The past is the present for future generations who do not know their history

Do you know how you tell a good guy from a bad guy?

The good guy always wears the white hat. The bad guy always wears the black hat. Simple. Nothing to it. Life was so simple back in 1956. Life was good in Sheffield Alabama in 1956; Norman Rockwell-esque, really. In December there was the gIANt Santa on the Y and holiday lights that made visions of  Christmas dance in the little ones heads. And the good guy always wore the white hat. Always. But not to worry, the guy in the white hat had paid a visit to the Vengrouskie household on Annapolis Avenue in Sheffield.

I find this Tri-Cities Daily article hilarious. Funny because I can envision Big Joe’s reaction. Funny because I envision Little Joe’s reaction. And even funnier because I can envision Pauline’s reaction. Pauline would be nervous and would run to the phone to tell Irene, her twin, all about it. I can just hear, “Ohhh, Joe is going to kill me!” She would hurry to try to think of something to do. Bet you there was a lot of hand wringing going on.

The article posted here was published in the local newspaper on 1 December 1956. Since someone in the class of ’57 still remembers it, don’t worry I won’t reveal who you are Mr. Vetters, it must have been h-i-l-a-r-i-o-u-s. Having known the Vengrouskie’s for many years I can just imagine how hilarious Little Joe and Big Joe may have thought it.

And, oh, the class of ’57 had its dreams! Do you think that any one of them ever dreamed that as a freshman, s/he would look out his/her window to find a real cowboy (I hope he wore a white hat) delivering a five hundred pound steer to his/her home in a downtown residential area? It had to have violated a whole slue of city ordinances, if not they were likely created after this incident by the bundles. I wonder who fed and cleaned up after the steer and who shoveled the-you-know-what.

That Pauline, you gotta love her, and I did. She was a delight to be around and she never met a stranger. I was blessed to have Pauline Vengrouskie and Irene Marks as guests at my home with my family at what would be Pauline’s last Christmas. Irene and I talked about that as I stayed with her to allow more immediate kin to attend Pauline’s funeral.

QED

Pauline, you gotta love her!

Leave a Reply

