The past is the present for future generations who do not know their history

NEWS ALERT:

Brother Tittle at Grant Hotel in 1949!

Now, had I known that I would have given Brother Tittle the same advice my mother gave me as a young girl. She said when downtown Sheffield that ‘nice’ girls do not walk on the side of the street where the pool room is located. At another time she stated that ‘nice’ girls do not walk on the side of the street where the Grant Hotel is located.  Anyone else see what is wrong with this advice? Iirc, they were on opposite sides of the streets.

Brother Tittle was a huge asset to the community where he pastored at Southwest Nazarene Church. I know my grandmother thought a lot of him. I went to services with her as a young girl several times. The ladies wore hats and gloves. The following newspaper photograph is courtesy of Sheila Turberville, Virgil Tittle’s niece.

Virgil Tittle 1949

Leave a Reply

