The past is the present for future generations who do not know their history

Charlene Green Montgomery…

is a hometown girl. She was born and raised in the Shoals area.

Looking at her photo, there has been little change from when we attended school at Colbert County High School in

Earl and Charlene at The Grand Ole Opry
Earl and Charlene at The Grand Ole Opry

Leighton beginning in the seventh grade. We had classes together and rode the same school bus for a while. I went home with her once.

In preparation for this post, a little research revealed that she has accomplished a lot in her life. And she is not done yet.  The photo on the right  is Charlene and Earl “Peanut” Montgomery performing at The Grand Ole Opry.

Her husband is a brother to country music legend, Melba Montgomery. Back in 1964 Melba went around to the radio station WRCK  in Tuscumbia, and I got to see her there. I remember that she wore gold flats. At that time Melba Montgomery was dubbed “The Queen of Country Music” and seemed to have one hit right after the other.

So, when Charlene and Earl married it was hello talent, meet talent. That “Peanut” Montgomery and his success in the music field is so voluminous it would require its own article. But suffice it to say, I would wager that he might be the first to say that Charlene had a great deal to do with his success. Charlene is and always has been a very sweet person.

She has either co-written the following songs, or has been one of the artists that recorded them:

Song Titles Artists

Loving You Start Hurting Me (Writers: Earl Montgomery,Charlene Montgomery and George Richey); recorded by  Freddie Hart and Peggy Little

High On The Thought Of You (Writers: Earl Montgomery and Charlene Montgomery); recorded by  Johnny Paycheck

Loving You Could Never Be Better (Writers: Earl Montgomery, Charlene Montgomery and Betty Tate); recorded by Tanya Tucker and Mel Street

The Woman In Me (Writers: Earl Montgomery and Charlene Montgomery); recorded by  Jody Miller

Old Mose  (Writer: Earl Montgomery); recorded by Kenny Price, The Wilsons, Earl and Charlene Montgomery

There’s No Two Sides To Christ  (Writer: Earl Montgomery); recorded by  Kenny Price, Earl and Charlene Montgomery

Loving You Could Never Be Better was also recorded by George Jones as well as by Tammy Wynette.

6 responses

  1. Charlene and Earl, I may call upon you soon for an interview. I would love to document your growing up years in the Shoals area.

    January 9, 2011 at 6:23 am

  2. Thank you very much for the write-up of the Montgomerys. Charlene is a very sweet and beautiful person. She has put up with me for many years (we were wed in July 22nd 1966) Again thank you and may God always bless you and yours, Peanutt M.

    February 2, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    • You are very welcome. So there are two t’s in Peanutt; I was not sure. You must have treated her right or we would have heard about it by now. She is beautiful inside and out. I have known her since what 1960. I am glad she and you have done so well; you both exude talent. And I have always loved Melba. It can get no better than “No Charge.”
      Once I used the lyrics to that song to teach my youngest son a lesson. He loud he was owed some money and we had a discussion about that. He was mad, which is unusual since he is so even tempered, so I told him to give me an itemized bill and I would pay anything that I owed. In the meantime, I used those lyrics to make my own itemized bill to present to him. When we exchanged bills, I told him just tell me what you really think I owe you and I will be good for it. He read my invoice, hung his sweet head down, and walked away never to mention that I owed him anything ever again. That was an excellent life lesson for him. And all due to the song.

      February 3, 2011 at 3:16 am

    • Would it possible to do an interview with the two of you while I am back home in March I ask very timidly?

      February 3, 2011 at 3:17 am

  3. Pingback: Tell us all you know about Ava… « Remembering the Shoals

  4. Anita Pace

    Peanutt & Charlene are precious! Love having them as neighbors (well a couple houses down anyway). 🙂

    February 9, 2011 at 12:27 am

Leave a Reply

