The past is the present for future generations who do not know their history

Where did you spend Saturday…

Annie Oakley

The real Annie Oakley

growing up? Many of us spent a good part of Saturday at the movie theatre. Most of the time we would go to the Colbert Theatre, but sometimes we would go to the Tuscumbian or the Shoals Theatre in Florence.

If you are like me, it is a shock, a shock I say, to your system at the prices for taking the kids to the movies these days.

Colbet Theatre

Colbert Theatre in Sheffield, Alabama

They seem to make their profits off the concessions. The earliest I can remember relating to prices and movies was that in early elementary my allowance wa fifteen cents per week. That was ten cents for the movie and five cents for a snack. I particularly liked the little boxes of stick pretzels that were two boxes for five cents. Then the movie fee went up which prompted my allowance to go up to twenty-five cents per week. Then the movie was fifteen cents, the pretzels were still two boxes for five cents. This meant that now I could also get a drink if I wanted it for five cents. As Archie and Edith Bunker used to sing, THOSE were the days, my friend. Those were the days.

Growing up some memorable movies, or people in the movies, were Bud Abbott and Lou Costello, Gene Autry, The Lone Ranger, Dale Evans and Roy Rogers to name a few. My favorites were the Disney movies like Cinderella and Snow White, but one of the most memorable was Annie Oakley.

Annie Oakley was the first female I remember seeing that was not fragile, or delicate, or needy for a man. She was opinionated. She was strong, independent, self-reliant and a sure shot. Now, how can you beat those qualities in a woman? And, at least in the movie she could sing.

There was a real Annie Oakley you know. I would doubt that there have been many who could match or surpass her shooting ability. And, at least in my opinion, she was pretty. Reading about her, she would really put on a show and was a real audience pleaser. Her popularity with the crowd took her to near top billing. I think she may have been in love with Buffalo Bill. And who wouldn’t be as he was a pretty handsome guy.

Leave a Reply

