. C. J. Farris and Mrs. M. A. Brown both of Collinwood; and six grandchildren.
John Thomas Cypert
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times
Thursday, 20 June 1974, no page number on clipping.
John Thomas Cypert, Sr., 88, Rt. 5, Florence, died Wednesday at Mitchell Hollingsworth Annex. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, Tenn., had lived in Florence 50 years, was a retired carpenter. ¶Funeral services will be held Friday at 3 p.m. at the First Church of the Nazarene, Florence, with Rev. Wendell Shirley officiating. Burial will follow in Greenview Memorial Park, Morrison-Elkins of Florence directing. ¶The body will remain at the funeral home until 2 p.m. when it will be placed in the church. ¶He is survived by the widow, Mrs. Della Wright Cypert; three sons, John T. Cypert, Jr., Russell Cypert, and Douglas Cypert, all of Florence; five daughters, Miss Orine Cypert, Miss Pauline Cypert, Mrs. Sarah Pumphrey, all of Alexander, VA; Mrs. Frances Thoresen, Springfield, VA., Mrs. Emily Jean Wirokman, Landover, Md.; a sister, Mrs. Emma Blackwell, Carlisle, Ark., nine grandchildren, two great-grandchildren. ¶Nephews will serve as bearers.
Mrs. Annie Downing
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times,
1 June 1971, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Annie Downing, 73, Florence, Rt. 3, died this morning at 5:30 at ECM Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, Tenn., and had resided in Lauderdale County most of her life. She was a member of Stony Point Church of Christ and the widow of Taylor Downing. ¶Services will be conducted Wednesday at 2:30 p.m. from Morrison-Elkins Chapel in Florence by Derrell Davis. Burial will be in Grenview Memorial Park, Morrison-Elkins Directing. ¶Survivors are a sister, Mrs. Roxie Lindsey of Florence, nieces and nephews. ¶Bearers will be nephews.
Mrs. Odie Hayes Bevis Gullick
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times
14 Feb 1973, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Odie Hayes Bevis Gullick, 76, 131 Button Ave., died Tuesday at the residence. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, Tenn., a member of the Jackson Heights Church of Christ. ¶Funeral services will be held Thursday at 1:30 p.m. at Morrison Elkins Chapel, Florence, with Leon Cole officiating, Morrison-Elkins of Florence directing. ¶She is survived by a daughter, Mrs. D. A. Yearout, Waverly, Tenn.; two sons, B. L. Bevis, Florence, and J. C. Bevis, Midland, Tex, 17 grandchildren, 15 great-grandchildren. ¶Members of the Jackson Heights Church of Christ will serve as bearers.
Mrs. Myrtle Hanback
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, no date or place number on clipping.
Mrs. Myrtle Hanback, 52, Iron City, Tenn., died Friday at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, Tenn., and the daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Tom Bates. ¶Surviving are the husband, Howard Hanback; three daughters, Mrs. Ina Gilchrist and Mrs. Arnell Bratton of Collinwood, Tenn.; Mrs. Idell Robbins, Warren, Mich.; a son, Edsel Hanback, Lincoln Park, Mich.,; three sisters, Mrs. Mollie Fowler, Cypress Inn, Tenn.; Mrs. Joyce Dodd, Mrs. Ollie Stricklin, both of Iron City, Tenn.; three brothers, Wesley, Cleo and Clarence Bates, all of Iron City; seven grandchildren, and a number of nieces and nephews. ¶Service will be conducted today at 2 p.m. from Mt. Pleasant Methodist Church near Cypress Inn. Burial will be in Collinwood Memory Gardens. ¶The body will remain at the Collinwood Funeral Home until time for services.
Mrs. Ethel Holt
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, no date or page number on clipping.
Mrs. Ethel Holt, 79, of Florence, died Tuesday at ECM Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County. ¶Services will be held Thursday at 10 a.m. at Sherrod Ave. Church of Christ with Robert Brooks officiating. Burial will be in Mt. Hope Cemetery in Wayne County, Tenn., with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home directing. The body will be placed in the church one hour prior to the service. ¶Survivors include one son, Robert Holt, Louisville, Ky.; six daughters, Mrs. Ruth Koger, Miss Sue Holt, Florence, Mrs. Frances Nichols, Gadsden, Mrs. Betty Duncan, Gallatin, Tenn., Mrs. Nell Anderson, Scottsboro, Mrs. Mary Ann Malone, Decatur; one brother, Jim Spain, Iron City, Tenn.; one sister, Mrs. Pearl Coffman, Iron City; 13 grandchildren and five great-grandchildren.
Oliver Noah Holt
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times,
Friday, 21 June 1974, no page number on clipping.
Oliver Noah Holt, 55, 121 E. Lelia St., Florence, died early Friday morning at ECM Hospital following a lengthy illness. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, Tennessee, and a member of the Florence Boulevard Church of Christ. He was a former employe [sic] of White Rubber Products in Florence. ¶Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Sunday at Mt. Hope Church of Christ in Wayne County, Bro. Kelby Smith officiating. Burial will follow in the adjoining cemetery, Spry Funeral Home of Florence directing. The body will be at the funeral home until one hour prior to services. ¶Survivors include the wife, Mrs. Annie B. Holt, of Florence; three daughters, Mrs. Betty Jean Cantlin of New York City, N.Y., Miss Judy Ann Pigg and Mis Vicky Carol Holt of Florence; five sons, Noah Gaylon Pigg, Oliver M. Holt, Garrison Andrew Holt, Ricky Marion Holt and Nickey Keith Holt, all of Florence; his mother, Mrs. Daisy Lorene Holt of Florence; four sisters, Mrs. Elsie Hall of Florence, Mrs. Mildred Collins, Mrs. Billy Ruth Weddington and Mrs. Betty Lash, all of Florence; two brothers, Roy Lee Holt of Waynesboro, Tenn., and Ray Holt of Florence, and five grandchildren. ¶ Bearers will be Billy Staggs, Ronnie Green, Leonard Nichols, Buck Bogus, Jim Bogus and Tommy Holt.
Mrs. Lillie Linville
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times
5 Oct 1970, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Lillie Linville, 76, of 414 Georgia Ave., Florence, died this morning at 7:45 at ECM Hospital. ¶She was native of Wayne County, Tenn., and had lived here for 36 years. She was a member of Royal Avenue Freewill Baptist Church. ¶Services will be conducted Tuesday at 2 p.m. from Royal Avenue Freewill Baptist Church by Rev. Doyle Wallace and Rev. Dee Glover. Burial will be in Railroad Cemetery, Morrison-Elkins directing. The body will be at the funeral home until being placed in the church one hours prior to services. ¶Surviving are the husband, J. R. Linville, three daughters, Mrs. Myrtle Mitchell, Mrs. Louise Montgomery, Florence; Mrs. Aline McDonald of California; three sons, Osbie J., Florence; W. Clarence Linville, Iron City, Tenn., Rt. 1; Orbie G., Florence; 14 grandchildren; 15 great-grandchildren; a great-great-grandchild.
Will Turner Moore
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source, Florence Times,
Monday, 29 April 1974, no page number on clipping.
Mr. Will Turner Moore, 75, Rt. 2, Iron City, Tenn. died Sunday after an extended illness at Crockett General Hospital. ¶He was a retired farmer. ¶Services will be at 2 p.m. Tuesday at Williams Chapel with L. O. Cook and Lloyd Jones officiating. Burial will be in Hollis Cemetery with Loretto Memorial Chapel directing. ¶The body will be at the residence until time for services. ¶Surviving are the widow, Ola Risner Moore, Iron City; five daughters, Mrs. Lois Linville, Noblesville, Ind.; Mrs. Inell Russ, Mrs. jewel Tidwell, Mrs. Joanne Thompson, all of Iron City, and Mrs. Carolyn Hood of St. Joseph, Tenn.; five sons, G. W., Junior, Dale, Charles and Billy, all of Rt. 2, Iron City; 39 grandchildren, 26 great-grandchildren and one great-great-grandchild.
Samuel (Sam) Theodore Wilson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, Tuesday 1 Aug 1972, no page number on clipping.
Samuel (Sam) Theodore Wilson, Iron City, Tenn.; Rt. 1, died Monday. ¶He was born Aug. 5, 1892. ¶Services will be conducted Wednesday at 2 p.m. from Railroad Methodist Church, Chisholm Highway, by Willie Daniel and Emerald Bailey. Burial will be in the adjoining cemetery. ¶The body will be at Wayne Memory Garden Funeral Home at Collinwood, Tenn., until time for services. ¶ Surviving are the widow, Mrs. Beula Roberson Wilson, Iron City, Rt. 1; two daughters, Mrs. Irene Scott Hogan, Iron City, Rt. 1; Mrs. Vera Harper, Cypress Inn, Tenn. Rt. 1; a brother, Jimmy Wilson, Iron City; 10 grandchildren; 19 great-grandchildren, and three great-great-grandchildren.
Richard Harvey Wilson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, Saturday, 17 June 1972, no page number on clipping.
Richard Harvey Wilson, 82, Rt. 6, Florence, died at the residence Thursday morning. ¶Mr. Wilson was a native of Wayne County, Tenn., had moved to Lauderdale County in 1921, going into the grocery business. he was president and founder of the Wilson Food Grocery Chain, retiring in 1966. ¶He was a member of East Florence Church of Christ. ¶ Funeral services will be held Saturday at 2 p.m. at the East Florence Church of Christ, Franklin T. Puckett officiating. Burial will follow in Florence Cemetery, Spry of Florence directing. ¶The body will remain at the funeral home until being placed in the church one hour prior to services. ¶He is survived by the widow, Mrs. Roxie Barnett Wilson; a daughter, Mrs. Bernice Shooter, Florence; three sons, Cecil H. Wilson; Owen T. Wilson and Orlan V. Wilson, all of Florence; three sisters, Mrs. Fern Dalton, Florence, Mrs. Gertrude Hays, and Mrs. Itlie Rich, both of Iron City, Tenn.; two brothers, Proctor and Shelby Wilson, both of Iron City; eight grandchildren, 10 great-grandchildren.
Walter F. Whitten
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, 23 Aug 1973, page 2.
Funeral services were held Tuesday for Walter F. Whitten, 74, Rt. 1, Iron City, Tenn. ¶Mr. Whitten died Sunday at ECM Hospital. He is survived by the widow, Mrs. Rosie Rich Whitten; a son, Fred Allen Whitten, Florence; three daughters, Mrs. Ora Jean Kelley, Florence, Mrs. Earlene Barkley and Mrs. Eliza Butler, both of Iron City; five sisters, Mrs. Mae Gallien, Mrs Bulah Stutts [sic], both of Florence, Miss [sic] Virgie Rich, Iron City, Miss [sic] Velma Rich, Savannah, Tenn.; 10 grandchildren, three great-grandchildren. ¶Services were held at Middle Tennessee Funeral home, Collinwood, with Rev. Willie Daniel and Rev. Emerald Bailey officiating. Burial was in Wayne County Memory Gardens, Middle Tennessee Funeral Home directing. ¶Nephews served as bearers.
Ernest Warrington
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, Thursday, 16 July 1970
Ernest Warrington, 66, Rt. 1, Lutts, Tenn.; died Thursday, from injuries sustained in a farm accident Thursday afternoon. ¶Funeral services were held today at 3 p.m. at the Middle Tennessee Funeral Home Chapel, Waynesboro. Burial will follow in Mt. Hebron Cemetery, Middle Tennessee Funeral home directing. ¶Mr. Warrington was a native of Wayne County, a farmer, a member of the Church of Christ. ¶He is survived by the widow, Mrs. Christine Beckham Warrington; three sons, B. G. Warrington, Lutts, James Ronald Warrington, Winneconne, Wis., Jerry Lynn Warrington, of the residence; a daughter, Mrs. Virginia Penney, Clarksville, Tenn; a brother, Glenn Warrington, Savannah; two sisters; Miss Marguerite Warrington and Mrs. Sallie Kate White, both of Tuscumbia; eight grandchildren.
John F. O. (Lando) Townsend
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, Thursday, 3 Jan 1974, no page number on clipping.
John F. O. (Lando) Townsend, 80, 1009 North Wood Avenue, Florence, died Wednesday night a Mitchell-Hollingsworth Annex. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, Tenn.; and had resided here since 1911. He was a member of the North Wood United Methodist Church and served as a postal employe[sic] 36 years before retiring. ¶Services will be conducted Friday at 2 p.m. from Morrison-Elkins Chapel, Florence, by Dr. O. S. Gamble. Burial will be in Florence Cemetery, Morrison-Elkins Funeral Home of Florence directing. ¶Surviving are a son, Robert L. Townsend, Florence; two brother, Carter Townsend, Florence; Edward Townsend, Greenhill; two granddaughters. ¶Bearers will be Eugene Townsend, Williard Townsend, Troy Townsend, J. R. Richards, Henry Killen, Jr., Royce Quigley.
Elbert Lee Stricklin
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, 1973. Exact date and page number not on clipping.
Elbert Lee Stricklin, 65, Iron City, Tenn., Rt. 1, died Wednesday at Wayne County General Hospital, Waynesboro, Tenn. ¶Services will be conducted Friday at 2 p.m. from Railroad Church in Wayne County by William M. Holloway. Burial will be in Wayne County Memory Gardens, Collinwood, Tenn., Middle Tennessee Funeral Home directing. ¶He was a native of Wayne County and a member of the Methodist Church. ¶Surviving are the widow, Mrs. Clara Gallien Stricklin; five sons, Shaler and Robert of Cypress Inn, Tenn.; John D., Richard Neal, and Marion H.; all of Collinwood, Tenn.; a daughter, Mrs. Virginia Beard, Iron City, Rt. 1; four brothers, James, Waynesboro; Dee, Florida; Jay and Fred, Lutts, Tenn.; two half-brothers, Charlie Stricklin, Martin, Tenn.; Arthur Stricklin, Savannah, Tenn.; a sister, Mrs. Estelle McFall, Savannah; seven grandchildren; three step grandchildren.
Mrs. Minnie Wright Roberson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Florence Times, 26 June 1971, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Minnie Wright Roberson, 74, Wayne County, Tenn., died at ECM Hospital Friday at 5 p.m. ¶She was a lifelong resident of Wayne County, and member of Railroad Methodist Church. ¶Surviving are a daughter, Mrs. Ivan Pigg, Wayne County; three son, Randle, Florence; Ernest, Wayne County; Carl, Sheffield; a brother, Ed Wright, Cypress Inn, Tenn.; two sisters, Mrs. Laura Jones and Mrs. Della Cyper [Cypert], Florence; 14 grandchildren; a great-grandchild. ¶The body will be at Middle Tennessee Funeral home at Collinwood until time for services at Railroad Methodist Church, Wayne County, Sunday at 2 p.m. Rev. George Bracey and Rev. Emerald Bailey will officiate. Burial will be in the church cemetery.
Eugene C. Turman
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Jan 1967. No page number on clipping.
Funeral service for Eugene C. Turman, 70, of Arkansas were held recently with burial in Bassett Cemetery. ¶Mr. Turman did at Chickasawba Hospital in Blytheville. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of Polk and Molly Dixon Turman. He was a retired farmer. ¶ Survivors include his wife, Mrs. Lucy Turman; two brothers, Frank of Waynesboro and Carl Turman of Collinwood; and a sister, Mrs. Elsie Matlock of Noble, Okla.
Joe Johnson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Jan 1967. No page number on clipping.
Clifton – Funeral services fo Joe Johnson, 84, were held Saturday at Mt. Carmel Methodist Church with burial in the church cemetery. ¶ Mr. Johnson, retired farmer, died Thursday night in Hardin County General Hospital. ¶He was a lifelong resident of Hardin County. ¶Survivors include his wife, Mrs. Minnie Prater Johnson; three daughters, Miss Mary Verna Johnson of Dyer,; Mrs. Hazel Cagel of Adamsville; and Mrs. Kate Droke of Memphis; two son, Flex and Ben Johnson, both of Clifton; a sister, Mrs. Mary Grimes of Clifton; a half-brother, J. W. Hardin of Clifton; and eight grandchildren.
John Thomas Andrews
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Jan 1967, no page number on clipping.
Funeral Service Thomas Andrews Conducted Sunday
Funeral services for John Thomas Andrews, 92, of Route 5, Waynesboro, were held Sunday, January 22 at 2 o’clock from Highland Methodist Church with Rev. Fred Hosea officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral home in charge of arrangements. ¶ Mr. Andrews died January 19 at his home. ¶He was a native of Morgan County, Alabama, a son of Henry and Nancy Calline Dinkins Andrews. He was a retired former and a member of the Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include his wife, Mrs. Minnie M. Andrews; ten sons, Early and tom of West Point, Chester and James of Waynesboro, Lester of Lawrenceburg, Walter of Loretto, Dewey of Detroit, Mich., Teat Andrews of Collinwood and Franklin and Porter Andrews of Forsythe, Ga.; five daughters, Mrs. Willie Bailey of Summertown, Mrs. Estelle Story of West Point, Mrs. Willodean Gambrell of St. Joseph, Mrs. Myrtle McMullen of Forsythe, Ga., and Mrs. Lillie Mae Dixon of South Gate, Mich.; 58 grandchildren; 64 great-grandchildren and 11 great-great-grandchildren.
Mrs. Emma Grimes Old
Submitted by the late
Margaret M. Morrison
Source: The Morrison Papers
Mrs. Emma G. Old Dies at Lebanon
Lebanon, Tenn., Oct. 15 – (Special) – Funeral services for Mrs. Emma Grimes Old, 73, were to be conducted this morning at 11:30 from the First Baptist Church with Dr. Alvin H. Hopson, pastor, officiating, assisted by the Rev. Sam Dodson, Jr. pastor of the Lebanon Methodist Church. Burial was to be in the Lebanon Cemetery. ¶Mrs. Old died Thursday night at 7:30 o’clock at her home on East Spring Street, following an illness of several months duration. ¶ A native of Wayne County, she was a daughter of the late Robert A. and Dora Bivins Grimes, and was educated in the public schools of Waynesboro. She moved to Wilson County over 40 years ago with her husband, the late R. L. Old, who operated a store in Watertown for about 25 years before opening his Lebanon store. They moved to Lebanon about 15 years ago. ¶A member of the Baptist Church, she was an ardent church worked until ill health forced her retirement. She was a member of the Womans Missionary Union, Womans Club and the Lebanon Garden Club, in all of which she took an active part. ¶ Survivors are two daughters, Miss Gladys Old and Mrs. Byron Dinges, both of Lebanon; one grandson, David Dinges, of Lebanon; three brothers, J. T. Grimes, of Columbia, Tenn., Alfred and Shields Grimes of Loretta [sic], Tenn.; and three sisters, Misses Elsie and Mayme Grimes and Mrs. Mattie Sills, all of Loretta [sic], Tenn. (Note: Copied from a printed news item in the scrap-book of Mrs. Arthur B. (Ethel Old) Caton, Waynesboro, Tenn.
Mrs. Ora Morrison
Submitted by the late
Margaret M. Morrison
Source: The Morrison Papers
Mrs. Ora Morrison, 68 year-old widow of the late William Seymore Morrison, died Tuesday night at her home on upper Green River after a very brief illness. ¶Mrs. Morrison was a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and highly respected. ¶ Survivors are her children, Grayford Morrison, Mrs. C. H. Rose, Cypress Inn, and Mrs. Jesse Duren of the Green River Community. One brother, T. S. Cypert, two sisters, Mrs. Carrie Huckaba, of Lawrenceburg, and Mrs. C. L. Boyd, also survive. ¶Funeral services were held on Wednesday afternoon at 2:00 o’clock at the home by Rev. J. M. Jones of Waynesboro. Burial was in the Shields Cemetery, with the Wayne Funeral Service in charge of arrangements. (Note: Copy from printed news item in the scrap-book of Mrs. Arthur B. (Ethel Old) Caton, Waynesboro, Tenn.) [Note 2: clipping probably from The Wayne County News, 1941, the date of death on Mrs. Morrison’s tombstone, Shields Cemetery.]
James Huckaba
Submitted by the late
Margaret M. Morrison
Source: The Morrison Papers
James Huckaba was born Sept. 6, 1876, died October 4, 1923, at the age of 47 years and 1 month. He professed faith in Christ and united with the Green River Baptist Church of the Indian Creek Association in the year 1899. Mr. Huckaba was married to Miss Carrie Cypert on May 24, 1900. Five children were born to them, Misses Bernice, Lucille and Edyth Huckaba, and two sons, James Thomas and Alfred Merida. Mr. Huckaba was a son of John Fletcher and Mary A. Huckaba, and is survived by his mother, his wife and children and the following sisters and brothers, Mrs. Ellan Lynn, Mrs. Lela Lumpkins and Miss Laura Huckaba, G. M. Huckaba and Edwin F. Huckaba, ¶ Mr. Huckaba had been an invalid for a long time, but was patient and had the loving care of his loved ones throughout his affliction. Funeral services were conducted at the Baptist Church in this City Friday afternoon by Dr. W. H. Wood, the following being selected as pall bearers, John Davis, Frank Davis, M. J. Sims, B. J. Alford, R. J. Moore – Freemon & Company undertakers in charge. (Note: Copied from printed news item in the scrap book of Mrs. Arthur B. (Ethel Old) Caton, Waynesboro, Tenn.)
Dr. C. Buchanan
Submitted by the late
Margaret M. Morrison
Source: The Morrison Papers
Dr. C. Buchanan, one of Wayne County’s most prominent and highly respected citizens and a physician of wide repute, departed this life in the Woman’s Hospital at Nashville, Tennessee, on Monday morning at 7:45 o’clock, A.M., November 29, 1920, age seventy-eight years, seven months and nine days, just seven years, seven months and twenty days following the decease of his devoted wife, Ella A. Hassell Buchanan. ¶Failing health for several months had made its impress upon him and gave its warning of impending dissolution. He was doubtless conscious of his serious condition, but neither he nor his friends expected the end so soon. On November 19th, 1920, he left his home for Nashville, Saturday the 20th, he entered the Woman’s Hospital, and on Monday, November 29, after several days of unconsciousness, he passed away. his niece, Miss Adnye Buchanan, and two grand-nieces, Misses Irma and Lorine McAlister, Mrs. Brank Boyd, his deceased wife’s sister, and Wayne Copeland were at his bedside when the final summons came. As peacefully and as quietly as an infant’s slumber, he breathed his last and passed over the Great Divide into the land of eternal rest. his remains were brought to Waynesboro on Tuesday. Funeral services were conducted at the M. E. Church South in the presence of hundreds of his friends, who crowded the church and its approaches to pay their beloved and true friend their last tributes of respect. The occasion was indeed most solemn and affecting. Men and women arose from their seats to state their sense of bereavement and to pay tribute to his memory as a man, as a physician, as a Christian and friend. Beautiful songs were sang by the choir in which were young ladies and young men, by the bedsides of whose mothers he had sat, and with his tenderness and skill had nursed them through the pains and joys of motherhood into health and happiness and hope. Not a dry eye was there, not a lip that did not tremble, not a cheek unbedewed with tears. Beautiful flowers, the remembrance of loving friends, covered the casket in which lay the remains of a man whom the people loved. John Buchanan, of Giles County, his brother, and his niece, Mrs. Meda Brown, of Florence, and his nephew Joe Ussery and niece, Miss Ruby Ussery, of Giles County were present. ¶After the services at the church the remains were interred beside those of his wife in the Hassell cemetery on Green River. A large assembly of friends had also gathered there to pay their last respects to their departed friend, and as the casket was tenderly lowered into the grave tears of sorrow were seen, whispers of love and expressions of gratitude were heard in every part of the grief-stricken crowd. toward the man whom they had known and loved so well. ¶Dr. C. Buchanan was born April 20, 1842 in Giles County, Tenn. He served through the entire Civil War as a Confederate Soldier, in Co. I of the 3rd Tennessee Regiment. After the War, he taught school at Liberty school house in Lawrence County, Tenn. He attended medical college at Nashville and later at Louisville. In 1868, he located at Waynesboro, and began the practice of medicine, in which he continued until the end. In August, 1872, he married Ella A. Hassell, the daughter of A. T. Hassell, of Waynesboro, the ceremony being performed by Bishop McTyre of the M. E. Church South. His wife preceded him to the place of final reunion on the 9th day of April, 1913. Since then, he has lived at the old home place in Waynesboro with his niece, Miss Adnye Buchanan. ¶He is survived by two brothers, John Buchanan, of Giles County, and Frank P. Buchanan, of Hutchins, Texas, and the children of two deceased brothers, Judge D. Buchanan of Lawrenceburg, and J. P. Buchanan of Giles County. The children of Judge Buchanan are, Lonnie, Solon, Walter, Frank, Sam and John. The children of J. P. Buchanan are William, Clarence, Clara, Ella, Annie, Adnya, Meda, James, and Roy. ¶Wayne County never had truer, better, braver man, and no man ever had a more loyal and devoted friend. He was sympathetic, gentle and kind, and yet when duty called or when be believed he was right, he followed the convictions with unflinching courage and unswearving fidelity. He was a faithful and liberal member of the M. E. Church, South and one of the teachers in the Sunday School. (Note: Copied from a printed article in the scrap-book of Mrs. Arthur B. (Ethel Old) Caton, Waynesboro, Tenn.)
Mrs. Lennie Whitten
Submitted by
Bill Page
Source: Dallas Morning News, March 30, 1906, p. 10.
Whitten – Midlothian, Texas, March 27 – Mrs. Lennie Whitten died here this afternoon of pneumonia.  She would have been 80 years old on August 3.  She was born near Florence, Alabama, on August 3, 1826.  She leaves a daughter, Mrs. J. F. Belew of this place, and a son, Rev. Leander Whitten of Russellville, Alabama.
Mrs. Mattie Brewer McCorkle
McCorkle-Stafford Collection
Wayne County Historical Society
Source: clipping pasted to inside cover of Bible. Probably from Florence Times, 8/9 Aug 1953.
MRS. MATTIE MCCORKLE DIES IN BIRMINGHAM
Mrs. Mattie BREWER McCORKLE, wife of the late William J. McCORKLE, who was a resident of Florence for a number of years, passed away at her home in Birmingham Thursday night. ¶She is survived by two daughters, Mrs. A. STAFFORD and Mrs. R. Brent BUTCHER, both of Birmingham; three granddaughters, one step-granddaughter, and one step-grandson. ¶The funeral services were held at the home in Birmingham at three o’clock Saturday afternoon, after which the body will be brought to Florence and remain in Brown Service Chapel until time for the graveside service at 2 p.m. Sunday. ¶Interment will be in the Florence cemetery with Rev. L. E. KELLEY conducting the service. The family requests that no flowers be sent.
Cecil Thompson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News
18 Aug 1967 page not recorded on clipping.
Final Rites For Cecil Thompson Held On Aug. 13
Funeral services for Cecil Thompson, 65, of Collinwood were held Aug. 13 at 2 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home with Roger Villines officiating. ¶Burial was in McGlamery cemetery. ¶Mr. Thompson died Aug. 11 at Coffee Memorial Hospital [Florence, AL]. ¶He was a native of Lawrence County, a son of William C. and Laura Moore Thompson. He was a retired TVA employee, a member of the Masonic and Eastern Star Orders of Collinwood, a member of Woodmen of the World and a member of the Church of Christ. ¶Survivors are his wife, Mrs. Annine Lura Pitts Thompson; one half-brother, Ishmael Thompson of Florence, Ala.; two nieces and a nephew.
Willie D. McLin
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News,
18 Aug 1967, no page number of clipping.
Funeral Service For W. D. McLin Conducted Aug. 15
Funeral services for Willie D. McLin, 67, of West Hollywood, Fla., were conducted Aug. 15 at 2 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home with Elton Cartner officiating. ¶Burial was in Mt. Hebron Cemetery. ¶Mr. McLin died Aug. 11 at South Broward Hospital in Dania, Fla. ¶He was a native of Hardin County, a son of Carrol and Annie Shelly McLin. He was a retired farmer and member of the Free Will Baptist Church. ¶Survivors are his wife, Mrs. Lena Clay McLin; four sons, Edward E. of Miami, Herbert L. and Bennie of West Hollywood, and Jimmy of U.S. Navy stationed in Vietnam; two daughters, Mrs. Ralph Burns of Clilfton and Mrs. Danny Poe of Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.; a brother, Carl McLin and a sister Mrs. [rest of clipping cut off]
Eddie Burt Simon
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News
18 Aug 1967, no page number of clipping.
Final Rites For Eddie Burt Simon Pine Hill Church
Funeral services for Eddie Bert Simon, 84, of Lutts, were held August 2 at 2 o’clock from Pine Hill Church of Christ with Ed Clark officiating. ¶Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge of arrangements. ¶Mr. Simon died July 31 at Colonial Manor Nursing Home in Florence. [Alabama] ¶He was a native of Lauderdale County, Alabama, but had spent almost his entire life in Wayne County. His parents were John and Mary White Simon. He was a retired farmer and a member of the Church of Christ. ¶Survivors are his wife, Mrs. Odella Bevis Simon of Lutts; two sons, Wayne and Clifford Simon of Florence; five daughters, Mrs. Cleo Farris of Florence, Mrs. Roy Miles of Cloverdale, Alabama, Mrs. Elihu Martin of Lutts, Mrs. Vernon Pigg of South Bend, Indiana, and Mrs. Charles Holt of Tulsa, Oklahoma; twenty-nine grandchildren and thirty-two great-grandchildren. ¶Pallbearers were Dan and Charles Simon, Harold and Horace Pigg, and Grandville and Gary Farris.
Charlie Goodman
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 16 June 1967, no page number on clipping.
Final Rites for Charlie Goodman Conducted Friday
Final Rites for Charlie Allen Goodman, 84, of Route 3, Waynesboro were conducted Friday, June 9 at 2 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home with Barney Webb officiating. Burial was in Oak Ridge Cemetery. ¶Mr. Goodman died June 7 at Wayne General Hospital. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of Daniel and Mary Ann Goodman. He was a retired former and a member of the Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include two sons, Lester of Nashville and Dewey Goodman of Hohenwald; three daughters, Mrs. Ruby Perry of Detroit, Mich., Mrs. Naomi Aiken of Torrance, Calif., and Mrs. Jewell Walker of Cicero, Ill; 19 grandchildren and 25 great-grandchildren.
John Warrington
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 26 May 1967, no page number on clipping.
Final Rites For John Warrington Conducted Friday
Final rites for John W. Warrington, 87, of Savannah, were conducted Friday, May 19, at 2 o’clock from Mt. Carmel Church with Sonny Barber officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral home in charge of arrangements. ¶Mr. Warrington died May 18 at Hardin County Hospital. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of Thomas and Fannie Nunley Warrington. He was a retired farmer. ¶Survivors include two sons, Ernest of Lutts and Glenn Warrington of Savannah; two daughters, Miss Margaret Warrington and Mrs. Sally White both of Tuscumbia, Ala.; a brother, Walter Warrington of Columbia; two sisters, Mrs. Mary Davis of Savannah and Mrs. Mamie Hardin of Clifton; eight grandchildren and 15 great-grandchildren.
John Henry Lindsey
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 16 May 1967, no page number on clipping.
Former Wayne Resident Dies In Chattanooga
Funeral services for John Henry Lindsey, 90, of Chattanooga, were held Thursday, May 25 at 11 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral home Chapel with Rev. J. W. Daniel officiating. Burial was in Macedonia Cemetery in Lawrence County. ¶Mr. Lindsey died May 22 at Erlanger Hospital in Chattanooga. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of Mr. and Mrs. Hiram Lindsey. He was a retired carpenter and a member of the Methodist Church. ¶Survivors include two son, Horace and Hugh Lindsey of Chattanooga; eight grandchildren and 18 great-grandchildren.
Lonnie Hinton
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 16 June 1967, no page number on clipping.
Funeral Service McGlamery Church For Lonnie Hinton
Funeral services for Lonnie Hinton, 84, of Collinwood were held Wednesday, June 7 at 2 o’clock from McGlamery Church with Rev. J. W. Daniel officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral home in charge of arrangements. ¶Mr. Hinton died June 5 at his home. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of Zep and Betty Martin Hinton. He was a retired farmer and a member of the Church of God. ¶Survivors include his wife, Mrs. Sally Ann Fraley Hinton of Collinwood, a son, Glen Hinton of Mishawaka, Ind.; three daughters, Mrs. Velma Vicsek of Mishawaka, Ind., Mrs. Bessie Bratton of Gary, Ind., and Mrs. Ethel Staggs of Collinwood; a brother, Ed Hinton of Mishawaka, Ind.; 24 grandchildren and 28 great-grandchildren.
Elijah Edward Devers
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 2 June 1967, no page number on clipping.
Funeral Services For E. E. Devers Conducted Tuesday
Funeral services for Elijah Edward Devers, 85, of Clifton were conducted Tuesday, May 30 at 3 o’clock from Evans Chapel Methodist Church with Sonny Barber officiating. ¶Mr. Devers died May 28 at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶He was a native of Wayne County and a retired farmer. ¶Survivors include his widow, Mrs. Rosie Dicus Devers; a son Nathan Devers of Amory, Miss; two daughters, Mrs. Alice Davidson of La Grange and Mrs. Ora Stricklin of Waynesboro; a stepson, Claude Albert Wood, of Clifton; a brother, Will Devers of Waynesboro; three sisters, Mrs. Della Todd, Mrs. Lizzie Shaw and Mrs. Hettie Peacock all of Waynesboro; six grandchildren and six great-grandchildren.
Mrs. Maie Pulley
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Jan 1967, no page number on clipping
Final Rites For Mrs. Maie Pulley Held On Saturday
Final rites for Mrs. Maie Pulley, 76, of Route 3, Waynesboro were conducted Saturday, January 21 at 1 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home Chapel with Rev. Fred Hosea officiating. Burial was in Walnut Grove Cemetery. ¶Mrs. Pulley died January 20 at Wayne General Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of Andy and Mandy DeVasure Long. She was a member of the Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include her husband, Dick Pulley; four sons, Monroe of Waynesboro, and C. G., James and Frank Pulley all of Dover, Ohio; four daughters, Mrs. Edna Howe of Waynesboro, Mrs. Annie L. York and Mrs. Maxine Lovell of Dover, Ohio; and Mrs. Grace Ellis of Indiana; three sisters, Mrs. Tammy Pulley and Mrs. Gertrude Morgan of Waynesboro and Mrs. Loue Frazier of Oklahoma; a brother, Charlie Long of Waynesboro; 36 grandchildren and 32 great-grandchildren.
Mrs. Flora Jane Thompson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Jan 1967, no page number on clipping.
Final Rites Are Held Sunday For Mrs. Thompson
Final rites for Mrs. Flora Jane Thompson, 78, of Route 2, Collinwood were conducted Sunday, January 22 at 2:30 from Butler Grove Baptist Church. Rev. Willie Daniel officiating with burial in the church cemetery, Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge. ¶Mrs. Thompson died January 21 at Wayne General Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of Solomon D. and Darcas Jane Daniels. ¶Survivors include two sons, James of Joplin, Mo., and Vernie L. Thompson of Fallbrook, Calif.; five daughters, Mrs. Rosie Stooksberry of Jonesboro, Ark, Mrs. Vergie Daniel of Collinwood, Mrs. Ruby Price of Detroit, Mich., Mrs. Bertie Heard of Route 2, Collinwood and Mrs. Eliase Parker of Waynesboro; three sisters, Mrs. Fronie Butler of Collinwood, Mrs. Missie Butler of Waynesboro and Mrs. Lou Anna Butler of Iron City; 30 grandchildren and several great-grandchildren.
Bruce Poag
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Jan 1967, no page number on clipping.
Funeral Services For Bruce Poag Highland Church
Funeral Services for Bruce Poag, 88, of Route 4, Waynesboro, were conducted Thursday, January 19 at 2 o’clock from Highland Methodist Church with Rev. B. B. Powers officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge of arrangements. ¶Mr. Poag died January 16 in Blytheville Hospital in Arkansas. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of James S. and Laura Bush Poag. He was a retired farmer and a member of the Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include three sons, Roy of Osceola, Ark., James of Route 4, Waynesboro and Hughes Poag of Manilla, Ark.; four daughters, Mrs. Mary Crews of Waynesboro, Mrs. Verna Hollis of Turlock, Calif., Mrs. Maggie Tolle of Toledo, Ohio, and Mrs. Laura Gobbell of Truman, Ark.; a sister, Mrs. Ethel Hargett of Cherokee, Ala.; 22 grandchildren, 54 great-grandchildren and two great-great-grandchildren.
Robert T. (Bob Taylor) Gallaher
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, Friday, April 4, 1969, no page number on clipping.
Rites for Bob Taylor Gallaher Held March 29
Funeral services for Robert T. (Bob Taylor) Gallaher were conducted Mar. 29 at 1:30 from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home chapel, with burial in Gallaher cemetery on Factory Creek. ¶Mr. Gallaher, 83, of Route 5, Waynesboro, died Mar. 27, at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶ He was a native of Wayne County, son of John L. and Sarah Jane Hollis Gallaher. He was a retired farmer, a member of the Baptist Church and a member of Waynesboro Masonic Lodge. ¶Survivors are his wife, Mrs. Ann Cole Gallaher; two daughters, Mrs. Edwinna Stricklin of Lutts, and Mrs. Frances Jane Moore of Waynesboro; a brother, Will Gallaher of Leoma; two sisters, Mrs. Mattie Moore of Waynesboro and Mrs. Georgia Jackson of Paducah, Texas; and two grandchildren.
Mrs. Sallie Hardin Whitehead
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 12 Jan 1968, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Sally Hardin Whitehead
Final rites for Mrs. Sally Hardin Whitehead, 80, of Waynesboro were conducted Sunday, January 7, at 2 o’clock from Waynesboro Church of Christ with Truman Keith officiating. ¶Burial was in Shields Cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral home in charge. ¶Mrs. Whitehead died January 6 at Vanderbilt Hospital in Nashville after suffering severe burns. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of Charlie and Mollie Barnett Hardin. She was a member of the Church of Christ. ¶Survivors include two sons, Stenitt and Herman Whitehead both of Waynesboro; four daughters, Mrs. Carline Gannon and Mrs. Hattie Duren of Waynesboro, Mrs. Arlie Griffin of Hohenwald and Mrs. Christine Smith of Milford, Mich.; a step-daughter, Mrs. Opal Kelley of Hurtsboro, Ala.; a brother, Jim Hardin of Detroit, Mich.; three sisters, Mrs. Herschel Nutt of Lawrenceburg, Mrs. Lora Lee of Waynesboro, and Mrs. Pearl Anderson of Hohenwald; 35 grandchildren; 70 great-grandchildren and two great-great-grandchildren. ¶Pallbearers were Jimmy Paul Whitehead, J. T. Cannon, Billy Joe Duren, Charles Griffin and Franklin and Junior Lee.
Mrs. Roxie Viola Balentine
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 12 Jan 1968, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Roxie Viola Balentine
Funeral services for Mrs. Roxie Viola Balentine, 83, of Florence, Alabama were conducted Sunday, January 7, at 2 o’clock from Mt. Pleasant Methodist Church with Rev. Emerald Bailey and Rev. J. W. Daniel officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home directing. ¶Mrs. Balentine died January 4 at Wayne General Hospital after a long illness. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of Joe Thomas and Sarah Davis Creasy. She was a member of Pentecostal Holiness Church at Florence, Ala. ¶Survivors include a son, Birdie Balentine of Iron City; six daughters, Mrs. Goldier Corum of Humboldt, Mrs. Icy Pilkington of Savannah, Mrs. Girdie Irby and Mrs. Emma Jane Moore both of Collinwood, Mrs. Lyda Murl Phillips of Cypress Inn and Mrs. Mary Henson of Florence, Ala.; two brothers, Baysdon Creasy of Iron City and Rich Creasy of Nashville; a sister, Mrs. Callie Vickery of Florence, Ala; 25 grandchildren and 37 great-grandchildren.
Mrs. Sarah O. Stooksberry
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County New, 12 Jan 1968, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Sarah O. Stooksberry
Funeral services for Mrs. Sarah Orbadean Stooksberry, 41, of Waynesboro were held Friday, January 5 at 2 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral home Chapel with Fred Hosea officiating. Burial was in McGee Cemetery. ¶Mrs. Stooksberry died January 3 at a Western State Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of Frank and Zada Clay Dugger of Waynesboro, who survive. She was a member of the Bethel Baptist Church. ¶Additional survivors include her husband, James Stooksberry of Oklahoma City, Okla.; Three brothers, Joe and Paul Dugger of Waynesboro and Howard Dugger of Columbia; three sisters, Mrs. J. M. Clayton and Mrs. Herman Thompson of Waynesboro, and Mrs. Willard Creamer of Florence, Ala.
Raymond G. Morris
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 12 Jan 1968, no page number on clipping
Raymond G. Morris
Final rites for Raymond G. Morris, 48, of Mishawaka, Ind., were held Friday, January 5 at 11 o’clock from Lutts Community Church with C. M. Robbins of Savannah officiating. ¶Burial was in Shiloh National Military Park with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home directing. ¶Mr. Morris died January 2 at a South Bend, Ind. hospital. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of R. W. and Ola Hodges Morris of Lutts, who survive. He was a factory worker and a veteran of World War II. ¶Survivors in addition to his parents are his wife, Mrs. Lessie Kilburn Morris of Mishawaka, ind.; two sons, Raymond Glen and Ronald Lynn Morris both of Mishawaka, inc.; two brothers, Reeder of Cypress Inn and Doyle Morris of Lutts; two sisters, Mrs. C. M. Daniel of Lutts, and Mrs. J. R. Combs of Savannah; and two grandchildren.
Mrs. Nora Middleton Knight
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 12 Jan 1968, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Nora Middleton Knight
Funeral services for Mrs. Nora Middleton Knight, 74, of the Culp’s Chapel Community, were held at 1 o’clock January 2 at Culp’s Chapel Methodist Church. Burial was in the Church cemetery. ¶Mrs. Knight died December 31 at Hardin County General Hospital. ¶Survivors are four brothers, Ernie and Bill Middleton of Blytheville, Arkansas; Danny Middleton of Culp’s Chapel, and Jesse Middleton of Corinth, Mississippi; and two sisters, Mrs. Fronie Culp of Culp’s Chapel and Mrs. Carrie Parker of Clifton.
Harry L. Stull
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Dec 1968, no page number on clipping.
Harry L. Stull
Funeral services for Harry Lancaster Stull, 72, retired electrician and plumber of Waynesboro were conducted Dec. 23 at 1 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home Chapel with Reverend Robert Shelton officiating. Burial was in the Clifton Cemetery. ¶Mr. Stull died Dec. 21 at Veterans Hospital in Nashville. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of William P. and Martha Lancaster Stull. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church, a Mason and a veteran of World War I. ¶Survivors are his wife, Mrs. Clara Hughes Stull, a daughter, Mrs. Martha Lillian Deller of Knoxville; a granddaughter, Miss Jennifer Deller of Knoxville and a sister, Miss Elizabeth Stull of Savannah.
Mrs. Margaret E. Reed
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Dec 1968, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Margaret E. Reed
Funeral services for Mrs. Margaret E. Reed, 87, of Collinwood were conducted December 24 at 1 o’clock from Butler Grove Church with Rev. George Kelley officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home directing. ¶ Mrs. Reed died Dec. 23 at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of Thomas J. and Sarah Jane Landcaster Thompson. She was member of Macedonia Baptist Church. ¶Surviving are a son, Ernest Reed, a daughter, Mrs. Rosie Jones and a brother, Monroe Thompson, all of Collinwood; a sister, Mrs. Tilda Martin of Waynesboro; 11 grandchildren and 14 great-grandchildren.
Michael L. Johnson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Dec 1968, no page number on clipping.
Michael L. Johnson
Graveside services for Michael L. Johnson, three weeks, were conducted Dec. 23 at 2 o’clock at Centenary Cemetery with Nick White officiating. Middle Tennessee Funeral home was in charge. ¶Survivors include his parents, James M. and Jeraldine Fowler Johnson of Oxford, Ala; two brothers, Kenneth and Paul Johnson of the home and grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Paul L. Johnson of Lutts, and Mrs. Harriet Barber of McColl, S.C.
Mrs. Plina Elizabeth (Lizzie) Thompson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 27 Dec 1968, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. P. Elizabeth Thompson
Final rites for Mrs. Plina Elizabeth (Lizzie) Thompson, 81, of Champaign, Ill, were held Dec 23 at 10 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home Chapel with Rev. B. B. Powers officiating. Burial was in Walker Cemetery. ¶Mrs. Thompson died Dec. 20 at Leonard Nursing Home. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of john and Mary Helton Throgmorton. She was a Baptist Faith. ¶Survivors include a daughter, Mrs. Mary Lou Smith of Champaign, Ill; four grandchildren and three great-grandchildren.
William C. Flippo
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 28 Feb 1969, no page number on clipping.
William C. Flippo
Funeral services for William C. Flippo, 80, of Route 6, Waynesboro were conducted February 27 at 2 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home Chapel with Rev. Burney Webb officiating. Burial was in Memory Gardens. ¶Mr. Flippo died Feb 25 at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶He was a native of Lawrence County, a son of John and Amanda Hill Flippo. He was a retired farmer and a member of the Church of Christ. ¶Survivors include his wife, Mrs. Mary Seiber Flippo; four sons, Ford of Inkster, Mich., W. C. Jr. of Waynesboro, James of Ft. Campbell, Ky., and Leon Flippo of the home; six daughters, Mrs. Madalene Leftwich of Detroit, Mich., Mrs. Pauline Camper of Warren, Mich., Mrs. Mattie Skelton of Waynesboro, Mrs. Senia Skelton of South Gate, Mich., Mrs. Normaline Bouchard of Wyandotte, Mich., and Mrs. Ruby Faye Hammack of Trenton, Mich.; a sister, Mrs. Herbert Jones of Waynesboro; a stepson, William Travis Hicks of Dearborn Heights, Mich., 25 grandchildren; 16 great-grandchildren and four step-grandchildren.
Miss Lizzie Davis
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 4 April 1969, no page number on clipping.
Miss Lizzie Davis
Funeral services for Miss Lizzie Davis, 83, of Clifton were conducted April 3 at 2 o’clock from First Baptist Church with Rev. B. B. Powers and Rev. King Thetford officiating. Burial was in Memorial Cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge of arrangements. ¶Miss Davis died April 1 at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶She was a native of Waynesboro, a daughter of J. N. and Nancy Copeland Davis. She was a former school teacher and had taught Sunday School for many years at First Baptist Church where she was a member. ¶Survivors include a number of nieces, nephews, great-nieces and great-nephews.
Terry Reese
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 4 April 1969, no page number on clipping.
Terry Reese
Final rites for Terry Finn Reece, 11, of Florence, Ala. were conduced March 29 at 2 o’clock from Forrest Hills Baptist Church with Rev. Hatcht and Rev. Helms officiating. Burial was in Tri-City Memorial Gardens. ¶Young Terry fell dead in a neighbor’s yard March 27. ¶He was a native of Florence, Ala., son of Robert and Geraldine Beckham Reese who survive. He was a fifth grade student at Harlem High School. ¶Other survivors include three brothers, Bobby, Brian and Kevin all of the home and grandmothers, Mrs. Lorene Redmon of Waynesboro and Mrs. Robert Reese of Huntsville, Ala.
Joe Pat Roberts
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 4 Apr 1969, no page number on clipping.
Joe Pat Roberts
Final rites for Joe Pat Roberts, 53, of Sheffield, Ala. were conducted March 29 at 2 o’clock from Second Baptist Church with Rev. R. E. Mayo and Rev. Thomas Thornton officiating. Burial was in Sheffield Oakwood Cemetery. ¶Mr. Roberts died March 27 at Shoals Hospital after an illness of four months. ¶He was a native of Marshall County but had made his home in Sheffield for the past 23 years. He was an employee with the Power Department for 19 years and a member of Second Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include his widow, Mrs. Ovalee Cook Roberts; a step-son, Jimmy Baccus of Sheffield; a step-daughter, Mrs. A. Borden of Colbert Heights, and a number of brothers and sisters.
Jesse Bundy Wilson
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 4 April 1969, no page number on clipping.
Jesse B. Wilson
Funeral services for Jesse Bundy Wilson, 78, of Collinwood were conducted March 30 at 2 o’clock from Cromwell Crossroads Church with Richard Taylor and J. W. Daniel officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge. ¶Mr. Wilson died march 28 at St. Thomas Hospital in Nashville. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of John F. and Mary Pigg Wilson. He was a cabinet maker by trade and a member of the Church of Christ. ¶Survivors include a daughter, Mrs. Melvin Rich of Nashville; four grandchildren and six great-grandchildren.
Mrs. Pairsada Crowe
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 11 April 1969, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Pairsada Crowe
Final rites for Mrs. Pairsada Crowe, 84, of Paducah, Ky. were conducted April 4 at 2 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home Chapel with Rev. Henry J. Golson officiating. Burial was in Boyd Cemetery. ¶Mrs. Crowe died April 2 at Madisonville Kentucky Hospital. ¶She was a native of Lewis County, a daughter of Dock and Sally Edwards Barbour. She was a member of the Methodist Church. ¶Survivors include five sons, Clovis of Paducah, Ky., Edward of Chicago, Ill., Willard of Detroit, Mich., Loyd of Houston, Texas. and Farris Crowe of Nashville; 19 grandchildren and a number of great-grandchildren.
John R. Faulkner
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 11 April 1969, no page number on clipping.
John R. Faulkner
Funeral services for John R. Faulkner, 49, of Chicago, Ill, were conducted April 8 at one o’clock from Cromwell Cross Roads Church with Rev. R. E. Pugh officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge. ¶Mr. Faulkner died April 5 at his home. ¶He was a native of Hardin County, a son of Mrs. Fanny Warrington Faulkner of Lutts and the late Elisha Faulkner. He was a tool and die maker by trade and a member of Lutts Methodist Church. ¶Survivors in addition to his mother are a brother, Grady Faulkner of Mishawaka, Ind., and two sisters, Mrs. Richard Horton and Mrs. Althea House of Lutts.
Marlon Wesley Lockard
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 18 April 1969, no page number on clipping.
M. Wesley Lockard
Funeral services for Marlon Wesley Lockard, 64, of Lutts were conducted April 16 at 2 o’clock from Cromwell Cross Roads Church with Rev. Walker Rich of Savannah officiating. ¶Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge of arrangements. ¶Mr. Lockard died unexpectedly April 14 at his home. ¶He was a native of Pemiscot County Missouri, a son of James Wesley and Ida Decker Lockard. he was a farmer and a member of the Free Will Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include his widow, Mrs. Ruby Horton Lockard, a son, Bas E. Lockard of Waynesboro; a daughter, Mrs. Mamie Risner of Lutts; a brother, John Alvin Lockard of Hornersville, Mo.; a sister Mrs. Othie Scott of Collinwood and eight grandchildren.
Mrs. Tennie Elizabeth Cole Martin
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 25 April 1969, page 7.
Mrs. Tennie Martin
Funeral services for Mrs. Tennie Elizabeth Cole Martin of Waynesboro were conducted April 20 at 2:30 from First Baptist Church with Rev. King Thetford officiating, assisted by Rev. B. B. Powers. ¶Burial was in Greenwood Cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge. ¶Mrs. Martin died April 18 at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶She was a native of Wayne County, a daughter of Addison W. and Emma McKinnon Cole. She was a retired school teacher, bookkeeper for Hassell and Hughes, and employee of the City of Waynesboro, and a member of the Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include three sisters, Mrs. Ethel Turman, Mrs. Bess Belew, and Mrs. Grace Morrow all of Waynesboro; three step-sons, Walter Martin of Albuquerque, N.M., Tommy A. Martin of Chattanooga, and Roy Martin of Florence, Ala.; three step-daughters, Mrs. Lula Jackson of Detroit, Mich., Mrs. Beulah Taylor of Collinwood and Mrs. Mae Mulligan of Florence, Ala.; a number of nieces and nephews.
Noah Webster Martin
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 25 April 1969, page 7.
Noah W. Martin
Final rites for Noah Webster Martin, 65, of Collinwood were conducted April 22 at 2 o’clock from Collinwood Methodist Church with Rev. J. W. Daniel and Rev. Paul Z. Ball officiating. Burial was in McGlamery Cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge. ¶Mr. Martin died April 20 at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of David H. and Lousette Blair Martin. He was a carpenter and a member of the Church of Christ. ¶Survivors include two sons, David Henry and James Ronnie and a daughter Bertie Aileen Martin all of the home; two brothers, Charlie of Pulaski and Luther Martin of Collinwood; two sisters, Mrs. Lola Prohart of Ajo, Arizona and Mrs. Eunice Barnett of Collinwood; and several nieces and nephews.
Billie Stricklin
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 25 April 1969, page 7.
Billie Stricklin
Funeral services for Billie Stricklin, 44, of Route 2, Lutts, were conducted April 22 at 2 o’clock from Cromwell Cross Roads Church with Rev. Thurman Stults and Rev. Elton Cotner officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge of arrangements. ¶Mr. Stricklin died April 20 at Wayne County General Hospital. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of W. T. and Mattie Brown Stricklin. He was an employee of Collinwood Manufacturing Company, a veteran of World War II and a member of Free Will Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include his wife, Jewell Melson Stricklin; three daughters, Margaret, Frances and Billie Ann Stricklin all of the home; two brothers, James of Lutts and David Stricklin of Adamsville; and two sisters, Mrs. Marie Phillips of Shiloh and Mrs. Flora Jean Melson of Adamsville.
William Arthur Vickery
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 25 April 1969, page 7.
William A. Vickery
Funeral services for William Arthur Vickery, 53, of Jackson, Miss. were conducted April 18 at 2 o’clock from Lindsey Chapel Church. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge. ¶Mr. Vickery died April 16 at his home. ¶He was a native of Lauderdale County, Ala., a son of John A. and Ona Balentine Vickery. He was a construction worker and a member of the Baptist Church. ¶Survivors are a daughter, Mrs. Shirley Jean Seltzer of San Francisco, Calif.; four sisters, Mrs. Cora Balentine; Mrs. Ola Tomlin and Mrs. Alice Nichols all of Mishawaka, Ind.; and Mrs. Beatrice Broyles of Savannah; two grandchildren and several nieces and nephews.
Ernest Floyd Adams
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 25 April 1969, page 7.
Ernest Floyd Adams
Final rites for Ernest Floyd Adams, 60, of Route 5, Waynesboro were conducted April 19 at 1:30 from Fishtrap Church with Rev. Richard Bailey officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge of arrangements. ¶Mr. Adams died April 17 at his home. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of William D. and Docia Dial Adams. He was a farmer, a member of the Wayne County School Board and a Methodist. ¶Survivors include his wife, Sula Mae Carden Adams; two sons, James W. of Savannah, Ga.; and Amos S. Adams of Waynesboro; a daughter, Mrs. Lou Nell Dean of Louisville, Ky.; four half-brothers, Herman Adams of Earl, Ark., Richard Adams of Augusta, Ark., James Earl Adams of West Helena, Ark., and Arnold Adams of La Porte, Ind.; four half-sisters, Mrs. Willie Mae Grable of Bell Gardens, Calif., Mrs. Louise Hardy of West Memphis, Ark., Mrs. Leona Burk of Little Rock, Ark., and Mrs. Esterlean Golden of Proctor, Ark., and two grandchildren.
Mrs. Eula Pitts Waters Walker
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 9 May 1969, no page number on clipping.
Mrs. Eula Walker
Final rites for Mrs. Eula Pitts Waters Walker of Clifton were held May 1 at 10 a.m. at Mt. Carmel Methodist Church. ¶Rev. G. C. Self officiated with burial in the church cemetery. ¶Mrs. Walker died Apr. 29, in Hardin County Hospital at Savanna. ¶She was a native of Wayne County and had lived most of her life in Clifton. She was a daughter of the late Dona Ellis and J. J. Pitts. ¶Survivors include a son, Jack Waters of Nashville; two daughters, Mrs. Louise Walker of Cerro Gordo, and Mrs. Ruth Wilson of Savannah; three sisters, Mrs. Gertie Phillips of Rienzi, Miss., Mrs. Charlie Davis of Waynesboro, and Mrs. Lillian Long of Savannah; and a grandson, Capt. James Jeter of Warner Robbins AFB, Georgia.
Vance Drake Lynch
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 9 May 1969, no page number on clipping.
Vance Drake Lynch
Final rites for Vance Drake Lynch, 5, little son of Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Lynch of Waynesboro were conducted May 2 at 2 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home Chapel with Rev. H. H. Hurst officiating. Burial was in Mt. Hope Cemetery. ¶The child was killed Wednesday afternoon, April 30 in an automobile accident. ¶Survivors in addition to the parents are two brothers, Lance Price and Jerry Anthony and a sister Dawn Marie all of the home; and grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Lee Roy Westergaard of Berkeley, Calif.; and Mrs. Lillian Lynch of Waynesboro.
William S. Nance
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 9 May 1969, no page number on clipping.
William S. Nance
Funeral services for William S. Nance, 60, of Matthews, Mo. were conducted May 4 at 2 o’clock from Nunnelee Funeral Chapel in Sikeston, Mo. The Rev. Ellis A. Grant officiated with burial in the Garden of Memories Cemetery. ¶Mr. Nancy died May 2 at Methodist Hospital in Memphis after a short illness. ¶He was a native of Nancy Bend Community in Hardin County, a son of William S. and Emma Nancy. He was a farmer and a member of the Little Vine General Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include his wife, Mrs. Mary Northcutt Nancy, seven children; a brother, Benham Nancy of Savannah; and give grandchildren.
Archie E. Holt
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 13 June 1969, no page number on clipping.
Archie E. Holt
Funeral services for Archie E. Holt, 74, of Elkhart, Indiana were conducted June 6 at 2 o’clock from Metz Funeral home with Earl Cook officiating. ¶Burial was in Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens. ¶Mr. Holt died June 4 at Elkhart General Hospital. ¶He was a native of Wayne County but had made his home in Elkhart for the past 24 years. He was a member of the Willowdale Church of Christ. ¶Survivors include his wife, Mrs. Dona Holt; four sons, Weston J. of Lawrenceburg; James D. of South Bend, Ind.; Everett E. of Elkhart; and Gilbert S. of Bloomington; four daughters, Mrs. Esther Harder of Lewisburg, Mrs. Ruby Hunsberger of Elkhart, Mrs. Marle Morrow of Lawrenceburg, and Mrs. Viva Roberts of Chattanooga; four brothers, Marvin and Arvil Holt of Cypress Inn and Erate and Warren Holt both of Florence, Ala.; six sisters, Mrs. Hattie Bevis, Cloverdale, Ala., Mrs. Ethel McFall of Lawrenceburg, Mrs. Addie Gilchrist and Mrs. Odie McFall of Cypress Inn, Mrs. Ollie McFall of Ethridge, Mrs. Essie Mahan of Cloverdale, Ala.; 13 grandchildren and ten great-grandchildren.
William Pose Butler
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 13 June 1969, no page number on clipping.
William Pose Butler
Final rites for William Pose Butler, 81, of Rt. 2, Iron City were conducted June 7 at 2 o’clock from Butler Grove Church with Rev. J. W. Daniel officiating. Burial was in the church cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge. ¶Mr. Butler died June 5 at Lawrence County General Hospital. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of Jim and Bon Martin Butler. He was a retired farmer and a member of the Baptist Church. ¶Survivors include his wife, Mrs. Lillie Daniel Butler; two son, Jimmy and Iron City and Johnny Butler of Lawrenceburg; three daughters, Mrs. John Holt and Mrs. Walter Brison both of Collinwood, and Mrs. Melvin Thompson of Iron City; three brothers, Wess and Henry of Collinwood, and Harvey Butler of Iron City; a half-brother, Ernest Butler of Birmingham, Ala.; a sister, Mrs. Annie Thompson of Collinwood, 26 grandchildren; 33 great-grandchildren and two great-great-grandchildren.
Willie White, Jr.
Submitted by
Edgar D. Byler, III
Source: Wayne County News, 13 June 1969, no page number on clipping.
Willie White, Jr.
Funeral services for Willie White, Jr., 31, of Waynesboro were conducted June 7 at 2 o’clock from Middle Tennessee Funeral Home with Thomas Roper officiating, assisted by Mr. White’s nephew, Bobby White. ¶Burial was in Cromwell Cross Roads Cemetery. ¶Mr. White died June 5 at his home. ¶He was a native of Wayne County, a son of Willie White, Sr. of Waynesboro, who survives and the late Osa Atkinson White. He was a machinist at Ford Motor Company in Detroit, Mich., and a member of the Baptist Church. ¶Survivors in addition to his father are his wife, Mrs. Katherine M. Scalf White; two daughters Layra Kay and Lisa Annette of the home; five brothers, Bill and Dan of Nashville, J. T. and Joel of Ypsilanti, Mich.; and Iley White of Chicago, Ill., five sisters, Mrs. Marie Pope of Waynesboro, Mrs. Azlee Stanfield of Savannah, Mrs. Waymon Moser of Collinwood, Mrs. Susie West of Ypsilanti and Mrs. Monetta Ellison of Warrior, Ala.
Little Juanita Hassell
Submitted by
Don Meredith
Source: Clifton Times
Clifton, Tennessee
Thursday, December 20, 1894
Vol. XXI    No. 43
Page 3
Little Juanita Hassell
At 11 o’clock last Monday morning little Juanita Hassell died after about 60 hours of untold suffering from an attack of the croop.
Funeral Services were held at the residence Tuesday afternoon and the burial took place in the Clifton cemetery.
All the physicians in town were in attendance, and Dr. Buchanan of Waynesboro was called Friday night.  At 12 o’clock, the only hope to save it was to perform tracheotomy, which means the insertion of a tube into the windpipe.  Through this, the little sufferer breathed a living death until Monday at 11 o’clock.
She was the idolized of her parents and the pet and pride of almost every one in Clifton.  An interesting and intelligent child, far above the ordinary, with a disposition that was purity and innocence itself, it is not surprising that the universal sympathy in her death should touch the brinks of grief.  There is not a person in Clifton who would not make any sacrifice to show these dear parents how deeply they deplore the death of their child, and who would not willingly help to bear the burden of this bereavement.  Words and language fail the writer in expressing the depth and sincerity of the sympathy he feels for these parents whose numerous kindnesses have afforded him numberless pleasures and whose devotion to their only child has often been an object of his admiration.
She is gone but not forgotten.  The love that belongs to those children whom Divinity has taken to himself is a chord as strong as bands of steel that bind us to the hope of rest beyond this tide of tribulations, and a ladder by which we mount to the heights of His eternal promises.
Charles F. Pennington
Submitted by
Don Meredith
Source:
The Wayne County News
Friday, December 27, 1940
Page 1
PENNINGTON, FORMER RESIDENT HERE: DEAD
Dies Following Injuries Received in Altercation with Bill Lawhead
¶Charles F. Pennington, a former resident of Waynesboro, and well known here died in the U.S. Veteran’s Hospital in Memphis Monday morning where he had been taken for treatment for injuries received in an altercation near Hohenwald late last week.
¶It is reported that the difficulty occurred at the farm of Mr. Pennington adjoining the Meriwether Lewis Park about six miles east of Hohenwald.  One Bill Lawhead, of Indianapolis, Indiana, had been making his home with Pennington for some time following a disappointment in a business venture in Lewis County, and was at work for Mr. Pennington erecting a house when an argument arose over a settlement, resulting in the injuries causing his death.
¶Mr. Pennington received his early education here, where he resided with his father, Robert Pennington, and members of his family until his early manhood.  He entered the United States Railway mail service and was assigned from Jellico to Knoxville in East Tennessee.  While laying over at Knoxville during the days he was on duty, he entered the University of Tennessee Law department, and graduated there some years ago.
¶After the close of the World War in which Mr. Pennington volunteered his services, He opened a law office at Hohenwald, and was actively engaged in the practice of his profession there.  He has appeared before the courts here on numerous occasions, and was widely known here where he has a number of relatives.  During his service for his country he was assigned to the Transportation service and crossed the Atlantic Ocean several times with convoys.  He entered the ranks as a private but was promoted to the rank of Major before the close of the war, and was holding that commission when he received his honorable discharge from service.
¶Mr. Pennington is survived by one brother, George Pennington of Napier and one half brother of Old Hickory, also two sisters and one half sister, Mrs. Frank Scott, Ruppertown, Mrs. Mora Crews and Mrs. Jess Barber.
¶He was buried at Napier, in Lewis County, near his boyhood home.
Rev. Daniel Judd
Submitted by
Steven Elder
Source: “Christian Advocate”
Nashville, TN
23 Aug 1860
Rev. Daniel Judd
As announced in your columns, this good man has gone from labor to reward. He was a native of Pennsylvania, but emigrated to Tennessee while young. For a number of years he was a resident of Nashville, and died in Wayne county, Tenn., on the 11th of July 1860, in his 60th year. He was converted and united with the M.E. Church soon after he reached mature manhood, and in a short time thereafter began to preach the gospel. He exercised his gifts for thirty-four years as a local minister, and was faithful and useful in his holy calling. He was a man of good natural mind and respectable acquirements in his knowledge of the Holy Scriptures. His life was consistent. He maintained a good reputation, and exercised an influence favorable to the cause of Christianity.
¶His last sickness was protracted, but sanctified to his good. As he approached the grave, his soul repined for the joys of the “better land.” Few men ever met death with a firmer trust in the merits of Christ than did Brother Judd. Indeed his victory was complete. He talked of death with perfect calmness: and of his hope beyond the grave with full assurance. His exhortations to wife, children and friends were fraught with wisdom, and his last hours full of comfort. He died like a Christian; in full possession of his mental faculties, he bade adieu to earth,
¶“And died, his father’s God to meet”
¶Daniel Judd will long live in memory and afflictions of his friends; and will doubtless live in heaven for ever. “Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord.”
J.B. McFerrin
W. Riley Davis
Submitted by
Mary Edith Wood
Source:
Wayne County News
22 Oct 1936
W. Riley Davis, highly respected farmer of the Beech Creek community, died at his home Monday, October 19th, after a long Illness. He was 84 years of age.
¶He is survived by his last wife, Mrs. Ferbie Pulley Davis, and four children to their union, as follows; Mrs. Arizona Howell, Mrs. Viola Holt, Charlie and Bradley Davis all of the Beech Creek section, and Mrs. Ella Bawcom of Miss, daughter by his first marriage Burial was in the Bawcom Cemetery on Beech Creek.
James F. Cunningham
Submitted by
Betty Martin
Source:
Santa Ana Register–Monday, Jan., 7, 1946
    James F. Cunningham, 88, died today in his home a 332 N. Orange St., Orange. He was a native of Waynesboro, Tenn.Survivors are a son, Arthur S. Cunningham of Orange; two brothers, George and John of Oklahoma; a sister, Mrs Mary Dugger of Arkansas and other relatives.

Services will be held in the chapel of the Shannon Funeral home in Orange at 2:30 p.m. Thursday with interment in Fairhaven cemetery.

Emily West Murrie
Submitted by
Terry Ceballos
Source:
The Vienna Times, June 29, 1939  (Vienna, IL)
Aunt Emily Murrie, 94, Called Home To Rest on Sunday Evening June 25 Death Claims Aged Mother Sunday, June 25, 1939¶Emily West Murrie, daughter of Woodson and Martha (Casteel) West was born June 2, 1845, in the state of Tennessee and when a small child came with her parents to Southern Illinois.  She was one of a family of ten children, viz. Henry, James A., Osburn H., Mary, Martha, William, Amanda E., Narcissie Catherine and Fannie West. All are deceased. Mrs. Murrie departed this life at her home, southeast of Vienna, ILL., June 25, 1939, at the ripe old age of 94 years and 23 days.

¶On February 18, 1874, she was united in marriage to Jefferson Monroe Murrie and to this union seven children were born, Fleetie and Freddie having preceded her in death.  In September, 1896 the home was again bereft, this time taking the husband and father, leaving Aunt Emily with the responsibility of the home and rearing of her family, which responsibility she assumed with such Christian fortitude that her children and those who came in contact with her can rise up to call her blessed.  It can be truly said of her that her doors were open to widows and orphans and those less fortunate than she, and her advice and counsel will long  be remembered by those as the same motherly advice as given her own children.  Even the passerby received as hearty a welcome from Aunt Emily as those nearest her.

¶Her alertness, activity and keen mind kept her young despite the years which continued to roll on.

¶She professed faith in Christ as her Saviour some 65 years ago. She was not only a Christian, but one of God’s noble women, serving rather than being served, proving her faith and sincerity in the Lord by her good works; visiting the sick or those in distress, all will stand as a living monument to her memory, yet living that quiet, unpretentious, unassuming life that spoke volumes.

¶Aunt Emily never united with any church, yet she made the Cumberland Presbyterian church at Concord her spiritual home.

¶Those surviving to mourn her passing are the following sons and daughters:  Mrs.  Ida Lay, Simpson; C. W. and Harry Murrie, Vienna: Newton J. and Walter Murrie of Simpson.  Also surviving are twenty-four grandchildren, fifteen great grandchildren, a host of nieces and nephews.

“I cannot say, I will not say, that she is dead, she’s just away.”

(Her Death Certificate records that the doctor attended her from 6-18-1939 to 6-25-1939.  Cause of death:  cerebral hemorrhage which began on June 18, 1939.  Other contributory causes: arteriole sclerosis.)

Robert Walter SmithSubmitted by
Doris Smith Halford

Obituary Wayne County News

November 1980

Robert Walter Smith died November 4th, 1980 after a long illness. Robert left behind a wife, Frances. (Clifton) 3 daughters Doris Halford and Terri Warrington of Clifton and Robbie Jones of Utica, Mich.He was the son of the late Lytle and Sally Smith of Clifton.
¶My Dad passed away when he was only 57 years of age, at that time I thought he was an “old” man but now that I am his age I realize he did not get to enjoy life enough and I definately did not get to talk with my dad enough.
¶After all these years, not a day goes by that I don’t think to myself, I wish I could tell my Dad what I have done with my life and tell him all about my grandchild. I know he would smile and say, “I am so proud”
J. E. Mann
Submitted by
Jerry W. Murphy
Source:
The Clifton Mirror
Vol. 24  No. 9
Clifton, Tennessee
Friday, Dec. 9, 1904
page 1
Suicide of J.E. Mann
J. Eugene Mann, a traveling salesman out of Nashville, was found dead in his room at the Morris Hotel in Birmingham, Ala., last Saturday. His death was caused by morphine.
Mr. Mann formerly made this territory and was well-known in Clifton. He was a big, whole-souled man and his fine business and social qualities made him a general favorite. The news of his tragic death was quite a shock to his Clifton friends. No reason for the suicide has been assigned.
Albert Murphy
Submitted by
Jerry W. Murphy
Source:
“Wayne County News”
Vol. 107, No. 30
dated 10 Jan 1964
Page 1
Funeral Services Are Held Monday For Albert Murphy
Albert Murphy, 83, of Route 1 Lutts died at his home Monday January 6. Funeral services were held Tuesday from Mt. Hebron Church at 2:00 o’clock. Rev. Andrew Garrett officiated. Burial was in Houston Cemetery with Middle Tennessee Funeral Home in charge of arrangements.
Mr. Murphy was a native of Wayne County, a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Seal Murphy. He was a member of the Holiness church.
He is survived by his widow, Mrs. Maude Murphy; a daughter, Mrs. Alonzo Melson, and a son James Haggard Murphy both of Waynesboro.[Comment – He was the son of William “Bill” Murphy and Mary Ann Brown. He was listed as 2 years old on the 1880 census thus making him actually older than the obituary would indicate. The children by his first wife were omitted from the obituary. They were: Seab Murphy, Sr., Lewis Murphy, Janie Smith, Henry Murphy, J.T. Murphy and Haggard Murphy.]

 

Related articles